Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Big Island Restaurants

Coast Grille at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Updated 01/06/2014

Fodor's Review

Coast Grille at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel. This open-air restaurant has high ceilings and a lanai that overlooks the pool and beach. American bistro-style dishes showcase the bounty of Big Island ingredients, including fresh Kona shrimp and lobster (raised at the Natural Energy Lab), seasonal fresh oysters, and other specially prepared seafood. A Friday alternative (the restaurant is closed on Friday and Saturday) is the Let's Go Crabbing night at the hotel's Ocean

Terrace; a splendid buffet comes with everything from steamed Manilla clams and soft-shell crab tempura to crab-and-corn bisque and a full salad bar. Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, 62-100 Kaunaoa Dr., Kohala Coast, HI, 96743. 808/880–1111. www.princeresortshawaii.com. Closed Fri. and Sat. No lunch.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, 62-100 Kaunaoa Dr., Kohala Coast, Hawaii, 96743, United States

Map It

Phone:

808-880–1111

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Fri. and Sat. No lunch

Updated 01/06/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Big Island

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 19, 2008

Not Bad, but for these prices...

My husband and I had a very nice dinner here - the service was fine, and the view was spectacular. We thought the food was very good, but it lacked that certain "wow" factor you might expect given the prices. We had a far more delicious meal the next night at a local restaurant in the nearby town of Kawaihe (and for half the price).

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 4, 2006

Worst Dining on the Big Island

My wife and I expected a romantic dining experience but would have been better off going to McDonalds. The waiter did not know the menu and told us he hated his boss. My wife described her food as gross. The sauce on her fish was tomato ketchup although it was billed as a specialty sauce. To top it off, they tried to charge us for refills on coke. I didn't expect to be nickeled and dimed at an "elegant" restaurant.

By Phil

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 4, 2005

Hawaiian nouvelle cuisine?

You'll love it if you are a daring original . I had a hard time appreciating the multitude of textures,flavors,spices at the same time. No outside seating due to heavy rain. Best part was the dessert sampler plate and hot chocolate cake !

By Carlos

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 19, 2004

Great Food and Great Setting

We arrived about half an hour before sunset and sat at the outside tables. Had an excellent meal which included fresh fish, great shrimp and good desserts. A bit pricey and service was slow but attentive.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 20, 2003

Good food; poor service

Good food, but clearly not the best on the Big Island. We ate at Merrimans and the Canoe House and preferred both to the Coast Grille. Food was good, with prices that are in-line with similar upscale restaurants. Nice ocean views, but not as good as the Canoe House or even the Kamuela Provisioning Company at the Hilton Waikoloa Village. We found service quite poor. Waiter was inattentive throughout the meal and he somehow managed to process another

table's bill with our credit card. Took over 20 minutes to correct this. Would not return here because of the poor service.

Read More

By Allison

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 6, 2002

Excellent seafood in a beautiful casual environment

Two of our best meals in Hawaii were dinners at the Coast Grille. It's a lovely restaurant with excellent specials. The service is friendly but not always top-notch smooth.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement