10 nights in Namibia-advice please!

Old Sep 23rd, 2006, 09:36 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
10 nights in Namibia-advice please!

We are at the early stages of planning a RTW trip in July/August next year. Namibia would be the last stage of the trip before returning to the UK. What we have planned so far leads to us arriving at Windhoek at noon on 18th August, with 10 nights in Namibia, flying out again at noon on 28th August(we could extend this by a max of 3 nights, but that would mean going back to work straightaway - I'm a teacher so restricted to school holidays, but I'm up for it if you think it would be worth it!). We like to do our own thing, are happy driving long distances, love wildlife and scenery (but are not great hikers!)and enjoy food and wine. We don't have to have luxury accommodation (but do enjoy it!), but do like clean and comfortable, preferably with a view. Self drive is fine, but the cost of the rest of the trip would rule out any fly-in extensions, I think. What would you recommend for us ?

Thanks,

Gaynor
Old Sep 23rd, 2006, 10:41 AM

Hello Gaynor,

You can certainly do a self-drive safari in Namibia, though with only 10 days sticking to driving is going to limit how much ground you can cover as the distances are vast. If you want to drive, I'd suggest limiting the number of places you visit to avoid spending more time in the car than you do enjoying the places you've come to see.

The two things which stand out as must-sees IMO are Etosha and the dunes at Sossusvlei. Unfortunately they are on opposite sides of Windhoek.

Internal flights in Namibia are not that expensive (the currency is tied to the SA Rand which is rather weak compared to the pound) so you may want consider a mix of flying and driving. There are some regions which are arguably best appreciated from the air (e.g the Skeleton Coast and Sossusvlei).