Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Hotels

Warwick

  • 65 W. 54th St. Map It
  • Grande Dame

Pros

  • Excellent restaurant and bar
  • Historic property
  • Spacious suites

Cons

  • Some rooms could use a refresh
  • No a/c in the hallways

Updated 02/20/2014

Fodor's Review

This grande dame was built by William Randolph Hearst in 1926 for his mistress, Hollywood actress Marion Davies, and it's hosted many from Tinseltown since then including Cary Grant in the Presidential Suite for 12 years. Some of the higher-floor suites have terraces overlooking 6th Avenue. The standard rooms are a bit tired, however, and some come with "New York-y" views of an airshaft. The premier rooms are a better choice, with fresh decor including tufted headboards,

marble bathrooms, and a generous work space. The Murals on 54 restaurant, which takes up a big portion of the ground floor, serves Italian-influenced American fare under the gaze of 1930s-era murals—try to spot the "obscene" additions that the artist inserted after a disagreement with Hearst. Randolph's Bar continues to be busy late into the evening.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

65 W. 54th St., at 6th Ave., New York, New York, 10019, United States

Map It

Phone:

212-247–2700; 800-223–4099

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 359 rooms, 67 suites
  • No meals

Updated 02/20/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 12, 2012

Dream weekend

I was in town visiting with my son, with a full itinerary. I couldn't have been happier with the amenities, the location, and the service of the hotel. I thoroughly enjoyed the food and the bar in the hotel, and hope to return this fall.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 22, 2007

Can't beat the location!

Like the poster below, the location is fabulous. It's a wonderful place to stay in Midtown. Our room was well appointed and large, however the bathroom, while covered top to bottom in marble, is miniscule! Room service is fast and the food was pretty good. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to others!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 8, 2006

Great location

The Warwick makes no pretense about what it is and therefore you're not disappointed. It doesn't try and be something it's not. It's a great 4 star hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and the service impeccable. It's a "walk to everywhere" location. It has a warm, comfortable atmosphere. Considering the price, it's a great solution to the corporate modern monoliths.

By Dee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 28, 2005

Watch out for perverted locals

I found the Warwick in fodors NY travel guide. This was our first time to visit NY. We are three married women visiting from CA. The Bartender,staff, and local patrits thought it was funny when a so called local pervert was bothering us, verbally and trying to touch us when we moved away from him. We complained to the manager. But nothing was ever done. The bartender never tried to do anthing until I started to yell at the guy to STOP! Don't

go to this Hotel!!!

Read More

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2003

Great Small Hotel with Terrific BarStaff

A friend of mine and I stayed here during a Girls weekend. The rooms are quite nice and clean. The room was just the right size with a walk in closet. The bathroom was marble and very nice, but a little small for 2 women! The ambience of this hotel is NOT like a chain hotel. It was very personal and often you might see a resident on the elevator with you. The concierge service was fantastic, going out of their way to be helpful. The location

is perfect, just 2 blocks away from Central Park, 2 blocks away from Radio City Music Hall, and a short walk to Times Square and Broadway. However, the Bar Staff was very personable and helpful, giving many tips on places to go and see. This was the best trip and next time I go to New York, I will be staying at the Warwick again.

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 21, 2003

Don't Understand the Rave Reviews

We booked this hotel on the strength of the many Fordor's raves and the promise of "spacious" rooms, and after two nights, I'm wondering what hotel the others were staying in. Surely not the Warwick! The room was attractive but very small--barely 3 feet on either side of the bed, and the view was of an airshaft. Service was nonexistent--no turn down service although we requested it. When I mentioned this to the front desk, the response was, "sorry

(as in Who Cares)." Perhaps there's been a change in management. As a frequent NY visitor, I would never stay here again.

Read More

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 24, 2003

Location & Value Can't Be Beat

This hotel is in the perfect spot for almost everything. We enjoyed walking over to the Stage Deli, up to Central Park, down to Rockefeller Center and Times Square. The hotel is right on the corner of 54th and 6th, easy to find, and the valet parking was only $27/day. Not bad for NY. I paid $45/day at the NY Palace 4 years ago. I've stayed at a few places over the past 5 years in NY and this is my favorite and I will make it my choice everytime.

The rooms were very clean, nice decor and the bathrooms fantastic. The first room they put us in had a very very small bathroom and stand up shower - also views of brick walls. We asked to be moved and they did it with no problem and we had a great new room. Service is good but not great. Been treated much better in the past at other hotels. Still, you can't beat the value.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 12, 2002

The staff are obviously family people as they seem to have other things on their minds.

Very good place for convenience and for being left alone by the staff. No pestering.

By Trent

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 2, 2002

Perfect Location, Perfect Value

The room was great. The location is perfect and the staff is very attentive. We will be back.

By Gerald

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 20, 2002

Week-end delight at the Warwick

I get to New York at least twice a year and this is only the second time that I have stayed at the Warwick. Really enjoy the European elegance. Randolph's a great place to enjoy a drink and light lunch or evening snack. My room was spacious (Executive Room)and had a nice view of 6th Ave. Spacious bathroom; used the tub only because I couldn't get the right mix of hot/cold water for the shower but the saving grace was the support railings surrounding

the tub for easy getting out. Love the coziness of the Warwick!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 17, 2001

Spacious!

Quite spacious compared to other Midtown hotels. We stayed here just before the WTC terrorist attacks and had a wonderful time. Close enough so that you can thoroughly enjoy the theater district and MOMA, while also giving you good East & West Side and Park access. A real bargain for the size of the rooms.

By mari

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2001

mold in closets, walls

Location is good but the room has mol in the walls. Forget about hanging anything in the closet. Room is not comfortable. Will stay elsewhere for less $.

By Les

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2001

Good value in a great location

We stayed here over the Labor Day weekend and were very pleased. The rooms are nice sized and well-appointed; small, elegant lobby. Friendly staff. Location was great-we walked everywhere! Highly recommend.

By steve

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2001

delivers solid value

Our room was larger than I expected from NYC. Got it at a good rate through Priceline.com....went that route after being disappointed w/high prices I was being quoted around town. You should be very satisfied overall!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement