Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Buenos Aires Restaurants

La Brigada

  • Estados Unidos 465 Map It
  • Steakhouse

Updated 07/10/2014

Fodor's Review

Amid elaborate decor, including scores of soccer mementos, a courtly staff will treat you to unimpeachable mollejas (sweetbreads) and chinchulines de chivito (kid intestines), plus a brilliant array of grilled steaks. The baby beef is tender enough to cut with a spoon, which the waiters insist on doing, to much fanfare. This place is definitely on the tourist map, so be prepared pay a bit more and listen to several different languages at a time.

Restaurant Information

Address:

Estados Unidos 465, between Bolívar and Defensa, Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, 1101, Argentina

Map It

Phone:

11-4361–5557

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Mon.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 07/10/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 26, 2012

Never waste your money or time here!!

This nis our story of our worst meal and service on our whole trip. We usually chalk up every glitch of our trips to an expeirence or an adventure. This i call an insult to the very existance of our beings. We ordered a bottle on Pinot Noir RFeserve from the wine list. The waiter said I think you would prefer the House Shiraz. He said it was the same price. I said I would prefer the Pinot. He said this was better so rather than argue we said

ok. As the waiter was popping the cork, I saw how slowley and carefully he was doing it, I noticed the airator and carafe sitting on the table than I saw the cork breaking. I should have left right there, the evening of Hell

Read More

By remar45

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2010

La Brigada Review

I guess is time for Fodors to take La Brigada off your Fodors choices.Even though it was a great "parrilla" in the early ninetie's it has long become a tourist trap.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 31, 2009

one of the worst experience in buenos aires

we have been there in April 2009. The filet was soft, but very small and you could hardly chew the beefe de chorizo.

By cmaior

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 2, 2008

Just OK

Food is over rated and expensive compared to other steakhouses. Service is mediocre at best.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 9, 2008

Great Ending to Buenos Aires Visit

We visited La Brigada on our last day in Buenos Aires. The food was the best we had during our week long visit. The service could not have been better. Jose was fantasic and made my experience great. He recommend the best steaks and wine. We had the opportunity to meet the owner and he enjoyed joking with us. I suggest anyone visit this lovely restaurant and they had the best chorizo. Wonderful

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 4, 2008

ah, steak from the pampas

Grass fed beef straight from the pampas, sans growth hormones or the grain used to fatten cattle in the United States, coupled with grill masters who spend their lives perfecting the art of cooking "carne", courteous and knowledgeable waiters, in a country where no one hurries through a meal..taking time to enjoy the food and the company....are the essential ingredients for a meal to remember at La Brigada...(The second location in Recoleta is actually

far better than the orignial and better known location in San Telmo). Oh, and no steak dinner in Argentina is complete without a grilled provolone appetizer, puree to calabza as a side dish, flan with dulce de leche for dessert...all washed down with a full bodies Argentine Malbec wine. Perfection!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 6, 2007

Gem in San Telmo for Carne

There is no shortgage of parilla/steakhouses in Bs As and in San Telmo, particularly so close to charming, but touristy/touristed Plaza Dorrego La Brigada is a great find. Although I always get anxious when I see english on a menu, this is not a tourtist restaurant though they do accomodate toursists/non-Spanish speakers quice nicely and not condescendingly. On a recent Saturday Portions are generous and the grill work excellent. Good wine list

with several good value choices...

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement