Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Kauai Restaurants

Postcards Café

  • 5-5075A Kuhio Hwy. Map It
  • $$
  • American

Updated 01/24/2014

Fodor's Review

This plantation-cottage restaurant has a menu full of seafood but also offers additive-free vegetarian and vegan options. Top menu picks include taro fritters, wasabi-crusted ahi, tandoori and baked portabella mushrooms. Desserts are made without refined sugar. Try the chocolate silk pie made with barley malt chocolate, pure vanilla, and creamy tofu with a gingery crust, or even better yet, the warm chocolate volcano.

Restaurant Information

Address:

5-5075A Kuhio Hwy., Hanalei, Hawaii, 96714, USA

Map It

Phone:

808-826–1191

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch

Updated 01/24/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Kauai

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 10, 2007

Definitely go to Postcards

The fish here is as good as you'll get anywhere on the island, and the sauces are so varied that you could eat here more than once and not have similar dining experiences. True, the management isn't the most cordial, but who cares? You're coming to eat, not to shmooze with the people in charge of seating. Try the taro fritters; they're are wild and a great appetizer.

By Jo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 29, 2006

If you enjoy standing in the heat

The food is very good however, you need to wait for a table even if reservations are made. Stay away from this restaurant in the summer. It is very hot and sticky.

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 13, 2006

Freshest of the fresh

Very creative fish dishes. Well cooked (not overcooked) and flavorful.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2005

Great Food

The food was excellent, and the atmosphere pleasant. We were on the porch, and would've been great (inside seemed a little stuffy), if not for the many bugs. Since slathering on insect repellent for dinner doesn't seem appetizing, I think I would've enjoyed a screened proch more. The waiter was very friendly, though lacking a bit of professionalism. Since I wanted to order multiple appetizers for my whole meal, I wanted them spread out (everyone else

in our party of 5 was ordering entrees). For some reason, the waiter replied that MAY be possible. I think my request was reasonable, and this is never problem when I've made the same request. Anyway, two of the appetizers did come at the same time, leaving a gap while everyone else was eating their entrees. The food, however, was excellent, and I will return. I loved the taro fritters~tasty and unusual!

Read More

By Kristen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 9, 2005

Why Eat Anywhere Else?

My husband and I ate at Postcards 3 times in 2001 on our honeymoon (2 dinners, 1 breakfast)and absolutely fell in love with the food and the atmosphere. We returned with some friends in 2003 who declined to eat there because Postcards hadn't received an ONO from the Ultimate Kaua'i Guidebook, despite our rave reviews of the place. We ate there anyway (without them) and had a delicious meal--again. We just returned from Kaua'i this afternoon with

another set of friends who also loved the restaurant. We ate there twice--our first and last nights on the island--and the food was amazing. We each had the fresh fish at least once, and found accompanying macadamia-butter sauce as good as ever. We also tried the taro fritters, and I had the Seafood Sorrento on our second visit, which was excellent. Our friend said Postcards was her favorite restaurant on the island. My husband and I have to agree, and we recommend it to everyone who visits Kaua'i. The only downside to Postcards is that they no longer serve breakfast...my husband still laments the homemade granola he had on our honeymoon. Keep it up, Postcards!

Read More

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 25, 2004

Postcards deserves a chance!

We read so many mixed reviews we decided we just had to try Postcards last week in Hanalei even if it made us sorry. We were PLEASANTLY surprised. From the comments here and elsewhere, it sounds like they hit a rough patch earlier this year, but the food was definitely some of the best we had in Kauai and on The Big Island. My husband is a chef and I fancy myself quite a food critic, and we really enjoyed our meal. The service was fine too -although

a little slow at the end, but the server was slammed and you know -you're in Hawaii on Aloha time, so chill a little! as far as prices -it's certainly no more expensive than any other dinner unless you're doing fast food or Hanalei Mixed Plate. The entrees we had would have cost the same amount in Atlanta, where we live, at that type of restaurant. The seafood and accompanying dishes were all very fresh and made great use of interesting sauces and flavors. When we go back to Kauai next year, this will be one of the first places we eat!

Read More

By Trisha

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 7, 2004

Restaurant was not open when we arrived

We arrived for a 6 PM reservation and restaurant was not open. We had to wait 15 minutes for the tables to be set up. Food was so so and wait staff seemed harried. Way overpriced for what you get. Go over to the Hanalei Dolphin for a great ahi dinner...it is just yards away.

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 5, 2004

Big Fish? Only in a small pond.

The food was above average but not worth the cost in our view. Also, the service was the worst we have EVER experienced. We waited an hour for a table (and we had a reservation) and there were 6 other couples in the same boat so this appears to be standard. We were begrudgingly offered a glass of water halfway through our wait when we inquired about our table. Hostess practically spit on my wife when she asked where the bathroom was. Overall,

I'd save money and have a more pleasant evening pretty much anywhere else. This place is overated.

Read More

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 13, 2003

Return to sender

Maybe it was just a scary night(it was Halloween),but the waitress was snooty, my fish was brought out raw and cold (Opah is not a "shushi grade" fish), and I couldn't hear my wife over the screaming infants. I ordered grilled Opah on a Ceasar salad, sent it back because it was raw,and had the same piece of fish(I had cut it in half when it didn't seem very warm) returned on the same salad that was now warm and completely wilted. My wife was finished

her dinner before mine came back. I would like to add that all the meals we ate in Hanalei would get a 2 star rating for quality and service at 4 star prices. The only exception is Sushi Blues which had some of the best sushi I have ever eaten.

Read More

By Rich

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 30, 2003

Meat eaters Beware!!

This is one of my most favorite dining places on the entire island, but they are strictly a fish and veggie establishment, so if you want a steak, go to Chuck's in Princeville. I have never had a major problem with service. The place is small and gets crowded, so a wait is to be expected. You are on one of the most beautiful places in the world, stop, relax, small the Pluneria and pet PC, the local cat and his sidekick Stamp. Brakfasts are outstanding,

dinner specials as good as anyplace on the island and pricing, well, up there, but hey, you're in Hawaii. I've paid more at the Jersey Shore. Do yourself a favor, don't pass this place up.

Read More

By Jean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 16, 2003

Wish You Were Here

Postcards was the best restaurant we ate at while in Kauai and a restaurant that we would love to have at home so that we could be frequent diners there. The food was delicious (my husband is still talking about his scallop appetizer), the atmosphere was charming and relaxing, and the service was on point. Don’t waste your time on the North Side of Kauai eating at the average restaurants at The Princeville Hotel (go there after dinner for a drink

and live music instead) when you can have your daily breakfast and dinner at Postcards instead.

Read More

By JohnR

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 30, 2002

Worth Writing Home About

With only one week on Kauai in October '01, my wife and I ended up eating at Postcards twice. Both times were excellent. Some of the best soup we've ever had and the chef specials were wonderful. We were eating fairly early and I guess we beat the crowds because we had no trouble being seated. Very highly recommended!

By Robbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 9, 2001

Great Place!

It's true that the service is sometimes off but last visit they gave us a really nice fruit plate while we waited....just remember you're not in NYC and slowdown. I would definitely go back.

By Margot

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2001

Despite the service, a pleasant surprise

This was our first experience with Postcards, and we found it to be quite enjoyable, on the whole. The preparations are as fresh as they can be, with heavy relaince on organic ingredients and with no meats to be found on the menu. Atmosphere is laid back and relaxed (but then again, that describes Kauai in general, doesn't it?!), and we were both pleased with our selecyions. Breakfast, on the other hand, while tasty, is a rip-off, in our estimation,

with a cup of coffee setting you back $3, if memory serves.

Read More

By Kay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 31, 2000

Take a pen to write your postcards while you wait

Okay, so you've made your reservation at Postcards, the busy, trendy Hanalei Bay area restaurant. Don't expect to be seated anytime soon after you arrive, though. And, once seated, don't hold your breath waiting for anyone to take your order. Once you order, get out that pen and scribble away... you'll have written about ten postcards by the time your food arrives.

By lisa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 19, 2000

Fantastic fish and vegetarian fare

Postcards has the best selection of fresh fish of any restaurant we encountered during our trip to Hawaii. My grilled opa with honey-dijon sauce was excellent, and the vegetables accompanying it were fresh and uniquely prepared. Service was very good. They carry a nice selection of wines, and mix up unique fruit juice and tea concoctions that are very refreshing.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement