Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Santa Fe Restaurants

Santacafé

Updated 12/04/2013

Fodor's Review

Fans of this long-acclaimed member of Santa Fe's culinary vanguard most appreciate it as a destination for lunch or afternoon happy hour on the inviting shaded patio, which is one of the prettiest and quietest outdoor venues in Downtown Santa Fe. This minimalist, elegant restaurant two blocks north of the Plaza in the historic Padre Gallegos House focuses on seasonally driven, inventive cuisine, which might include grilled pomegranate-marinated Colorado lamb chops with

roasted red potatoes and Swiss chard; or citrus-crusted pan-seared wild Alaskan halibut with Israeli couscous, baby bok choy, and orange-cilantro beurre blanc. Sunday brunch is also highly regarded.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

231 Washington Ave., Santa Fe, New Mexico, 87501, United States

Map It

Phone:

505-984–1788

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 12/04/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Santa Fe

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 24, 2010

Santacafé Review

Locals have gotten wise....Not the restaurant it once was.... AVOID!!!! The hostess was dismissive to us and unfortunately i think has set the current standard for a once excellent restaurant. Santacafe used to be a special experience; now it is very stressful and mediocre. Never again...from a long time local.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2007

A Perfect Evening

Not only one of Santa Fe's best restaurants (probably in the top 3 - 4) but easily one of the best restauarants in the Southwest. Creative cooking, excellent services, thougtful preps, solid wine list. I fortunately eat at highly rated restaurants frequently (due to my job which has me travel extensively) - clearly the Santacafe is one of the best around.

By when

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2007

OK food; horrible service

We arrived 15 minutes late for our reservation, but were seated within a few minutes. But then we sat for 20 minutes with no indication that anyone would serve us; no water, no bread, nothing, even 3 or 4 waitstaff people walked by our table repeatedly, ignoring us, and serving others who had come in after us. We said: Maybe they're punishing us for being late. Finally, I asked the hostess if anyone had been assigned to our table. She asked someone

else. About five minutes later, a waiter appeared and we were served water. Ten minutes after that, our drink order arrived. About a half hour later we got our food. Our server mostly ignored us after that, until he asked if we wanted dessert. We got the bill and left. Of all the places we dined in Santa Fe, this was the worst for service. We will never return!

Read More

By Sharon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 26, 2006

Hold on to Your Plate

A few nights ago when my husband and I ate at Santacafe, the wait staff was so eager to rush us through our pricey meal, if we glanced away, our plates disappeared, whether we were ready or not. The 2006 Dining Guide lists head waiter Felix Valencia and at lunch, Colleen Hayes, as "some of Santa Fe's better servers" -- and Felix recommends Donny Jaramillo. Perhaps one of these waiters could provide a better dining experience. We agree the wines are

overpriced.

Read More

By Debbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 16, 2006

2 out of 3 not bad

My husband, son and I ate at this resturaunt last night on the advice of friends. My salmon and my son's filet was great. They were cooked to our order which was medium rare and both were excellent. My husband had lamb and said it was good and cooked to perfection but wasn't the best lamb dish he had ever eaten. He wished he had ordered veal. We agree with previous reviewer that wine list is overpriced and needs updating. My husband said they had

a $12.00 grocery store wine on thier wine list for $68.00.We still had a great time.

Read More

By Jodi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 11, 2004

Elegant restaurant

What a treat to eat outside under the stars. This is a great place for an intimate dinner. We had an amazing meal - and look forward to returning on our next visit to Santa Fe...

By Larry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 29, 2002

We love Santa Cafe

We have been eating at Santa Cafe ever since it opened and we have enjoyed many memorable dinners and lunches there. A meal on their patio is as good as it gets in Santa Fe. I have read the remarks about snooty service, but have never had that experience. Dining here has always ranged from very good to excellent, and usually the latter.

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 12, 2000

No Santa at this Cafe

The worst service I have experienced in Santa Fe (or anywhere else for that matter

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement