Search

Baiting for animals....

Search this Thread

Old Feb 18th, 2007, 11:20 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Baiting for animals....

I've noticed how if this subject is ever mentioned it is almost always greeted with derision and sneers.

Now I'm new to this safari stuff but playing devil's advocate here is it really so appalling if food is left out for animals in a bid to increase the chances of particular wildlife viewing for visitors?

I know no-one wants to be changing animal behaviour or damage natural hunting instincts but wouldn't an animal in the wild seize on the chance of a free meal and take a discarded carcass it came across anyway?

And is this really any different to me putting out fat balls and nuts in my garden to attract different species of bird to enjoy?

I may be wide of the mark but to me things which are done to increase the enjoyment of visitors without harming or damaging the widlife and the environment they live in would seem OK.

Tourism by its very nature in an area like the Kenyan game reserves is going to have some harmful effects on the wildlife and the landscape. That is inevitable. But it is also the tourism that helps to sustain them by the money it provides. I guess it's all about balance.

And we are all tourists when it comes down to it, whether in a back-to-nature basic camp with no electricity and safari showers or in a luxury lodge with all mod cons that happens to put bait out for wildlife. We might think there is a right and wrong way of being on safari but tourists are what we all are.

Stands back after lighting the blue touchpaper!!!!!

Old Feb 18th, 2007, 12:58 PM

You've not lit any fuse for me ted