General Questions about planning trip to Botswana and South Africa

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 20th, 2006, 02:35 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am just beginning to start planning a trip fall of 2007 to [we think] these two countries. What books would you suggest to start? Did you use an agent and if so, what do I look for in a reliable,honest agent? Any other beginning hints will be helpful
Old Oct 20th, 2006, 02:44 PM

Hopefully someone will chime in with the name of Mark Nolting's book -- for me, its the best book on safaris, camps and countries. The Bradt guide to Botswana is also excellent, but it may be too detailed.
Old Oct 20th, 2006, 05:04 PM

The book is Africa's Top Wildlife Countries.

Some of the best advice: Look at the Southern Africa index on this forum. Here's the link.

http://www.fodors.com/forums/threads...p;tid=34858382

Also post all your questions in one thread. Fodorites love to answer them.

Reliable, honest agent = been around awhile, used by Fodorites with success, I always ask for 2 references even though I know these can be skewed. Make sure they are interested in talking to you on the phone and that they answer your questions.

Here are some that have been used recently, but this is not an all inclusive list for Southern Africa.

Africa Adventure
Africa Travel Resource
Destiny Africa
Eyes on Africa

Have fun with your planning journey in prepartion for the real journey.

Finally, don't delay. Botswana camps are actually filling up.
Old Oct 20th, 2006, 07:28 PM