Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Francisco Restaurants

Yank Sing

Updated 05/05/2014

Fodor's Review

The granddaddy of local dim sum teahouses opened in a plain-Jane storefront in Chinatown in 1959 but left its Cantonese neighbors behind for the high-rises of downtown in the 1970s. This brightly decorated location on quiet Stevenson Street—there's also a big, brassy branch in the Rincon Center—serves some of San Francisco's best dim sum to office workers on weekdays and boisterous families on weekends. The several dozen varieties of dim sum prepared daily include

both the classic (steamed pork buns, shrimp dumplings, egg custard tartlets) and the creative (scallion-skewered prawns tied with bacon, lobster and tobiko roe dumplings, basil seafood dumplings). The Shanghai soup dumplings are perfection. Staffers pushing food carts whiz by tables constantly, and the tab can rise quickly, so pace yourself. The take-out counter makes a meal on the run a satisfying and penny-wise compromise when office duties—or touring—won't wait.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

49 Stevenson St., San Francisco, California, 94105, USA

Map It

Phone:

415-541–4949

Website: www.yanksing.com

Restaurant Details:

  • No dinner

Updated 05/05/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Lexma90

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 25, 2009

Yank Sing Review

We go to Yank Sing every time we visit San Francisco. It provides good-quality dim sum, a variety of dim sum that's good enough for us - while we eat dim sum several times a year, we're no experts - in a clean, pleasant restaurant. If you time it right, there's little or no wait for a table. It's always a fun experience, and our kids enjoy it too.

By Kara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 24, 2004

A good experience

This was my first time having Dim Sum and I really enjoyed it. The carts came around almost too fast to take it all in though. We were at the Stevenson St location on a Saturday and they were not overly busy. Be careful- two of us racked up a tab over $60 easily. Save room for mango pudding! Yum!

By Marjo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 24, 2003

Yank Sing is our FAVORITE restaurant in San Francisco- and we live here!

Yank Sing's dim sum is the best in The City. We have been "regulars" for more than 20 years. We have our "dim sum fix" at least every 2 months. Make reservations, especially on weelends!

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 8, 2001

Fun Dim Sum

First time in SF, had to try Dim Sum, went because of the reputation. Was not disapointed, although we ended up spending 45.00 on this pricy food. Well worth the price, great service with a smile, though my chopstick skills were less than desired. :)

By Keith

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2001

Best Dim Sum in SF

Wonderful food, lots of choices, kind of a loud atmosphere but the food makes up for it. We ate in the new Rincon Center and it was very classy. One caution - you can get carried away with the food choices and the dishes add up to a tidy sum very quickly.

By Phyllis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 21, 2000

Worth the $8 to park the car

First thing on the cart when we were seated was the most divine asparagus spears. More goodies to come. One drawback: very noisy!

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2000

The early bird avoids the crowds...

We met friends here at 11:30 for lunch. What an excellent idea that was! My first experience with dim sum, I must admit, and it was a lot of fun. This place really gets hectic as the lunch crowd descends, but we weren't pushed or hurried in anyway, and that was very nice. What a lovely, social way to meet someone you've not seen for years. Dim sum. It's much more than just lunch!

By Connie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 3, 2000

Pricey for Chinese but Inventive

Good place for dim sum, the usual morsels and some inventive ones too. A litltle pricey for Chinese food, but it is good.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement