Suggest Hotel at JNB airport

Jul 1st, 2010, 07:15 AM
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 31
Suggest Hotel at JNB airport

Family and I need a place to rest and clean up before our flight to Europe.
We will drop a rental car off at JNB airport and want somewhere that is clean, convenient etc and that can transfer us to airport before flight.

Any suggestions please?

Thanks
Jreinho is offline  
Jul 1st, 2010, 07:40 AM
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,361
We had a long layover at JNB in March - stayed at this B&B about 10 minutes away. They pick you up and drop you off and are used to odd arrival/departure times. They have a large family suite and pool

http://www.africandreamsbnb.co.za/

They can also arrange dinner if you need it.
Elizabeth_S is online now  
Jul 1st, 2010, 07:44 AM
  #3  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,215
You want to spend overnight at hotel, yes? Or just rest for couple of hours?
The InterContinental Hotel is a very short easy walk across the street from JNB terminal but may be a bit expensive.

regards - tom
cary999 is offline  
Jul 1st, 2010, 10:07 AM
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 253
Southern Sun OR Tambo - inexpensive with comp shuttle and can see from the airport. about a 3 minute drive.
aowens is offline  
Jul 1st, 2010, 12:09 PM
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,215
The Interconti is always our choice. Easy access, nice rooms, good restaurants and easy to store/collect spare luggage.

spassvogel is offline  
Mar 27th, 2011, 08:14 AM
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 253
Has anyone stayed at Peermont Metcourt lately??? I am looking at airport hotel for June. Southern Sun OR Tambo where we always stay is over 1400 ZAR for the night and the Peermont Metcourt is only 600 ZAR. I am just wondering if it is still ok?? As I recall, Tom, you used to stay there when it was the Metcourt Laurel (I think that was the old name) and I am just wondering if anyone has an updated report on it. It is sooooo cheap that it concerns me.

Thanks - Ann
aowens is offline  
Mar 27th, 2011, 09:35 AM
  #7  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,215
Hi Ann, yes "Laurel" was the old name. No more.
They now confuse things, there are two "Metcourts", Metcourt and Metcourt Suites. http://www.emperorspalace.co.za/peer...mperors-hotels
I've stayed at both, last time in the Metcourt. It is new from about two years ago. It is the R600 one. The Metcourt Suites are over twice that cost. The Metcourt is a very basic small room with just a curtain for bathroom separation from bed area. The Suites are very nice and large, traditional. Both included a buffet breakfast, but Suites much better. Both free shuttle (same shuttle) from JNB and both very close to each other.

Even if the Suites were same $$$ as Southern Sun, I'd prefer Suites because of the dinning choice in Emperors Palace.

regards - tom
cary999 is offline  
Mar 27th, 2011, 10:05 AM
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 253
Thanks for the info Tom!! I am a fan of the Southern Sun - so will probably go with that as I am NOT a fan of the Peermont properties. Also - sounds like the Metcourt may be a bit basic for us - but appreciate the update.
aowens is offline  
Mar 27th, 2011, 01:14 PM
  #9  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,619
I stayed at the Metcourt last year and it was fine. You do get a choice of dining at the Emperor's Palace complex. However, you might consider the new City Lodge, which is right in the airport. I toured the hotel and saw the rooms and they looked fine to me. You can easily walk there from the terminal (it's on top of one of their parking garages.) They have a coffee shop in-house, but you could also walk back to the terminal and eat at the restaurants there or at the Intercontinental next door. They also have a pool and a gym onsite.
ShayTay is offline  
Mar 27th, 2011, 01:19 PM
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 253
ShayTay - I remember you writing about this before. Thanks for the reminder!! The price is just about the same as the Sun. I will keep and eye on them both and see if one lowers the price over the next couple of months. Thanks ShayTay for the suggestion!
aowens is offline  
Mar 27th, 2011, 10:17 PM
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 343
A friend turned me on to a hotel right at the airport, no shuttle necessary. The price is 1/3 the Interconental. Its not as nice of course, but it looks OK and the location is perfect. I have not stayed there yet, but I am considering it now.

https://www.citylodge.co.za/cl13.php

Mike
mytmoss is offline  
Mar 28th, 2011, 06:14 AM
  #12  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,619
Yep, Mike, that's the one! I think it would be nice not to have to fool with shuttles, just walk to your hotel. Follow the signs in the terminal that say "Hotels". Eventually, they will point to the two different hotels, City Lodge and Interncontinental. You'll follow the signs through the Parkade, ending up at an elevator that takes you up to the hotel... very easy There are a variety of dining options "curbside" in the terminal, if you don't want to eat at their coffee shop.
ShayTay is offline  
Mar 28th, 2011, 06:43 AM
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 343
Thanks ShayTay, that is very helpful. The one thing I noticed is that they make you pay at the time of booking. I could not find a refund policy listed, but given the price, its still a good idea.

Mike
mytmoss is offline  
Mar 28th, 2011, 07:54 AM
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 987
I've stayed at City Lodges in Jo'burg, Durban, and Nelspruit -- they're good, basic hotels. This one in the airport looks good, from the pictures on the web site. I like the idea of walking right to the hotel. If I need to overnight at JNB, I'll definitely consider this. Thanks for the info, guys.
Celia is offline  
Mar 28th, 2011, 11:20 AM
  #15  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 371
Not wanting to hassle with shuttles, I just booked one night at the City Lodge at OR Tambo. The confirmation has 3 pages of fine print (had to get out the magnifying glass!), which I think is relevant to all City Lodge facilities.

Bottom line is, and I quote:

"Should you cancel your reservation within a two week period of your expected arrival date you will not be refunded.

Should you cancel your reservation more than two weeks before your expected arrival date you will be refunded by the hotel within 7 days. Please ensure you email all required details to the respective hotel."

If you're a glutton for punishment and would like to see more of the fine print, I'd be willing to post it here!

Marsha
ovenbird is offline  
Mar 28th, 2011, 11:50 AM
  #16  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,215
No, but would be interested in the rate, no one has mentioned that. Which is just about always my first question!!!

regards - tom
cary999 is offline  
Mar 28th, 2011, 12:10 PM
  #17  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 987
I checked the web site mentioned above, and the rate is about R1400 for a double room if you reserve on line, more if you walk in. Seems a little high to me, but maybe the airport location is the reason.
Celia is offline  
Mar 28th, 2011, 12:24 PM
  #18  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,215
R1400 is $200. (6.9R to $ today)
Same price as Southern Sun and Metcourt Suites, I think. Agree a bit high, disappointed, was hoping for $100+ range.

regards - tom
cary999 is offline  
Mar 28th, 2011, 02:59 PM
  #19  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 371
tom, I suspect hotels located inside airports are usually higher priced due to the convenience factor. FYI, the Hilton at Heathrow is about $240 for 2 twin beds, and the Hilton at O'Hare is $280 for 2 doubles (prices include taxes and fees). So, $200 for City Lodge doesn't sound too bad. Of course, it would sound better at $100+!

Marsha
ovenbird is offline  
Mar 28th, 2011, 07:34 PM
  #20  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 343
I am traveling in July. The room rate is R1094 at the moment, closer to $150.

Mike
mytmoss is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy -

FODOR'S VIDEO

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:37 PM.