Santa Fe Restaurants

Advertisement

Harry's Roadhouse

Harry's

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Harry's Roadhouse Review

This busy, friendly, art-filled compound 6 mi southeast Downtown consists of several inviting rooms, from a diner-style space with counter seating to a cozier nook with a fireplace—there's also an enchanting courtyard out back with juniper trees and flower gardens. The varied menu of contemporary diner favorites, pizzas, New Mexican fare, and bountiful salads is supplemented by a long list of daily specials—which often include delicious ethnic dishes. Favorites include smoked-chicken quesadillas and grilled-salmon tacos with tomatillo salsa and black beans. Breakfast is fantastic. On weekends, if you're there early, you might just get a chance at one of co-owner–pastry chef Peyton Young's phenomenal cinnamon rolls. Desserts here are homey favorites, from the chocolate pudding to the blueberry cobbler. Many gluten-free and veggie options are available, and Harry's is also known for stellar margaritas. The owners are committed to recycling and sustainable business practices.

    Restaurant Details

  • Credit cards accepted.
Updated: 12-04-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    so good and so cheap, i thought i was dreaming

    it's serious food at light-hearted prices with cheerful and intelligent service.

    by jstoneking, 2/22/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    it's where the locals go

    this is a friendly, funky, casual place off the beaten path. great diner-ish food with a health conscious flare. in the summer, enjoy the back garden!

    by Jenoise, 7/28/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Is going steadly down hill

    We live near Harry's and have gone three for years but the tourist are now showing up and the waits are longer (45 minutes), the service is poor (large turnover of help) and the owner (Harry) can be more than rude at times. We have decided it is time to find a better place to eat even if it means driving into Santa Fe.

    by lindajackson, 10/4/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    You could eat here every day

    We have neighbors from New York, who, when they remodeled their kitchen, ate at Harry's almost every day—and liked almost every meal. It is a wonderful restaurant on the outskirts of Santa Fe. They have a very eclectic menu: Mexican, hamburgers, meatloaf, Moroccan, Mediterranean, and wonderful specials. We order something different almost every time we go there—often the specials, if they sound good—and are almost always pleased with our meal. I would mention that their New Mexican food is tasty with mild-to-medium "heat." Service is friendly, and in the summertime, the outside patio is a great place to eat—or drink a good margarita. Breakfasts, lunches and dinners are all good. As an added bonuses their food is very reasonably priced.

    by lobo59, 4/15/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Great place

    Good food,well prepared. Good service, funky but clean place. Lots of fun. Only negative is lines/waits can be long especially weekemds

    by greatdanes, 4/28/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Locals May Love it, but.......

    How can such a dive get so many rave reviews? Food was poorly prepared and quite COLD when served. Service was so-so. Atmosphere was..... where was it? Atmosphere = no atmosphere? Menu itself was enough to put us off. Come on now.... Santa Fe MUST have better to offer than this.

    by acurreri, 6/6/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    My last meal at Harrys

    I don't want to bash a restaurant in my hometown, but I have had several meals at Harry's over the past year. I eat there because in the past I have had some mixed experiences but mostly because it is close to my house and convenient. This evening I had my LAST meal at this place; overpriced ($11 enchilada...you have to be kidding me), the now famous Harry's "what will you do for me" service attitude and always a wait....even when there are open tables? I have friends that also live in the area and even though it is about the ONLY convenient restaraunt in the area, refuse to go back. This place is all about location because it wouldn't make it anywhere else in town where there are choices of where to eat.

    by rioperro, 7/29/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Headed Downhill

    I have been eating at Harry's for years - and it has been my favorite place in Santa Fe for most of that time. However, they may have let their success go to their heads. There are often lines to get in - which means success, but not fun. The atmosphere is quite nice - casual - funky is a good word. Adobe dining room, intimate dining nook off bar, traditional diner-style room with a line of single tables and a grill, and a very lovely Pinon pine strewn patio out back. The food is eclectic, health-oriented, good sample of vegetarian, and some burgers, meatloaf, pork, and poultry. Waitstaff is mixed due to turn-over; and they seem to select based on hipness rather than experience. The owner and manager now seem to be grumpy and aloof - formerly jolly and inviting. All good things wear out - too bad.

    by EdBob, 8/12/09
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Harry's Roadhouse Review

    We had a wonderful experience at this very friendly, fun restaurant....13 of us, service was friendly and efficient, everyone loved their meal...the gardens are great, didn't realize you could grow artichoke in NM...The wait staff was personable and cheerful..we had a great experience.

    by Milay, 12/13/09
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Harry's Roadhouse Review

    I am in SF on vacation for a week and Harry's was highly recommended by the people where I am staying, and several times I drove past Harry's thinking "maybe I'll go in tomorrow". Well, yesterday was that day and I have to say the recommendation was much appreciated. I was greeted at the door by a gentleman (possibly Harry himself) who was smiling and warm, my waitress was also smiling and warm... and the most amazing grill cheese with aged sharp cheddar, onions, tomatoes, roasted red peppers, and baby spinach was warm... I am sure if it could it would have been smiling, but I sure was when I left Harry's after a most excellent meal. I will recommend Harry's to any of my friends that happen to find themselves in SF.

    by Preacha_Bill, 8/18/11
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Harry's Roadhouse Review

    I've been there twice now. The first time was awesome, but after the treatment I had this evening I definitely won't back! After 20 minutes, I had to go to the bar to get my own water. My margarita sat on the bar that entire time while the ice melted into the drink (we could see it from our table but were unsure if it was ours until we saw our waiter FINALLY grab it and take it to us). My order was wrong and my husband was finished eating before they brought out my correct order. I told the waiter to forget it, but they brought it out anyway. They charged me for it, so I had to put it in a to-go box since we were ready to leave. I've never left a restaurant without eating, especially after driving 35 minutes to get there. They totally ruined our night. I won't be back!!!

    by jenny0122, 10/15/11

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Map of Harry's Roadhouse

Map of



Travel Deals
Forums