Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Maui Hotels

Plantation Inn

  • 174 Lahainaluna Rd. Map It
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Guests have full privileges at the sister Kaanapali Beach Hotel, 3 miles north
  • Walk to shops, sights, and restaurants
  • 24-hour access to pool and Jacuzzi

Cons

  • Lahaina town can be noisy
  • Wi-Fi connection is hit-or-miss (try the lanai)
  • Two-story inn has no elevator or bellman
  • No children under 13

Updated 02/21/2014

Fodor's Review

Poster beds topped with Hawaiian quilts, free parking in bustling Lahaina, and complimentary gourmet breakfasts from the inn's on-site French restaurant, Gerard's, are just some of the perks to staying in this tropical plantation-era inn. Standard rooms can be small, so splurge for the suites, especially those with secluded lanais hugging a central courtyard housing the pool. Special touches like stained-glass windows and historic photographs of Lahaina add charm. Some

suites have kitchenettes and large double showers. Though 10 minutes from the beach, this inn is a fine value for those who want to be in the heart of the action.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

174 Lahainaluna Rd., Lahaina, Hawaii, 96761, United States

Map It

Phone:

808-667–9225; 800-433–6815

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 15 rooms, 4 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 02/21/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Maui

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Jen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 17, 2005

Still love the Plantation Inn!

Just cam back from Maui and we spent time at the Inn. We love ot for location you can't beat it if you want to hang out at night in Lahaina. As soon as you arrive back at the Inn it is so quiet you forget you are in a busy town. We enloy it and reccomend it.

By Erin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 17, 2004

Charming, Romantic, Peaceful.....

...and the list goes on. My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon in Oct 2003. We were VERY pleased with our decision. Wonderful facility with a warm and friendly staff that made us feel welcome. Definitely more of a 'couples' place, vs. families. Daily breakfast was delicious, as well as the 2 dinners we had at Gerard's. Great package options - we definitely got our money's worth (especially for Maui!). Good location, within easy walking distance

to all Lahaina shops & restaurants. We would (and likely will) stay here again, and recommend to anyone!

Read More

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 1, 2003

Best decision you could make...

would be to spend a few days here at the Plantation Inn before becoming ensconced in one of the womb-like big resorts. Center of town, but not noisy. Tons of places to eat in town, and the best restaurant in Maui right downstairs. Really nice people and generous breakfasts that always start with fresh chunks of pineapple dusted with toasted coconut. Serene pool, no kids, romantic.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 30, 2003

Honeymoon Treat

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. It was wonderful! Located in a quieter section of Lahiana, everything was within walking distance, and a nice change of pace from the more resort-like areas. The pool was fabulous and we enjoyed our breakfast outside every morning. Be sure to have at least one dinner at Gerard's (we had 2!) for outstanding food, service, and wine. It was a wonderful honeymoon and we can't wait to go back!

By Alan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 5, 2003

A nice location, but in need of renovations

We were very pleased with the location of the Plantation Inn, but the amenities were lacking for the type of place it portrayed itself to bed. Primarily, we specifically booked their family suite because we wanted two beds. At 9:00 at night when we pulled out the sofa bed it had no sheets and a mattress that wasn't fit to be slept on. The best they could do was a foam futon on the floor. There were other signs of aging; a faded picture on the wall,

falling out of its mat, holes in the wall, stains on the carpet - that said some work needs to be done here.

Read More

By Ruth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 8, 2003

Wonderful retreat in town

We spent 5 nights in a deluxe room which opened out to the pool. The room was lovely and the inn was quiet and relaxing. There were seldom many people at the pool/hot tub and you often had it to yourself. The breakfast had the same 4-5 options each morning, one of which was poached eggs and another wonderful french toast. Could (and did) walk everywhere in Lahaina. Only drawback was our ceiling fan/light combo--the light came on by itself the

first morning and wouldn't stay off. Long story short, the problem seems to be with the fixtures that have remote controls (not all rooms have those)and we had the Inn remove the bulbs from the ceiling light so that we could still enjoy the fan. Inn has washer/dryer that I don't believe is mentioned on the website. Gerard's restaurant is outstanding and as an Inn guest, you get a substantial discount.

Read More

By m

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 2, 2002

inexpensive but nothing special

A nice place to stay in Lahaina, but very small with few amenities. Not near the beach. More of a B&B than a hotel.

By Kate

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 16, 2000

Excellent, excellent and more excellence!!

Beautiful pool area, room, and spotless. The breakfast was great, and Gerard's was well worth the money!! We'd go back in a heartbeat!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement