Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Boston Restaurants

Mamma Maria

  • 3 North Sq. Map It
  • $$$
  • Italian

Updated 11/13/2013

Fodor's Review

Don't let the clichéd name fool you: Mamma Maria is far from a typical red-sauce joint, although some locals find the service lacking. From the handmade wild-mushroom ravioli to the authentic sauces and entrées to some of the best desserts in the North End, you can't go wrong here. The view, meanwhile, is lovely; gaze out onto cobblestone-lined North Square as you finish your pappardelle layered with braised rabbit and a finale of limoncello (an Italian lemon-flavored

liquor).

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

3 North Sq., Boston, Massachusetts, 02113, USA

Map It

Phone:

617-523–0077

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch

Updated 11/13/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Boston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Lexma90

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 23, 2009

Mamma Maria Review

We've eaten at Mamma Maria's several times, to enjoy the restaurant's superb northern Italian cuisine. The menu is representative and offers a good variety of choices. The service is professional. On the evening we ate here this Spring, it was a bit loud in the main room.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 2, 2008

One of the North End's best

This place and Prezza are arguably the two best Italian restaurants in the North End. Both are expensive but excellent Northern Italian spots, well worth the price. First rate cuisine and service with a warmly romantic feel to the space. A must in this area.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 25, 2005

Most Romantic Boston Restaurant

My wife and I actually got married on the Terrace at Mamma Maria. It is actually a beautifully restored 200 yr. old house. Very Elegant. We had passed hors d' oeuvres with champagne followed by a sit down diner. They provided us with a string quartet and arranged our flowers. It was the best wedding ever. Their private event manager worked with us for months and covered every specific detail. The waitstaff was charming and professional. We

will never forget Mamma Maria Restaurant and will return whenever in Boston.

Read More

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 28, 2005

Chef knows Italian food?

Both the tomato and red pepper soup and lamb ragout in tomato sauce were too sweet! When I mentioned that to the waiter, he told me that the chef told him that it was the way northern Italians cook their food. I have been to Italy a few times and never think this is the case.

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 14, 2003

Average at Best

The headline says it all. Romantic and charming, that's about it.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 10, 2003

Staff problems

The food was very good. The service was very bad. The server started out well but quickly lost interest in us (a couple) when a group of five appeared. Guess our waiter went for the money. We were not offered anything further after the entree was served, had to beg for coffee, and had to wait forever for the bill so we could get out of a place we were clearly not wanted. Too bad. The place has a lot of character and could be a great northend destination

but we won't be back.

Read More

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 22, 2002

Mamma Maria

Small (12 tables or so) overlooking historic North Square in Boston's North End. Dining is upstairs on second floor with full floor to ceiling doors which are open if weather permits. Very nice atmosphere (except at table 26 which is stuck in the middle near the alley to the kitchen so waiters are constantly bumping you as they move to and fro). Waiting for dinner can take a long time - almost an hour in our case. Staff is average which is less than

what was expected becuase the meals and wine are expensive. They kept pouring tap water in our glasses of bottled water. Most annoying. Wine is overpriced at $45 and up per bottle. We had Newlan Cabernet 1999 for $58. Meals $25 and up. The food, although tardy was worth the wait. Chef did an excellent job - except there wasn't enough. Only two lamb chops, three would have been perfect. All things considered, very enjoyable evening, but I hope Mamma can take some advice. Train staff to be more attentive and polite and remove table 26 - then you have a hit.

Read More

By Wendy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 13, 2002

Fantastic

We had a fantastic meal here! The food was creative and amazing. Our service was very professional and personal. We had no complaints and felt that we would absolutely recommend and return!

By Louis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 21, 2001

Heavenly food with exquisite atmpsphere

Utterly superior food, excellent service, and with window seating over a quaint plaza in Boston's North End restaurant area, it seemed we were transported somewhere in an Italian village.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement