point and shoot kili/safari pictures?

Old Jul 15th, 2008, 04:58 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
point and shoot kili/safari pictures?

I will be climbing Kilimanjaro and going on a safari in August. I'm throwing around the idea of buying a Nikon D80. However, I'm unsure about making the purchase because of the monetary investment and I worry that it will be difficult to carry and protect a large camera on my five week trip.
I'm not an expert photographer by any means, but photographs are valuable to me and I will be disappointed if my pictures don't turn out well.

I realize that having the nicer camera would be ideal, but I was wondering if anyone has had luck getting good pictures in Africa with a point and shoot camera.
If you have point and shoot pictures posted and would be willing to share them, I would be very interested. I'd also love to know what camera you used.

I have a Canon Powershot with 3x optical zoom and 7 mega pixels. I like it a lot, but, naturally, it has limitations.

Thanks in advance for your help!
Old Jul 15th, 2008, 09:45 AM

3x optical zoom may be enough for Kili but you'll want something more for safari.

Lots of posters here use point and shoots. You'll find a link to my photos from our last safari in my trip report http://www.fodors.com/forums/threads...4&tid=35112503

I used an old Canon S1 IS which I've used on 4 previous safaris. I'll let you be the judge of whether they're any good

I finally upgraded to a S5 last week.
Old Jul 15th, 2008, 02:45 PM

Here are about 20 photos (of maybe 1000) we took on safari in 2005. The camera was the Canon S2.
http://tinyurl.com/377m5w
Click on one of the three photos on the left to bring the others up.