Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Salt Lake City Restaurants

Log Haven

  • 6451 E. Millcreek Canyon Rd. Map It
  • $$$
  • American
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 04/29/2014

Fodor's Review

This elegant mountain retreat was put on the map with inventive takes on American cuisine laced with everything from Asian ingredients to pure Rocky Mountain style. It excels with fresh fish, game, and seasonal local ingredients, creating such dishes as rabbit with white-corn polenta or ahi tuna served with lime sticky rice and baby bok choy. The knowledgeable staff can help you pair wines with the menu's multilayered flavors. With its romantic setting in a beautifully

renovated log home amid pine trees, waterfalls, and wildflowers, and its summertime patio seating, this is definitely a restaurant to remember.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

6451 E. Millcreek Canyon Rd., Millcreek Canyon, Salt Lake City, Utah, 84109, USA

Map It

Phone:

801-272–8255

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 04/29/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 2, 2011

Log Haven Review

We celebrated a birthday last night and were wowed by Log Haven’s food, setting and staff. The birthday boy had a giant steak cooked to perfection while I nibbled on the best Tuna Tartare I have ever tasted…rich and spicy and yummy. The pianist willingly played our requests and we danced while enjoying an after dinner cocktail. We will definitely return and we will not wait for another birthday!

By Jamesw

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 26, 2011

Log Haven Review

The entire staff at Log Haven was fantastic. Those whom we worked closely with were Faith, Joni and Brenda. I was blown away with their experience, approachability, professionalism and kindness. We felt as though they were just as excited and involved in our wedding as our own families. We have not one complaint about the event and want to thank you tremendously for your efforts. We look forward to spending our anniversary at Log Haven for years

to come in remembered of our special day.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 24, 2011

Log Haven Review

We were fortunate enough to be seated at a corner window table with a view to the waterfall. It flowed into a creek and we watched its beautiful force during our evening. Which was very lovely. Patrick was an amazing server and very knowledgeable - he matched wines with each course and they were perfect pairings. Especially enjoyed the fresh halibut and the coconut souffle - do not miss this dessert!! I am and will always be a fan of this restaurant.

It is the premier establishment in Utah!

Read More

By JSachs

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 3, 2011

Log Haven Review

Spectacular find! We asked our concierge to recommend a unique restaurant near downtown and never imagined she would send us to such a jewel. Within 15 minutes we headed up a wilderness road for a mere 3 miles and came upon a cozy cabin surrounded by pines and waterfalls. A blazing fire welcomed us. The host was gracious and friendly and seated us by a window framed by icicles. My colleague and I were enchanted. He ordered the bison carpaccio and

steelhead trout, I had the grilled calamari and filet of ribeye. Both were some of the best food I have eaten ANYWHERE in years. GO SALT LAKE! Patrick was a knowledgeable and charming server with loads of information about the area and about Log Haven. This restaurant is a must!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 28, 2009

Everything perfect!

Thank you for an outstanding dining experience. My husband and a dear friend of ours enjoyed the best meal we've had in a long time last night. Everything was perfect: the food, the ambiance, the service. My husband and I have had many reasons to celebrate as of late (anniversary, anethesiology residency graduation, a new baby on the way) and have been very disappointed with the other restaurants we have patronized for these special occasions.

Last night we were celebrating a long-awaited visit from our friend who has over the past few years been serving our country as a diplomat in Iraq and Syria and who is about to be deployed to Afghanistan. We wanted to make sure we picked the perfect place to take him as he won't be enjoying filet mignon again any time soon. We were all blown away with our meal and the entire experience at Log Haven. thank you!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 28, 2009

5 star experience!

There are not enough superlatives to describe our experience at the Log Haven. Thank you all for a wonderful night. The return of Chef Jones we were told has, in the staff's minds, bettered the experience. Having never dined here we cannot say. But, his menu is exquisite with something for everyone. The tastes were well blended. Presentation unreal. The service is top of the line. We were not rushed to our table but were able to enjoy a cocktail by

the beautiful fireplace while our son enjoyed viewing the memorabilia scattered around the restaurant and its entrance area. Did we forget to mention that the wonderful food, services, etc., were all enjoyed while the Log Haven was on generator power. Our trip from NC to UT will be remembered from the evening we spent with all of you in your beautiful restaurant. We will come back to see the waterfall lit up next time we are in Salt Lake. 5 star!

Read More

By boekej

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 22, 2007

Awesome

Log Haven provided a beautiful atmosphere with it's outdoor seating near the waterfall. The service was impecible. Our waiter, who was handsome and a law school student, was extremely helpful describing in detail each dish and making every one sound more delicious than the last. The food turned out to every bit as tasty as promised. We all felt good about what we paid for the meal. Totally a ***** experience.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 12, 2007

Open Face Sore Waiter

I have dined all over the world, and never have had a waiter with multiple open sores ( dozens) throughout his face and hands. Food was less than average, way over rated.

By Ella

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 20, 2001

Heavenly Haven

This restaurant is packed with incredible ambiance, food and style. We were seated next to a window that looked out to a canyon waterfall. Ian Campbell recommended a wine to our appetizers--grilled calamari with a Pinot Gris, perfect match! Chef David Jones combination of flavors in his dish are surprising but work. I finished every bite of the Gulf Prawns Entree in a bed of clam broth. Don't miss this restaurant when you visit.

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 8, 2001

You feel like your in a movie.

Log Haven is will make you feel that you are in a movie, with the atmosphere that Log Haven provides. The food is excellent, but it is the service that is the true gem. If you ever will have the luxury of going to Log Haven, you may want to call first because it is famous for wedding and events. Therefore, it is commonly closed to the public on weekends etc.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement