Rwanda - Luggage Restrictions?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 20th, 2007, 03:25 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

What carry on/check in baggage restrictions have you run into flying from Nairobi to Kigali? Especially regarding photo equipment?
Old Aug 20th, 2007, 04:08 PM

Nothing beyond the standard "number of bags" and "total weight of bags" restrictions. Have you checked the policies of your airline? Are you bringing some unusual stuff?
Old Aug 20th, 2007, 06:08 PM

When I landed in Kigali, I had a big photo bag with 2 cameras & a video camera, I also had a bag with about 70 rolls of film.

The first attendant at the gate asked me how much film I had, she was looking through the bag, more than one of the workers asked me if I was a journalist. I said no. (which I wasn't) I feared they were planning to make up some kind of "journalist tax"
Old Aug 20th, 2007, 08:36 PM
Original Poster

Were you able to use a Monopod with the Gorillas? Or did you use one in the jeeps in Kenya/Tanzania?
Old Aug 20th, 2007, 09:06 PM

No monopods, tripods, bags, etc. around the gorillas. They don't like seeing humans show up with lots of equipment. It gets them nervous... rightfully so.

A monopod/walking stick might have been cool in Kenya & Tanzania, but I didn't have one.
Old Aug 21st, 2007, 11:01 AM

actually Wayne you can take a monopod to the gorillas but not a walking stick! We did 2 treks in Feb and my hubby had the monopod both days and both times we specifically asked if it was OK and we're told yes as long as he did not take the camera off it. I had a walking stick and had to leave that behind with the bags. My hubby had debated over even taking the monopod with him and at the last minute found one that packed into his bag nicely so we took it. He did not use it at all in Kenya or Tanzania!
J
Old Aug 21st, 2007, 11:15 AM

How interesting! It is like they know as long as they see the camera it is not a weapon
Old Aug 21st, 2007, 04:29 PM