Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Maui Hotels

Kaanapali Beach Hotel

  • 2525 Kaanapali Pkwy. Map It
  • Local Flavor
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Exceptional Hawaiian culture program
  • Friendly staff
  • Great price
  • Tiki Terrace restaurant serves delicious meals and one of the most bountiful Sunday brunches on the island

Cons

  • The property is older than neighboring modern resorts
  • Fewer amenities than other places along this beach

Updated 02/21/2014

Fodor's Review

From the Hawaiian artifcts in the garden to the tropical interiors, this charming beachfront hotel is full of aloha—locals say it's one of the few resorts on the island where you can get a true Hawaiian experience. The entire staff takes part in the hotel's ongoing Pookela program to learn about the history, traditions, and values of Hawaiian culture, and shares its knowledge and stories with guests. You can participate by taking complimentary classes in authentic hula

dancing, lei making, lauhala weaving, ukulele playing, and other Hawaiian activities. The spacious rooms are decorated with Hawaiian motifs, wicker, and rattan; each has a lanai and faces either the beach beyond the courtyard or the lush mountains.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

2525 Kaanapali Pkwy., Kaanapali, Hawaii, 96761, United States

Map It

Phone:

808-661–0011; 800-262–8450

Website: www.kbhmaui.com

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 432 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 02/21/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Maui

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 26, 2012

Kaanapali Beach Hotel Review

Fodor's review overlooks one big negative for families with young children -- this is a smoking hotel. We booked a stay at Kaanapali Beach Hotel for our family with 2 young children (4 months and 4 years) for 10 days in February 2012. While we agree with Fodor that this hotel is full of aloha in many respects, it is also full of second hand smoke. The hotel allows smoking on the premises and even has floors designated as smoking floors. Unfortunately

for us, we were surrounded by second hand smoke from neighboring rooms for most of our stay. My wife and I did complain to hotel staff and spoke with a hotel manager who explained that the hotel does allow smoking, but is careful to follow state law. The manager also said that for most of their guests, the smoking and second-hand smoke is a non-issue. The manager further said that she believed the hotel would lose business if they were to become a non-smoking hotel. So, is this hotel charming and attractive? Not to this young family who could not breathe easy until we checked out.

Read More

By Gary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 31, 2006

Great Anniversary, Great Hotel and even Greater Staff

We took the kids on a anniversary trip to KBH in March of 2005. Once we arrived we were made to feel right at home. The hotel staff were very friendly and attentive to all are needs. The KBH has a great kids program that even the parents can attend.(I think we enjoyed as much as the kids) The atmosphere was wonderful and we really enjoyed the nightly shows performed by rudy.(very entertaining and in such a relaxing setting, you never wanted him

and his band to stop playing, they also make it fun by involving the crowd in the show) The location of the KBH is second to none, located on the best stretch of the Kaanapali beach. The tiki bar was great with a wonderful happy hour. (love the lava flow and back scratcher) We rented the cabana's on the beach which I highly recommend. One never has to leave the property, however we did go in to lihaina to eat and took a snokle cruise to molokini which we did not need to do, because the next day we snorkled at blackrock which was even better than molokini and was free as it is located right next to the KBH (2 minute walk) As we were there in March we could sit in our cabana on the beach and watch the humpback whales jump just a few hundred feet from the beach, what a fantastic site to witness. I could go on and on and tell you how wonderful a time we had, so I will just tell you, we have already booked a second trip to celebrate our anniversary in March of 2006 but this time we have booked a oceanfront room in the molokai wing so we can sit and watch the whales and cliff divers at blackrock from our rooms while sipping on a lava flow! The KBH and its staff went out of their way to make our first trip to maui very special. We plan on returning to maui and the KBH every year.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 18, 2006

Great Hawaiian Feel

My husband and I stayed here for our Honeymoon in 6/03. Our travel agent really "talked up" this hotel, praising it for its true Hawaiian feel. Despite some of the other reviews here, I have to agree with the awards this hotel has gotten for being "Hawaiian". No, the bathrooms aren't marble and the furniture is modern -- but, realistically, is that what people really think of as "true Hawaiian"?? Would I want wicker furniture in my house? No, but

it just "fits" here. KBH is lavish greenery, simple (but very clean and well cared for) accommodations, courteous staff, and beautiful beach. Plus, the location is great. True, if you want luxury, stay somewhere else. But, in all of my travels, nothing compares to Maui. It is breathtaking--there is so much to explore that we were hardly in our room. I got a great feel from the hotel and I found it to be appropriate for the surroundings. All of this is what makes Maui so special. Give it a try if you want a "Hawaiian" experience; if you want opulence, stay somewhere else, like a hotel that actually claims to be opulent!

Read More

By Laurie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 15, 2005

Never again....

My husband and I reserved 5 rooms here for ourselves and our wedding party the week of our Maui wedding. Upon arrival, we were sent to a room that reeked of cigarette smoke and had two double beds (apparently the "honeymoon package" did not assume one king bed). When we asked for a different room, preferably non-smoking and with a king bed, we were told that our reservation (made through our travel agent) hadn't specified these options and that the

hotel had no rooms left with those accommodations. Our options were to take a smoky room (plenty of those at this dated hotel), bump down a room grade, or pay an extra $75 a night (!) to go up a grade. The front desk staff was completely rude and not at all sympathetic to our situation. The rudeness continued with the restaurant staff and again with another room mix-up with the front desk. We were appalled that the most Hawaiian hotel would be so unaccommodating to us during the days leading up to our wedding and in light of the fact that we were reserving so many rooms. After requesting to speak with the manager, we were told he would call us. Naturally, that call never came. We regret having stayed at this hotel during such a memorable time as the service was just shockingly bad. On the other hand, the maids and the beach staff were wonderful, friendly and spirited. But it just wasnt enough to make up for the insolent front desk staff.

Read More

By Terry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 23, 2005

Tiki Taki Beach Hotel

I don't know why Fodor's gives this hotel a star. The food at the restaurants made us ill. The atmosphere is not true Hawaiian, it is "cheesy Hawaiian". We have nicknamed this hotel "The Tiki Taki hotel". The beachfront was fabulous, but the room was tacky, in need of upgrades (naked chrome leg holding up bathroom sink, dingy dinged rattan furnishings, dark brown veneer doors, hallway resembling a nursing home, scratchy sheets). I wanted to stay

at a hotel with atmosphere and chose this one because of Fodor's star. I believe Fodor needs to re-visit the Kaanapali Beach Hotel and remove their star rating. Next time I'll go with the Sheraton, Mariott or the Westin, and willingly pay the extra money for a nicer atmosphere.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 1, 2004

Tourist Trap!

This hotel was totally talked up to us by our travel agent and we haven't listed a travel agent to assist with our hotel choice since. I think the problem, to begin with, was that the hotel was too talked up and our expectations were way too high. We expected something less cheesy and more island-y (without the old men chomping on cigars and wearing Hawaiian shirts). Watch out for the Auntie Aloha "free" breakfast where they try to sell you excursions

like used cars, while mixing in some horrible stand up comedy. We got food coupons for the mixed plate, and while not incredible cuisine, it beats spending like $30 on breakfast somewhere. The food at the nicer restaurant was actually very good, but we had to leave when the hotel band began to cover Don Ho songs just outside of the restaurant. We had an absolutely incredible view of the beach and the sunsets form our balcony are still the best I've ever seen in my life. The location is good. We were on our honeymoon, and they forgot to do everything that my husband got set up for us, and it took several days to finally get a bottle of champagne up to the room, so the service was pretty mediocre. But, the maid staff was nice and the room was pretty clean, even though it was totally tacky and cheesy like everything else in this hotel. I think our experience would have been a lot better if we had done better trip research. All that said, this hotel is a great value because, given its location, it is actually priced very well.

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 29, 2003

No complaints

We just got back from Kannapali Beach Hotel and I thought it was just great. I have absolutely no complaints about this hotel. I have never stayed at a luxury resort so I suppose this hotel is far from luxury. But it sure does beat a Hampton in nowhere, usa.

By Sandy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 26, 2001

An "easy" place to stay.

The location is fantastic. While all the comments about the rooms being a bit tired are accurate, we did feel at home here very quickly. The staff is friendly and very helpful. It's easy to walk to other hotels, shopping and restaurants. The beach is incredible! We didn't care about the pool - no kids. While paying for parking is annoying it seemed to be commonplace when we were checking out various hotels. We even enjoyed the kitchy "Aloha

Annie" breakfast (free for us) and did get some useful ideas and help booking some activities. The Tiki Terrace bar was a comfortable, laid back place to come back to after a busy day. This hotel is a good value.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 11, 2001

Great For Families w/ Young Kids

I would strongly recommend this hotel for families with young children, but caution others about its shortcomings. We had a delightful one-week stay in August 2001 in a beachfront, ground floor room. (A great room choice for families with young kids since it removes the danger of a balcony, while enabling the kids more room to run around.) Our children, ages 6 & 3, loved the Hawaiian activities, buffet breakfasts, and whale-shaped pool. The staff

is incredibly child friendly and accommodating. If I didn't have young children however, I would probably stay somewhere else. Unlike neighboring resorts, there is only one pool here, and it is rather small and worn out (the bottom is peeling, there are no slides or waterfalls). With young children, this was a plus. With older children, I could easily imagine them becoming bored by these limitations. While our beachfront room provided a wonderful setting, it was in need of refurbishment. It was never dirty, but it never felt sparkling clean. The lobby and other public areas are also in need of updating. Again, with young kids none of this matters. The setting is wonderful, the staff is friendly, and you can stay beachfront for about half the price of other resorts.

Read More

By Lori

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 24, 2001

Aloha Spirit vs Opulence and Commercialism

If you're looking for upper class opulence in a hotel on a beautiful beach, that could be on any other beautiful beach in the world, this isn't the place for you. If you're looking for a traditional hawaian hotel with lots of Aloha!, resonably priced for location, very nicely remodeled rooms overlooking beautifully manicured grounds and the pacific ocean, friendly staff at your service to make your stay great including macadamian nut chocolates on

arrival and nightly turn down service with chocolates and fresh orchids, free daily hawaian activities that teach you about the culture, nightly hula shows and hawaian music all in a relaxed atmosphere in which you really feel like you are in hawaii, then this is the place for you. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay at the Kaanapali Beach Hotel should we return to Maui.

Read More

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2001

Real Hawaii

Located between Whalers Village and the Sheraton, this is the best spot to stay. If, you want friendly people, beautiful grounds, incredible beach, and nothing fancy, this is it. The rooms are big, but showing their wear. The morning buffet meal is the pits, but a bite at the Tiki Bar in evening watching hula show fantastic. Beware booking this thru American Airlines vacations. American has a category room/breakfast. When you get to hotel, there

is no such thing. We were overcharged $200 for our days there for the breakfast. After months of discussion with hotel and airline, the hotel gave us back half of the mysterious breakfast money and the airlines wouldn't do a thing, even though, it was 100% airlines fault.

Read More

By Vee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 11, 2001

Motel6 from the 70's!

This hotel was so overrated by Fodors. People there are very friendly, however, we were so disappointed of the condition of the rooms that we had to check out the very next morning for a much nicer hotel down the street. This would have been ok, if your're on a really tight budget. Then again, Hawaii is not a place to be if you're on a tight budget.

By Marie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 21, 2001

Nothing Fancy, but comfortable

You cannot beat the location or the price, we had an oceanfront room and you could not beat the view for the price, but the room was in dire need of work, they recently renovated the oceanview rooms, but not oceanfront, the bathroom was the worst, wallpaper peeling and in general very old looking. It was clean, but old. The pool is old, and very basic, no waterfalls, or slides, no hot tub or jacuzzi. No room service either, I would reccommend this

hotel to families on a budget or couples who do not plan to spend much time at their resort, honeymooners should look elsewhere. The nightly hula show was very nice, and the Tiki Terrace restaurant had good food, although the service was slow, it was nice to watch the hula show while you were eating dinner. The grounds are nice, and vast. Again the best points to this hotel are the location and the price.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 3, 2000

Enjoy the slow pace(Maui style)

We stayed there for a week this spring and found this hotel to be a hidden gem. It is true the rooms are nothing special, but we did not spend that much time in the room anyway. The staff went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful.

By Kristen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2000

Relaxation at its best!

We found the hotel to be a quiet haven among the hustle and bustle. Guests can relax under the trees with a good book, dodge the tremendous waves at the beach, or sit and watch the sunsets at the poolside Tiki Hut. The atmosphere and the service certainly more than make up for the "just average" rooms.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement