advice on best travel books for Africa

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 11th, 2005, 12:44 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello gentle Fodorites, I am just in the very daunting first stages of planning our first trip to Africa. I am new to this Africa forum but have had so much help in the past from other forums that I thought I had better take the plunge. Other than this forum, just wondering what resources folks use to help them decide what part of Africa they want to explore. I went to a bookstore yesterday but they only had individual books on specific parts of Africa - east, south, north - but I was hoping to start with a book describing all the different countries and their highlights. We will only have about two weeks so need to narrow things down. Would love to hear how others got started. Appreciate any feedback to get us on the right path!
Old Feb 11th, 2005, 12:48 PM

Here are some threads which have lots of great suggestions, not necessarily for guidebooks but for fictional and nonfictional books based in Africa.

http://www.fodors.com/forums/threads...p;tid=34546531

http://www.fodors.com/forums/threads...p;tid=34454720

http://www.fodors.com/forums/threads...p;tid=34536013

I recall a recommendation for a book my Mark Nolting, his name sticks in mind but I forget the name of the book itself.

There are definitely some pan-Africa guide books though mostly they are aimed at budget/ backpacker travellers who often do long, overland trips taking in several countries. That may, or may not, be suitable to you.
Old Feb 11th, 2005, 12:49 PM

correcting link above:
http://www.fodors.com/forums/threads...p;tid=34546531
Old Feb 11th, 2005, 12:54 PM

The Mark Nolting book to which Kavey has referred is <i>Africa's Top Wildlife Countries</i>.
Old Feb 11th, 2005, 01:00 PM

Unfortunately most travel books are not half as helpful as this forum.

Here is a pretty good book for a look at most every country featuring strong wildlife: