5 weeks in Pretoria

Dec 10th, 2005, 08:56 PM
Original Poster

5 weeks in Pretoria

Hey! I'm a pharmacy student from Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa. Next year is my last year of school and consists of a full year of clerkships. I have the amazing opportunity to do one of these 5 week clerkships at the University of Limpopo Medunsa Campus. From what I understand I would be living in Pretoria and commuting to the campus. I will most likely go in Mar/April of 2007 and at that time I will be 25. My concern here is that it may be unsafe for me as a young woman to travel by myself. Should I be greatly concerned about this? I've travelled internationally a few times before but never by myself. I also want to go on a safari after my 5 week period. Is April a good time to go? Would it be awkward to go on a safari by myself...do they somewhat accommidate for that? I really appreciate any feedback. Thanks so much
Dec 12th, 2005, 12:33 PM

Natalie, what a wonderful opportunity for you! Is the University of Limpopo Medunsa campus a new name for what used to be the Medical University of South Africa, also called Medunsa? If so, I worked there for a month in 1994, sent by the USAID. I stayed in Pretoria and drove to Medunsa daily.

I don't think you need to worry about being there alone. The drive is through a rural area, but as far as I know, a safe one. Be prepared for the fact that Medunsa is out in "the boonies" -- there are no nearby shops or restaurants or anything. But Pretoria and Johannesburg are full of things to do. The architecture of the college is pretty dull, but the landscaping is really beautiful. (Assuming, that is, that it hasn't changed much in the last 10 years or so!!)