Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Santa Fe Restaurants

Harry's Roadhouse

  • 96-B Old Las Vegas Hwy. Map It
  • Eclectic
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 12/04/2013

Fodor's Review

This busy, friendly, art-filled compound 6 mi southeast Downtown consists of several inviting rooms, from a diner-style space with counter seating to a cozier nook with a fireplace—there's also an enchanting courtyard out back with juniper trees and flower gardens. The varied menu of contemporary diner favorites, pizzas, New Mexican fare, and bountiful salads is supplemented by a long list of daily specials—which often include delicious ethnic dishes. Favorites include

smoked-chicken quesadillas and grilled-salmon tacos with tomatillo salsa and black beans. Breakfast is fantastic. On weekends, if you're there early, you might just get a chance at one of co-owner–pastry chef Peyton Young's phenomenal cinnamon rolls. Desserts here are homey favorites, from the chocolate pudding to the blueberry cobbler. Many gluten-free and veggie options are available, and Harry's is also known for stellar margaritas. The owners are committed to recycling and sustainable business practices.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

96-B Old Las Vegas Hwy., 1 mi east of Old Pecos Trail exit off I–25, Santa Fe, New Mexico, 87505, United States

Map It

Phone:

505-989–4629

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 12/04/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all restaurants in Santa Fe

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 15, 2011

Harry's Roadhouse Review

I've been there twice now. The first time was awesome, but after the treatment I had this evening I definitely won't back! After 20 minutes, I had to go to the bar to get my own water. My margarita sat on the bar that entire time while the ice melted into the drink (we could see it from our table but were unsure if it was ours until we saw our waiter FINALLY grab it and take it to us). My order was wrong and my husband was finished eating before they

brought out my correct order. I told the waiter to forget it, but they brought it out anyway. They charged me for it, so I had to put it in a to-go box since we were ready to leave. I've never left a restaurant without eating, especially after driving 35 minutes to get there. They totally ruined our night. I won't be back!!!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 18, 2011

Harry's Roadhouse Review

I am in SF on vacation for a week and Harry's was highly recommended by the people where I am staying, and several times I drove past Harry's thinking "maybe I'll go in tomorrow". Well, yesterday was that day and I have to say the recommendation was much appreciated. I was greeted at the door by a gentleman (possibly Harry himself) who was smiling and warm, my waitress was also smiling and warm... and the most amazing grill cheese with aged sharp

cheddar, onions, tomatoes, roasted red peppers, and baby spinach was warm... I am sure if it could it would have been smiling, but I sure was when I left Harry's after a most excellent meal. I will recommend Harry's to any of my friends that happen to find themselves in SF.

Read More

By Milay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 13, 2009

Harry's Roadhouse Review

We had a wonderful experience at this very friendly, fun restaurant....13 of us, service was friendly and efficient, everyone loved their meal...the gardens are great, didn't realize you could grow artichoke in NM...The wait staff was personable and cheerful..we had a great experience.

By EdBob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 12, 2009

Headed Downhill

I have been eating at Harry's for years - and it has been my favorite place in Santa Fe for most of that time. However, they may have let their success go to their heads. There are often lines to get in - which means success, but not fun. The atmosphere is quite nice - casual - funky is a good word. Adobe dining room, intimate dining nook off bar, traditional diner-style room with a line of single tables and a grill, and a very lovely Pinon pine strewn

patio out back. The food is eclectic, health-oriented, good sample of vegetarian, and some burgers, meatloaf, pork, and poultry. Waitstaff is mixed due to turn-over; and they seem to select based on hipness rather than experience. The owner and manager now seem to be grumpy and aloof - formerly jolly and inviting. All good things wear out - too bad.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 29, 2008

My last meal at Harrys

I don't want to bash a restaurant in my hometown, but I have had several meals at Harry's over the past year. I eat there because in the past I have had some mixed experiences but mostly because it is close to my house and convenient. This evening I had my LAST meal at this place; overpriced ($11 enchilada...you have to be kidding me), the now famous Harry's "what will you do for me" service attitude and always a wait....even when there are open tables?

I have friends that also live in the area and even though it is about the ONLY convenient restaraunt in the area, refuse to go back. This place is all about location because it wouldn't make it anywhere else in town where there are choices of where to eat.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 6, 2008

Locals May Love it, but.......

How can such a dive get so many rave reviews? Food was poorly prepared and quite COLD when served. Service was so-so. Atmosphere was..... where was it? Atmosphere = no atmosphere? Menu itself was enough to put us off. Come on now.... Santa Fe MUST have better to offer than this.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 28, 2008

Great place

Good food,well prepared. Good service, funky but clean place. Lots of fun. Only negative is lines/waits can be long especially weekemds

By lobo59

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2008

You could eat here every day

We have neighbors from New York, who, when they remodeled their kitchen, ate at Harry's almost every day—and liked almost every meal. It is a wonderful restaurant on the outskirts of Santa Fe. They have a very eclectic menu: Mexican, hamburgers, meatloaf, Moroccan, Mediterranean, and wonderful specials. We order something different almost every time we go there—often the specials, if they sound good—and are almost always pleased with our meal.

I would mention that their New Mexican food is tasty with mild-to-medium "heat." Service is friendly, and in the summertime, the outside patio is a great place to eat—or drink a good margarita. Breakfasts, lunches and dinners are all good. As an added bonuses their food is very reasonably priced.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 4, 2007

Is going steadly down hill

We live near Harry's and have gone three for years but the tourist are now showing up and the waits are longer (45 minutes), the service is poor (large turnover of help) and the owner (Harry) can be more than rude at times. We have decided it is time to find a better place to eat even if it means driving into Santa Fe.

By Jenoise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 28, 2007

it's where the locals go

this is a friendly, funky, casual place off the beaten path. great diner-ish food with a health conscious flare. in the summer, enjoy the back garden!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2007

so good and so cheap, i thought i was dreaming

it's serious food at light-hearted prices with cheerful and intelligent service.

By Sharon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 26, 2006

Every Saturday Morning

Harry's is THE place for locals to have breakfast, so get here early to beat the crowds. Evenings can mean long waits, too. For breakfast, migas are my favorite, but when I want healthy food, granola, fruit and yogurt is my choice. My husband usually has whatever waffles or pancakes are on the daily specials. Harry's is the closest you can get in Santa Fe to having breakfast Austin style. The after-work crowd makes the bar a busy spot, and margaritas

on the rocks are excellent; good selection of appetizers and pizza, too. Harry's is also a comfortable place if you're dining alone, and spots usually are available at the counter. Wait staff is friendly and don't rush you to leave your table. Expect to compete for a parking place.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement