Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Francisco Restaurants

Tadich Grill

  • 240 California St. Map It
  • $$$
  • Seafood

Updated 04/30/2013

Fodor's Review

Locations and owners have changed more than once since this old-timer started as a coffee stand on the waterfront in 1849, but the crowds keep coming. Generations of regulars advise that simple grills, sautés, and panfries are the best choices. Dishes are very classic and straightforward. Try the Dungeness crab cocktail, crab Louie, and cioppino during crab season (usually November to May), the Pacific halibut between January and May, and iconic San Francisco sand dabs

year-round. Happily, the old-fashioned house-made tartar sauce doesn't change with the seasons. There's a long counter full of seating, a few tables, and the coveted private booths (complete with a bell to summon the waiter). A long line of business types at noon is inevitable (late afternoon can be a better time to swing by if possible). The crusty, white-coated waiters are a throwback to another time, and the old-school bartenders serve up martinis as good as the mollusks. Finish the night with the Tadich rice custard pudding, topped with bourbon hard sauce.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

240 California St., San Francisco, California, 94111, USA

Map It

Phone:

415-391–1849

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed Sun.
  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 04/30/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 11, 2012

Tadich Grill Review

Sad to say, this place is resting on its laurels. The seafood is nowhere near fresh - they served me octopus salad that had ice chunks throughout. My husband's cioppino had a musty-tasting sauce and rubbery seafood. Our waiter was huffy and impatient. Service at the bar is much better, and it's a lovely old-fashioned space, so it's a fun place to grab a cocktail. But I wish people would stop saying it's one of the best restaurants in town for seafood.

It's nothing of the sort. Our apartment is a few blocks away, and we never eat here.

Read More

By jharris

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 28, 2007

Best seafood in years!

My dinner was great and so was the service. The seafood was very fresh as you would expect in SFO. We will be going back every time we go to SFO. Only negative was that it was a bit loud but it is also a bar so to be expected.

By Daniel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 18, 2006

Great fresh fish (and bread)

Little dissapointed that the oldest restaurant in california is in a physically 40 year old building. Oh well - the food was good, and we went mid-afternoon so missed the crush. Definitely go with whatever the fresh fish choices are - they were fantastic.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2006

Waiter From Hell

This restaurant is an overpriced, overrated, tourist trap! We experienced the most arrogant, obnoxious, ill mannered waiter from hell, who took out his bad mood and personal issues on customers. The food was mediocre at best and way overpriced with most items being a la carte and portion sizes small. I precisely told the waiter I did not like mushroom sauces and a lot of butter and what does he bring me? A dish with a mushroom, butter sauce with grossly

undercooked vegetables. When asked for a wine list, the waiter David told me there was no wine list, only for us to discover a few moments later that the wine list was on the back of the menu! And, our complaints about the waiter resulted in little assistance or concern by the Manager Adam. About the only positive thing we can say about this restaurant is the bread was good. So, folks, avoid this restaurant unless all you want is bread, water, and bad service.

Read More

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2005

The Real San Francisco Treat

Friendly, knowledgeable waiters with the appropriate "attitude" add flavor to the wonderful seafood, trademark sourdough bread and daily specials. This is the memory of San Francisco that you will always treasure.

By Trisha

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 9, 2005

Ciopino Heaven

Eating at the oldest restaurant in San Francisco is a treat. Had a great waiter (Elbio) and wonderful seafood stew. Worth waiting for a table.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2004

It doesn't get worse

I love old restaurants with 75 year old waiters, wooden booths, and ancient floors. Tadich has this...but that is all. At lunch there is a huge wait but not at dinner. No matter: the rude service, poor, indifferent cooking of good ingredients and a general air of "who needs you" has been the same for decades. This success of the place remains a mystery to me. Try Sams: same stick, better food and service.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 14, 2003

Crabs: Seafood and Waiters Were Great

My return after 40 years and my wife's first visit. Really good food. Best crab meat in salad that we have every tasted. Did not order fancy dishes - good strategy here. Bread pudding was wonderful and unusual. Will return next time in SF.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2003

If it ain't broke--don't fix it !!!

Was last here 25 years ago--deja vu all over again. The fod is good-not great, but the atmosphere more than makes up for it. Bustling, noisy, hustling waiters, (a couple of whom I would swear were there on my last visit), rewasonable prices. This place is a treasure.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 17, 2001

Original "Cold Day Restaurant"? Yes. Good? Well, not really...

Here's one place that has a reputation that far out-strips its reality. Atmosphere? Kinda. Value. Yeah, everyone will agree that what this country really needs is a good $5 martini, made by barkeeps who know what they're doing. The food? Blah. The seafood is anything but special here. Like razor-thin swordfish? You'll love it here! The fries are great, I have to admit. And the service? It would be hard to imagine a place that cares less.

Their motto: keep movin', Bud. If you miss this place while in San Francisco, you're not missing much...

Read More

By Phil

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 14, 2001

A Trip Back in Time to Old San Francisco

Nothing has changed at Tadich in the nearly 30 years I have been traveling to San Francisco and eating there on every trip. The decor, atmosphere, food , and even some of the waiters are the same. If you are looking for decent grilled and very fresh seafood,presented with little pretense and a true devotion the San Francisco of days past, this is a restaurant for you. Be prepared for long waits even if you are willing to eat at the bar. If you enjoy

some things never changing, the wait will be worth it.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement