Search

Clothes for safari

Search this Thread

Old Jul 31st, 2004, 01:30 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Clothes for safari

Leaving for Africa and So. Africa in 10 days. Do I really need t-shirts in tan, khaki, olive green? Trying to pack as economicaly as possible. Safari pants? with removable legs? Any thoughts on this would be great - we'll be on 3 sararis, Capetown, Joburg, London. Thanks. Karen
Old Aug 1st, 2004, 06:49 AM

My father owns ranches in both Zim and Tanzania, and his safari guests are always pleased that laundry service is provided each night. This makes it easy to pack very light. I'm not sure if this i9s what you mean or not? If you are concerned about the colors, I would think that the colors you mention are the most appropriate - no cami though- both for weather conditions and to blend with your surroundings for better wildlife viewing - of course I am a Professional Hunter's daughter soooo.

Have fun!
Old Aug 1st, 2004, 07:49 AM

Lilylace,
You hit a raw nerve with me with your last sentence. I know your father's actions do not necessarily reflect those of your own but am curious to know if your father still hunts and am also curious if his game ranches are for hunting safaris?

Hopefully, your father has put his rifles down and hunting days behind him and only supports photographic safaris now!

No disrespect to you and we may agree to disagree but I am totally against hunting for sport and think it's barbaric and inhumane among other things. I only hope you can understand my point of view on the subject.
Old Aug 1st, 2004, 08:30 AM

I'll try to gracefully keep this thread from being highjacked -- it's about safari clothing, not hunting, and it's KARENR's question.