Salt Lake City Restaurants

Advertisement

Log Haven

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Log Haven Review

This elegant mountain retreat was put on the map with inventive takes on American cuisine laced with everything from Asian ingredients to pure Rocky Mountain style. It excels with fresh fish, game, and seasonal local ingredients, creating such dishes as rabbit with white-corn polenta or ahi tuna served with lime sticky rice and baby bok choy. The knowledgeable staff can help you pair wines with the menu's multilayered flavors. With its romantic setting in a beautifully renovated log home amid pine trees, waterfalls, and wildflowers, and its summertime patio seating, this is definitely a restaurant to remember.

    Contact Information

  • Address: 6451 E. Millcreek Canyon Rd., Millcreek Canyon, Salt Lake City, UT, 84109 | Map It
  • Phone: 801/272–8255
  • Website:
  • Location: Farther Afield

    Restaurant Details

  • Credit cards accepted.
Updated: 04-29-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Service  
    Value  
    Décor  
    Food  

    Open Face Sore Waiter

    I have dined all over the world, and never have had a waiter with multiple open sores ( dozens) throughout his face and hands. Food was less than average, way over rated.

    by RaceDeck, 1/12/07
  • Décor  
    Service  
    Value  
    Food  

    Awesome

    Log Haven provided a beautiful atmosphere with it's outdoor seating near the waterfall. The service was impecible. Our waiter, who was handsome and a law school student, was extremely helpful describing in detail each dish and making every one sound more delicious than the last. The food turned out to every bit as tasty as promised. We all felt good about what we paid for the meal. Totally a ***** experience.

    by boekej, 6/22/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    5 star experience!

    There are not enough superlatives to describe our experience at the Log Haven. Thank you all for a wonderful night. The return of Chef Jones we were told has, in the staff's minds, bettered the experience. Having never dined here we cannot say. But, his menu is exquisite with something for everyone. The tastes were well blended. Presentation unreal. The service is top of the line. We were not rushed to our table but were able to enjoy a cocktail by the beautiful fireplace while our son enjoyed viewing the memorabilia scattered around the restaurant and its entrance area. Did we forget to mention that the wonderful food, services, etc., were all enjoyed while the Log Haven was on generator power. Our trip from NC to UT will be remembered from the evening we spent with all of you in your beautiful restaurant. We will come back to see the waterfall lit up next time we are in Salt Lake. 5 star!

    by fewgreen, 1/28/09
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Everything perfect!

    Thank you for an outstanding dining experience. My husband and a dear friend of ours enjoyed the best meal we've had in a long time last night. Everything was perfect: the food, the ambiance, the service. My husband and I have had many reasons to celebrate as of late (anniversary, anethesiology residency graduation, a new baby on the way) and have been very disappointed with the other restaurants we have patronized for these special occasions. Last night we were celebrating a long-awaited visit from our friend who has over the past few years been serving our country as a diplomat in Iraq and Syria and who is about to be deployed to Afghanistan. We wanted to make sure we picked the perfect place to take him as he won't be enjoying filet mignon again any time soon. We were all blown away with our meal and the entire experience at Log Haven. thank you!

    by georgiawsl, 6/28/09
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Log Haven Review

    Spectacular find! We asked our concierge to recommend a unique restaurant near downtown and never imagined she would send us to such a jewel. Within 15 minutes we headed up a wilderness road for a mere 3 miles and came upon a cozy cabin surrounded by pines and waterfalls. A blazing fire welcomed us. The host was gracious and friendly and seated us by a window framed by icicles. My colleague and I were enchanted. He ordered the bison carpaccio and steelhead trout, I had the grilled calamari and filet of ribeye. Both were some of the best food I have eaten ANYWHERE in years. GO SALT LAKE! Patrick was a knowledgeable and charming server with loads of information about the area and about Log Haven. This restaurant is a must!

    by JSachs, 3/3/11
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Log Haven Review

    We were fortunate enough to be seated at a corner window table with a view to the waterfall. It flowed into a creek and we watched its beautiful force during our evening. Which was very lovely. Patrick was an amazing server and very knowledgeable - he matched wines with each course and they were perfect pairings. Especially enjoyed the fresh halibut and the coconut souffle - do not miss this dessert!! I am and will always be a fan of this restaurant. It is the premier establishment in Utah!

    by chelsea748, 4/24/11
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Log Haven Review

    The entire staff at Log Haven was fantastic. Those whom we worked closely with were Faith, Joni and Brenda. I was blown away with their experience, approachability, professionalism and kindness. We felt as though they were just as excited and involved in our wedding as our own families. We have not one complaint about the event and want to thank you tremendously for your efforts. We look forward to spending our anniversary at Log Haven for years to come in remembered of our special day.

    by Jamesw, 5/26/11
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Log Haven Review

    We celebrated a birthday last night and were wowed by Log Haven’s food, setting and staff. The birthday boy had a giant steak cooked to perfection while I nibbled on the best Tuna Tartare I have ever tasted…rich and spicy and yummy. The pianist willingly played our requests and we danced while enjoying an after dinner cocktail. We will definitely return and we will not wait for another birthday!

    by Mandy1144, 11/2/11

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Map of Log Haven

Map of



Travel Deals
Forums