Timing for a South Africa trip

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 31st, 2012, 04:44 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am just beginning to think about a trip to South Africa. I want to see Cape Town and Johannesburg and included some kind of safari. What is the best time of year weather wise to go to that area. I prefer not the rainy or extreme hot times of the year. Any Advice?
Old Mar 31st, 2012, 06:44 PM

End September/October is a good time. Temps in CT should be ~50ish for a low and ~70ish for a high. Rains should be diminishing. It's also a perfect time to take a day trip (or better stay a night or two) to the Hermanus area for land-based whale watching---whales get pretty close to rocks that jut into bay. It's also a great time for a safari. Temps will range about 60 to mid 80s and the weather should be mostly dry. You should have good to excellent game viewing at that time.
Old Mar 31st, 2012, 06:56 PM

Agree Sep/Oct.
However, rain can happen. My last SA safari (Sep 2009) I asked three guides at the two camps I was at what they thought best month for safari was. They said August - but Aug can be windy. So best overall probably July. But this is winter time in SA which is fine if you don't mind some chilly night/days.

regards - tom
ps - yes in Sep of 2009 I had about 4 rainy days of 12 on safari. Not heavy rain, overcast, light sprinkles.
Old Mar 31st, 2012, 08:51 PM

April/May or September/October are good times to avoid the heat, but beware it can be cold at night. There was frost overnight in JNB in October. On safari in September I've had days with (light) rain and highs in the 50s which feels colder when you're driving around in an open vehicle.
Old Apr 1st, 2012, 04:31 AM

Just occurred to me, funny that on my 2011 safari to Tanzania in Feb we wanted it to rain!!! To bring in the migrating wildebeest herds. No problem with it being cold, it was too hot in the afternoon and some terrible dust (from vehicles).

regards - tom