Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Florida Keys Restaurants

Mrs. Mac's Kitchen

Updated 05/12/2014

Fodor's Review

Townies pack the counters and booths at this tiny eatery, where license plates are stuck on the walls and made into chandeliers, for everything from blackened prime rib to crab cakes. Every night is themed including Meatloaf Mondays, Italian Wednesdays, and Seafood Sensation (offered Friday and Saturday). There's also a champagne breakfast (at this original location) and an assortment of tasty Angus beef burgers, sandwiches, a famous chili, and key lime freeze (a tangy

concoction somewhere between a shake and a float). In season, ask about the hogfish special du jour. A second location, Mrs. Mac's Kitchen 2, is located half a mile south on the Overseas Highway (99020 Overseas Hwy., MM99 Center), also in Key Largo. The newer location offers a similar menu, a full bar, and double the seating space. It's also kid-friendly.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

MM 99.4 BS, 99336 Overseas Hwy., Key Largo, Florida, 33037, USA

Map It

Phone:

305-451–3722; 305-451-6227

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed Sun.

Updated 05/12/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Ray

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2006

but then, the keys are no place to be in a hurry

We've been to Mrs. Mac's numerous times and have loved it and thought the value was in line for the location. For "old keys" atmosphere you can't beat it. Don't forget about the back room if your party needs more space (the front often looks crowded while there may be empty tables in back). I've always found the speed of service acceptable and would remind readers that if you are in a hurry, go to New York. If you want good food at a fair price

in a cool atmosphere with stuff stuck on the walls that doesn't come from a giant A**lebees warehouse somewhere then go to Mr's. Mac's

Read More

By Vinny

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 27, 2006

Definitely Keysy

We always read the restaurant reviews in one of the weekly newspapers (Key Largo Weekly, Islamorada Weekly, etc.) and have never been disappointed. Mrs. Mac's was right on the money, giving us the down-home, laid-back, rustic / Keysy atmosphere we came to the Keys for!

By Cindy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 21, 2005

Don't mess with the owner!!

The first time we stopped we couldn't get waited on (we were too hungry so we left) and on a return trip the food was awful. The conch in the chowder had the consistency of a rubber band and how in the world anybody could screw up a deep fried meal of chicken strips and french fries is beyond me. The chicken was over done and the french fries were "under done". I mentioned to the server that the meal was pretty bad - he turned it over to the owner,

and the woman went off!! She was so loud we just wanted out of there so we paid the tab and left the tip (both which we planned on doing anyway) and got the h**l out of Dodge. This wasn't a scam to get out of the bill, it was just an observation. We usually go to Key Largo at least once a year but we surely won't be back there for a meal.

Read More

By Stevie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 22, 2004

Eat with the Locals

Well prepared food at a very reasonable price. I ate at Mrs. Mac's twice during a recent stay in Key Largo. The fish trio was perfectly cooked and the shrimp scampi was very tasty. Unexpected were the romaine and sprouts in the salad. The Key Lime Pie was superb. Great value.

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 14, 2002

Yuck!

We ate at Mrs. Mac's Kitchen for breakfast and hated it. The hash browns were like those served at McDonalds. The place was so dusty and hot, I'd skip it if I were you.

By Flex

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 5, 2002

If it's too hot, go into the "Kitchen".

Great every time. Never miss it when I'm in the keys. PJ's dolphin is always fresh and grilled just right.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement