Search

making a photo DVD

Search this Thread

Old Dec 20th, 2005, 01:44 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
making a photo DVD

Morning,

Well, i am in the process of creating a DVD of my pics from my recent time in africa. Can anbody offer me advice on how to get my images sharp on the screen. Im converting my pictures to srgb and using MYDVD at the moment but have just ordered pinnacle studio. Will that make any difference. Anyone experienced in such matters.

HELP ME PLEASE

PHiri
Old Dec 20th, 2005, 07:28 PM

Well, maybe I can help a little. But I'm no expert, just what I've learned over a few years. Sharpness - the TV, standard NTSC (or PAL) picture, is gross compared to your PC and the pictures you have. Unless you have a true High Definion (HD) set, 1024x768 or better. But even then your standard DVD player is NOT HD so were right back to crummy NTSC format. However, there are HD DVD players available and if you have one great. I do not have any experince with them yet. Maybe someone in this group has and can give us a comparison.
Most all DVD players will "play" jpg pictures. You do know what jpg pictures are, yes? You just copy the jpgs onto the DVD. Pop it in your DVD player and probably a menu will come up listing each jpg. Press the "play" button and an automatic slide show will begin. At least that is what happens with the two DVD players I have. Now, if you intend to show the DVD on a PC, that's different, but I think WIndows XP will help you along.
With Pinnacle you can do a lot more such as; slide titles, fade in/out with full control of timing, individual slide timing, background music, music timed with slides, color correction of slides, insert movie/video clips, and at least a hundred more. No, I have not used Pinnacle but it is well regarded. I have started, Sept this year, using the program "ProShow Gold" to put together a slide program. It works really easy and can do lots of neat things like Pinnacle.