compression socks

Old May 15th, 2006, 08:09 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
compression socks

On last minute question::
We are leaving tomorrow and when talking to a friend this morning she is sure that we should have compression socks to prevent blood clots on the long flights. I don't recall anyone on this board mentioning using them. Any opinions?
Thanks.
Old May 15th, 2006, 08:38 AM
santharamhari

Tigerpaw,

Compression socks. go to www.oxysocks.com I have been using them for running for the past two years after having lots of calf/shin issues. They do help that kind of thing......i doubt if you need them on a long flight, if you remember to drink lots of water (you will be forced to move around as you go to the restroom). Oxysocks can only be ordered online. For tomorrow's flight, dont know what other brand is available.

Hari

Old May 15th, 2006, 09:03 AM

Received 79 Likes on 8 Posts
Most large pharmacies/drug stores/chemists (dep. on what you call 'em) sell compression socks. Seriously good idea, especially if riding in coach on flights longer than 6-7 hours. You might even find them at airport shops if you arrive early enough.
Old May 15th, 2006, 09:25 AM

Compression socks need to fit properly. Make sure you go somewhere that will measure you and get the size right. We wear them for long flights since there's not much reason not to and they might guard against pulmonary embolism.
Old May 15th, 2006, 09:25 AM

I would do a search on compression socks on here ebcause I seem to remember that someone said they can be dangerous if not properly used or prescribed.
Old May 15th, 2006, 09:27 AM

Here's that thread:
http://www.fodors.com/forums/threads...4&tid=34622485
Old May 15th, 2006, 02:58 PM
Original Poster

Thanks so much everyone for your suggestions. Will see what we can do with only 1 day left!!
Old May 15th, 2006, 04:42 PM