Search

Africa Guide Book?

Search this Thread

Old Jan 25th, 2006, 02:01 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Africa Guide Book?

I'm just getting started on planning a trip to Africa (probably Tanzania and some beach stay at the end) and am looking for a good guide book so that I can figure out which parks I want to visit and which camps / lodges I want to stay at on a safari. Any suggestions?
Old Jan 25th, 2006, 02:05 PM

Hello Birdie,

I'd recommend the Bradt guidebooks -- they have the best coverage of Africa's wildlife areas. The Tanzania guide is due to be updated this year (in May 2006). They also have guides to Botswana, Kenya, Zambia, and Namibia.

The only hole in their line-up is South Africa -- for SA I'd recommend the Footprint Handbook to South Africa. Footprint is written for adults who expect some comfort when they travel, as opposed to Lonely Planet and Rough Guides which are aimed more at backpackers.

Cheers,
Julian
Old Jan 25th, 2006, 02:31 PM

I second Julian's suggestion of the Bradt guides. I have the Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda ones and they are excellent. The camp/lodge listings in the Tanzania guide are quite outdated though so you might want to wait for the new edition. Or just come here for the most up to date accomodation reviews
Old Jan 25th, 2006, 04:46 PM

Birdie:

You do not need a guide book. Just post an inquiry with a headline like "Where to go on Tanzania Safari?" and you will receive lots of good advice.

We just booked a trip to Kenya in August based soley on asking on this message board where was the best place to see animals in Africa in August.

The "Fodorites" as they call themselves are truly amazing. If you are in the U.S. I also suggest you call Sandi at African Serendipity. She is in New York and was very helpful. We did not book with her but solely for a technical reason.

Good luck,

Kevin
Old Jan 25th, 2006, 04:50 PM

Hello,