Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Boston Restaurants

Grill 23 & Bar

Updated 11/13/2013

Fodor's Review

Pinstripe suits, dark paneling, Persian rugs, and waiters in white jackets give this single-location steak house a posh demeanor. The food is anything but predictable, with dishes such as seasonally dressed tartars (steak and tuna) and weekly cuts of all-natural beef like the 14-ounce dry-aged New York sirloin. Seafood specialties such as spicy scallops with mushroom dumplings and baby artichokes give beef sales a run for their money. Desserts, such as the decadent Valrhona

chocolate layer cake, rank far above those of the average steak house. Make sure to leave room.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

161 Berkeley St., Boston, Massachusetts, 02116, USA

Map It

Phone:

617-542–2255

Website: grill23.com

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch

Updated 11/13/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Boston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 5, 2009

Great food, expensive and noisy though

I think Grill 23 has the best steak in Boston. Absolutely wonderful, perfectly cooked. The truffled tater tots on the side are excellent. The wine list is huge, and full of interesting selections. It is a bit expensive, however, and short on selections at the low end of the price range. My biggest complaint about this place is the noise. It's huge, and busy, and incredibly loud. You can't even have a conversation with your dinner partner without

yelling across the table. Definitely not a place for an intimate dinner.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 25, 2008

Boston's best place for steak

With The Oak Room, this is one of the two best places for steak in Boston, and they also do good seafood. Beats the expensive chains by a mile. Good bartending and service, excellent on sides and bread as well as entrees. Only drawback is that's it's very noisy. Expensive, but you'll get your money's worth.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 4, 2008

Other Reviews Have Got It Wrong

Grill 23 is hands down the best steakhouse in Boston. Some of the other reviews compare it to steakhouses such as The Palm. First of all, The Palm is the worst steakhouse I have been to in Boston. Grill 23 can best be compared with Abe & Louie's and Capital Grille. The atmosphere at Grill 23 is loud, it is straightforward, and it is phenomenal. The steak is some of the best in the world, the service is outstanding, and the drinks are reasonably

priced for a restaurant of this caliber. I have been to many many many restaurants in Boston, and I still find that Grill 23 is the best traditional steak house in the city. Consistent and delicious, through and through.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 6, 2007

Not that good.

For a restaurant that is supposed to be on the same level as Abe and Louies, Capital Grill, The Palm, etc., this place really is not that good. I had THE WORST martini I have ever had. Houston's serves a better one. Order a $12 or more matini with olives on the side, and you get 4 olives in a small glass. When I asked for a olive pick, I was given a tooth pick. When I complained the waiter brought me a shrimp cocktail fork. The tooth pick was under

the gin therefore I needed to put my fingers in the drink. The manager said no one ever complained about that, Doubt that. They should visit any fine, or even casual restaurant to see how a martini should be served. A toothopick????????? My NY strip was ok, nothing great for $39.00, the $9.00 creamed spinach was tasteless. I would never go back to this place again. Too many very good places to have a good steak and martini.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 10, 2007

A disappointment...

I hadn't been to Grill 23 in a few years and was looking forward to returning. The food however was just good, not great (the Wedge salad contained the stem of the head of lettuce), but the biggest problem and disappointment was the noise. We couldn't hear one another, asked to have our table moved, which they nicely did, but still the noise ruined our evening with friends.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 29, 2005

Best of Boston

I still think Grill 23 is the best service and food I have ever had in a steakhouse in Boston. I rarely get anything but a NY strip, but recently tried scallops from the chef's special menu - they were amazing. I will always go back when the choice is mine.

By m

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 8, 2005

lively steakhouse

Nice lively atmosphere. I think dress is smart, rather than fixed rules about jackets etc. Generally the food was very tasty, but my filet was overcooked for medium rare. We were shown to a table by the busy kitchen entrance until we asked to move, despite having made a reservation.

By Harry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2004

Loud and Pricey...and Average

I don't understand the fuss! The place does a bang-up business (we ate there on a Wed. evening and it was packed) but my wife's $39 entree and my $34 entree were OK (I believe I get better meat at the local Wild Oats store) THe place is WAY LOUD and the service levels dropped off as the place got filled up. I'm not a fan!

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 21, 2004

Tip Top Steak

I have to say that I was incredibly impressed with my recent visit. I had the NY Sirloin, rare...tater tots (certainly not the kind that the lunch lady served) and fresh grilled asparagus. Food came out perfectly cooked and from one of the best server's I have ever encountered. Wine selections were right on target as well (with help from the server).

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 24, 2003

CHIPPED Beef

My husband and I went to Grill 23 while in Boston for a week on vacation. I was really disappointed. We did request a room upstairs and were glad we did. The service was good but the food was lousy. We are from Texas and Southerners like their beef cooked differently than New Englanders. Most of the high reviews are from New Englanders and I really think that makes a difference. Our steaks were overcooked and not at all flavorful. The management

was very gracious and comp'ed our entire meal. The next night we went to Morton's and had a great dinner.

Read More

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 18, 2003

Have to Give a Second Chance...

Heard much about this restaurant and went for the first time on Mother's Day. Was a little disappointed. Noise level was much more than I cared for. Heard there was a jacket-required policy and had everyone wear jackets only to get there and most people were not in jackets. Meal was good. Father, who is a filet mignon enthusiast, was not impressed with his 3 slices of filet over mashed potatoes for $31. Desserts were excellent. Willing to try

again....maybe ask for upstairs seating.

Read More

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 20, 2001

Better Choices In Boston

While our meal was good, the rest of the experience was disappointing. The noise level in the room was high, and our waiter must have been having an off night as he was neither pleasant nor efficient. For what we paid, it left much to be desired. Grill 23 came highly recommended, but it surely didn't meet our standards the evening we dined there.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement