Santa Fe Restaurants

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Coyote Cafe

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Coyote Cafe Review

Noted chef Eric DiStefano operates this long-running pioneer of contemporary Southwestern cuisine, although results here have always been a bit more uneven than at his other restaurant, Geronimo. Coyote Cafe is reliable for taste variations on the beloved green chile, but the menu has evolved to include the flavors of French and Asian cuisine. Menu offerings include fiery hot-and-sweet Mexican white prawns with crisp almond rice cakes; a peppery elk tenderloin; and the rotisserie rock hen with herbs de Provence. Service and food quality vary widely—not an encouraging trend considering the high cost of dining here. Your best bet may be to head to the adjacent Rooftop Cantina (open April through October), a fun outdoor gathering spot with a loud and lively social scene where you can enjoy cool cocktails and flavorful under-$15 fare like burgers and Mexico-inspired fish tacos. On the ground floor, a lounge called the Den serves first-rate craft cocktails, but the overly slick vibe feels out of place in laid-back Santa Fe.

    Restaurant Details

  • Credit cards accepted.
  • No lunch at Coyote Cafe (Rooftop Cantina only).
Updated: 12-04-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Coyote Cafe Review

    Coyote Catina is terrible .... Rude staff, overpriced and so so food. There are many great restaurants in Santa Fe and this one is not one .... I should know as I live in Santa Fe.

    by ladyred00, 6/23/12
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Maitre D' suggested we go upstairs to Cantina

    Got off on the wrong foot when Maitre D' suggested we go upstairs to the cantina rather than eat in the main dining room. We arrived without a reservation but there were plenty of tables open the 2 hours we were there. Friendly service and good (but expensive)food healed the situation.

    by agmeek, 9/7/09
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Allergy friendly at the Cantina

    I have a 10 year old child who is dangerously allergic to peanuts and dairy products. This child loves good food but rarely has any options when dining out due to his allergies. I called Coyote Cafe and explained we would be in town for a few days and could they accommodate my child's allergies? I spoke with Tori and she assured me that she would take care of us personally and to ask for her when we came in.

    We arrived at the Cantina for our reservations and Tori immediately introduced herself and our waiter. She asked my son what kinds of food he liked and oversaw the preparation of his food herself. It was a delicious dish with chicken and pasta and all sorts of mushrooms and herbs and flavors. My son was delighted and ate until he was stuffed, then requested a to-go container so he could eat the rest later. (Being a growing boy, he actually finished the leftovers sitting on the balcony of our hotel right after dinner.)

    The rest of our food was yummy as well. Thank you Tori and the Coyote Cafe!

    by purplecat4, 8/1/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Big Disappointment!

    We planned this wonderful trip to Sante Fe and booked a reservation at Coyote Cafe. The service was horrible! Rude and arrogant waiter. It took 90 minutes to get our entree. We had to ask three times for the drink menu and our bread. The Brown Butter Lobster Bisque was not as advertized. It was a little bit of cold bisque over a half cup of pasta, which was not mentioned on the menu. After our appetizer was accidentally delivered to the wrong table, we waited another 30 minutes for a less than suitable replacement. When you pay $160.00 for dinner, you expect service..Our water glasses were never refilled.The young couple across from us were obvious friends of the bartender as they kept bringing THEM drinks during our 2 hour stay,he even came by their table to visit with them. We couldn't even get our waiter to bring the drink menu. I will NOT recommend this restaurant to anyone and I will make sure that everyone I know will know just how overrated your the restaurant is. It was not a very great ending to a beautiful trip to Santa Fe! When I relayed our experience to a colleague, she informed me that they had the same terrible experience when they visted this past year.

    by pamela3, 11/21/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Continues to go downhill

    Simply put - the Coyote has howled too long. The food over the years has declined. I ate there last night - the food overcooked and the manager summed it up well - "we have a lot of problems at this restaurant". Mark Miller, if you read this, it was 9/30/07. Your restaurant was empty and others in the Plaza area were thriving.

    by donrchap, 10/1/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Wonderful experience

    We ate here twice. Drinks & food are excellent. Service is outstanding and atmosphere is perfect for Santa Fe. HIghly Recommended!

    by bneal1955, 9/24/07

Add your own review

Advertisement

Travel Deals in Santa Fe

View all travel deals
* Some taxes, fees additional

View more trip reports

View more travel discussions

· News & Features

View more blog stories