Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Maui Hotels

Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

  • 4100 Wailea Alanui Dr. Map It
  • Wailea
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • For families, this is one of the best of the South Shore luxury resorts
  • On-site bakery and deli are good for picnic fare

Cons

  • Some feel the architecture and design scream anything but Hawaii

Updated 02/12/2015

Fodor's Review

Gleaming white spires and tiled archways are the hallmark of this stunning resort that's particularly good for families. The spacious, newly renovated suites have comfortable furnishings and come with microwaves, DVD players, and marble bathrooms. The villas, also just redone, are the real lure, though. Each is a two-story structure with a private plunge pool, two (or three) large bedrooms, a laundry room, and a fully equipped kitchen—margarita blender included. Order

in a chef to cook a feast of fresh island fish or steaks on the poolside grill. Best of all, housekeepers do the dishes. A fantastic haven for families, the villas are side by side, creating a sort of miniature neighborhood. Request one on the end, with an upstairs sundeck. The resort has a small, almost private beach, and recently renovated its award-winning Ko restaurant. The new Willow Stream Spa offers Hawaiian-inspired heat and hydro treatments.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

4100 Wailea Alanui Dr., Wailea, Hawaii, 96753, United States

Map It

Phone:

808-875–4100; 800-798–4552

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 413 suites, 37 villas
  • Rate includes No meals

Updated 02/12/2015

View Maui Hotel Rates

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Maui

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By gregnny

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 19, 2012

Second stay, Second honeymoon and second to none!

My wife and I recently returned to the Kea Lani for our 2nd honeymoon. Our first trip was in May of 2008. I'm happy to say it was just as nice (and maybe better) the second time around. The rooms are simply excellent. Spacious, comfortable, clean and (with an ocean view) a simply stunning view of the ocean. We got up @ dawn each morning to see the resort come to life from our terrace. The resort itself has simply magnificent views -- whether inside

the lobby, the pool area, or down by the beach. It's the Maui you expect to see from the web sites and travel brochures. And the sunsets!! Sit in the lobby bar and watch the sun settle into the Pacific. A torch bearer comes by lighting tiki torches around the resort, blowing through a conch shell. It sounds a bit cheesy, but we loved it. The drinks are great too, and the Lounge Bar is a sneaky way to have dinner for less than $150 bucks (see below). The staff was wonderful (again). The #1 reason we came back to the Kea Lani was the staff. That's what we remembered most from our 2008 trip. And once again, they were warm, welcoming and friendly. We got into casual conversations with a number of people on the wait staff, and they new us by name by the time we left. Expect to be treated very well... like an old friend. The food was good... not great. We come from New York City, so we're a bit spoiled int he restaurants we frequent. We had no problems or complaints with the food we had. But neither did we think it was particularly special. In fairness, we weren't there for the food (ok, maybe the tropical fruit, which WAS wonderful.) Caveats: The food is VERY expensive. Breakfast, for example, can easily run you $70 for two, and dinner often costs $150 or more for two, including tip. You'll run through your food budget quickly if you're not careful. Fortunately each suit comes with a small fridge, and there's a Safeway about 15 minutes away where we got breakfast/ lunch stuff for a couple days. Wi-FI is not included with your room. It costs $15 for a 24 period. Given that laundry facilities are provided at no cost, I was surprised that something like Wi-Fi was not. You can get free Wi-Fi by joining their President's Club, but we didn't find that out until later. All in all, if you go understanding that food prices are very high, you'll have a wonderful experience. We absolutely plan to go again.

Read More

By Collier

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 21, 2007

Glorious Open spaces

The hotel rooms are huge and the bathrooms so large that 3 women managed to put on their make-up at the same time!!! The front desk does everything it can to make your stay special and the hotel restaurant "Cafe Ciao" could not be better. There is beautiful grassy spaces and the chairs/cabanas are not packed together as in the other hotels. Views are perfect. You won't be disappointed.

By leighf

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 18, 2007

Relaxing & Beautiful

We love Hawaii. Second Trip to Maui. The resort was beautiful and the rooms were very nice, with large marble bathrooms. Scuba lessons at the pool were a hit. Separate pool for families was nice. Beach area was smaller than expected and often crowded. Everything you need is right there at the resort -including restaurants; however, food at the resort didn't live up to expectations. Princeville on Kauai is still our favorite. Would go back,

but might try another resort next time.

Read More

By hullo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 25, 2007

What's the point?

For close to $500 you too can have a view of the parking lot. It was Christmas and we booked late but still. Another mega-resort crawling with people. If you're looking for quiet and contemplation in the mystical setting of Hawaii, this is not the place for you. small beach, small pool, crowded restaurants and really ugly architecture. However, it's near the mall -- which is where most of the guests have come from.

By Trisha1

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 8, 2006

Fabulous Ocean Views

Loved everything but the fitness center which is way too small. The suites are wonderful with full ocean views and the food is delicious. Loved the little cafe for tea, sandwiches or whatever. Definitely will return soon.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 26, 2006

Relaxing, But Could Improve

Hotel lobby is beautiful. Corridors to the rooms and the rooms themselves do not measure up to the lobby. Rooms are good size, but the furniture is a little worn. Rates are expensive, but what isn't on Maui. Onsite restaurant food is very good, but again expensive. Parking can be a bit tight. Hotel beach is OK, especially for little kids, but Big Beach down the road is much more scenic. Pool area is adequate, with a small water slide for the

kids.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement