Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Kauai Restaurants

Bull Shed

  • 796 Kuhio Hwy. Map It
  • Steakhouse

Updated 01/24/2014

Fodor's Review

The A-frame structure makes this popular restaurant look distinctly rustic from the outside. Inside, light-color walls and a full wall of glass highlight an ocean view that is one of the best on Kauai. Come early for a window seat and watch the surf crashing on the rocks while you study the menu. The food is simple, but they know how to do surf and turf. You can try both in one of several combo dinner platters or order fresh island fish and thick steaks individually. Meals

include salad bar. The restaurant is best known for its prime rib and Australian rack of lamb. Longtime visitors and locals love this place, which hasn't changed much in 30 years. Arrive early for the best seats.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

796 Kuhio Hwy., Kapaa, Hawaii, 96746, United States

Map It

Phone:

808-822–3791; 808-822–1655

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch

Updated 01/24/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Kauai

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 19, 2009

Bull Shed Review

My husband and I ate here our first night on the island because I had read the great reviews. Unfortunately we were not impressed, maybe because we were expecting much more from the rave reviews. We were lucky enough to get a ocean view table but by then it was dark so we could only hear the surf. Service was decent. It was not bad but once was enough.

By Rudedog

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 10, 2009

Bull Shed Review

Huge prime rib. Friendly staff. Show up about 5pm to ensure you get a window table. Awesome view with open window tables. Very reasonably priced for all the food you get.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 25, 2007

Awesome

Try the Prime Rib on the bone...AMAZING.

By aloha43

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 14, 2007

Excellent restaurant!

The Bull Shed is the one restaurant for us that is a must to go to, no matter what. We have been going there every year for the last 13 years, and wouldn't miss it for anything. ] The service has always been great and the food is excellent (especially the HUGE lobster which I order every time). The salad bar may have limited choices, but everything has always been fresh. The window seats are a must, as the view is gorgeous. We have never had

any trouble getting a window seat, or any kind of rudeness from the staff. May 07, we'll be back! Thank you Bull Shed.

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2006

The Bullshed Is Excellent

We arrived right at opening time and asked for a window table. we were seated at a central table and told to wait a few minutes. About 5-8 minutes later we were escorted to a choice window table. It was a beautiful evening so we opened the window to let the breeze in. Our waitress was very polite and helpful. I ordered the prime rib. It was one of the best prime that I have had, and definitely the biggest. It was a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

I will be back.

Read More

By Beth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 30, 2005

did not feel welcome

I happened to be dining alone one night and have never felt so unwelcome at a restaurant. I felt they were totally uninterested whether I stayed there or not. I left before ordering anything. Would not go back.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 14, 2004

Don't Fail To Miss This Place

Eat here is you're an asshole and like to be surrounded by people just like yourself! My wife and I walked in about 30 minutes prior to restaurant opening for dinner. Staff member took our name and invited us to "sit anywhere." Walked to the tables near the windows and was told we couldn't sit there. Walked up one level and told we couldn't sit there, either. Walked over to the bar and was told we couldn't sit in the seats we chose because they were

being set up for regulars. Moved to the other end of the bar and was told the same thing about THOSE seats. Sat in the middle and quickly found we were under a just-watered plant. Decided this dump didn't need my money or patronage. Left and WILL NO GO BACK. Ate at Bubba's Burgers, which was just a little further down the street. Friendlier people working there and they definitely didn't hold seats for regulars or care where we sat. I recommend them, highly.

Read More

By Maria

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 3, 2004

Disgusting!

Were it not for its oceanfront setting, this restaurant would have closed years ago. While the wait staff is friendly and somewhat knowledgable about the menu (how hard is it to describe teriyaki steak?), the food is mediocre, the salad bar is frozen peas and wilted lettuce, and the food is less than stellar. Go for a drink, then go to the nearby Coconuts or Pacific Cafe or Wahoo for dinner.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 13, 2003

Buffaloed at Bull Shed

Shocked. Salad bar poor. Service indifferent. Food was cold and tired. Way, way over priced. No view for most tables.

By Treesa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2003

Service is poor...

Service was so inattentive that I really did not enjoy the food which was OK. I will not patronize the establishment in the future.

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 3, 2003

Great Mai Tai's

The prime rib and ono were excellent. You could actually taste the liquor in the mai tai's. Mud pie was pretty good also. The location of our table wasn't the best, but all in all, we liked this place alot.

By Kal

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 5, 2002

Barry Bonds didn't hit a home run every time up either

My garlic steak was excellent as usual but the fish was waaay over cooked, the prime rib was cold and the sea scallops were "gritty". Service was spotty for the first time as we've been there on other New Year's Eves and never had a problem. Other than that, the view was spectacular.

By Carl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 30, 2001

Nothing sheddy about this place!

Good grill food. Try the rack of lamb & garlic steak! Small, but excellent menu including sea foods. Decent salad bar. Bar, while u wait for your table if u forgot to make reservations. Right on waters edge. Keep the seaside windows closed, unless, you want your food salty. Beautiful view of the sand & sea. Quick & friendly service. VALUE!

By Mandi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 28, 2001

not a must

Food was alright, view of the ocean was great. Salad bar is worth skipping

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement