Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Florida Keys Restaurants

Café Solé

  • 1029 Southard St. Map It
  • $$$
  • French

Updated 05/12/2014

Fodor's Review

This little corner of France hides behind a high wall in a residential neighborhood. Inside, French training intertwines with local ingredients, creating delicious takes on classics, including a must-try conch Carpaccio, yellowtail snapper with mango salsa, and some of the best bouillabaisse that you'll find outside of Marseilles. Hog snapper, a.k.a. hogfish, is a house specialty here, prepared several ways by Chef John Correa, including with beurre blanc or red pepper

custard sauce. From the land, there is filet mignon with a wild-mushroom demi-glaze. Lunch is served from 11 to 2, dinner from 5 to 10.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

1029 Southard St., Key West, Florida, 33040, USA

Map It

Phone:

305-294–0230

Website: www.cafesole.com

Restaurant Details:

  • Reservations essential

Updated 05/12/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 3, 2007

Yes, it has slipped

We used to dine here every trip to KW, but no longer. Not as good as it used to be.

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 31, 2005

Pre - Theatre dinner is a good deal

$24,95 for three courses between 5:30 and 6:30 PM - man are the same as featrued on the neun anbd you get an appetizer, salad or soup, with key lime ie for dessert. Entrees come with rice mashed pototaes, lima beans & canded carrots - were very good about perparingmy food to my specifications for my low cal diet. Nice outside didning are but no the smae since the big tree is gone - they had the wind drapes down which made the outdoor dingin feel

closed in.

Read More

By George

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 8, 2005

Go for the hog snapper

The food is excellent. You must try the hog snapper, the chef's signature entree.

By Angie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2004

Not what it used to be

On our first visit to Key West, we loved this place. On our next trip, we booked reservations for two nights and were anticipating some wonderful dinners. Service was bland, food ok, cats wandering around while we ate. We cancelled our second night reservation and dined at Mangoes, which was much better.

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 2, 2004

Owners getting too greedy . .

Based off my enjoyment of other restaurants in Key West, this one was horrible despite theri recent "best in Fla. restaurant" rating. Tables incredibly too tight to the point of no privacy when dining. Restaurant is small to begin with, the tightness just ruins it. Owners are trying to pack in too many customers. In addition, the night we went they scheduled a last minute group dinner that blew us right out of our reserved seating to the outside front

of the restaurant which was a very poor setting. We were promised a "sorry" from the owner which never happened. Even if the crowded event did not happen, there are plenty of other very nice restaurants in Key West where the food is excellent, and the seating enjoyable.

Read More

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 15, 2002

We must have come on a good night!

Given some of the previous comments, I guess we were lucky. The food was outstanding, and the service was fine. I would definitely eat here again.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 15, 2001

Over-priced and Over-raved

My wife had a good lobster bisque but I had an average tuna steak and some lackluster sides. Really, you'd cook better at home. After the meal Chef John came out to work the crowd and it was a little uncomfortable. He wasn't that entertaining and I wasn't happy with the food.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement