Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Los Angeles Sights

Universal Studios Hollywood

  • 100 Universal City Pl. Map It
  • Film Studio

Updated 03/31/2014

Fodor's Review

This studio is more a theme park with lots of roller coasters and thrill rides than a backstage pass, though its studio tour does provide a good firsthand look at familiar TV and movie sets. Despite the amusement park clichés, many first-timers consider this studio a must-see. The favorite attraction is the tram tour, during which you can experience the parting of the Red Sea; duck from dinosaurs in Jurassic Park; visit Dr. Seuss's Whoville; see the airplane wreckage

of War of the Worlds and the still-creepy house from Psycho; and be attacked by the killer shark of Jaws fame. Monitors play video clips as you pass. This tram ride is usually the best place to begin your visit, since lines get long in the afternoon. If you get here when the park opens, you'll likely save yourself from long waits.

Most attractions are designed to give you a thrill in one form or another, including the spine-tingling Transformers: The Ride 3-D ride or the bone-rattling roller coaster Revenge of the Mummy. The House of Horrors is guaranteed to provide screams, while the Animal Actors show offers milder entertainment courtesy of some talented furry friends. The Simpsons Ride takes on a hair-raising animated journey through their hometown of Springfield. Looking for something for grown-ups? CityWalk is a separate venue run by Universal Studios where you’ll find shops, restaurants, nightclubs, and movie theaters.

Read More

Sight Information

Address:

100 Universal City Pl., Los Angeles, California, 91608, USA

Map It

Phone:

818-622–3801

Sight Details:

  • $84, parking $15 ($10 after 3)
  • Contact park for seasonal hrs

Updated 03/31/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all sights in Los Angeles

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Daniel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 14, 2005

Had a Really Nice Time

My son and I spent the day together at Universal Studios Hollywood. It was great. We hopped right on the rides, into attractions, got a table to eat, everthing. It was really nice. There were a lot of a great rides and shows. My sons favorite ride was Jurassic Park. The people that worked there were very nice & helpful. Overall we had a great experience and wound up getting us annual passes. Were looking forward to going again soon.

By Johnny

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 6, 2005

Amazing

I loved the Revenge of the Mummy rollercoaster. It was wild. The speed was great. Saw Russel Crowe durring the Cinderella Man movie premier. My wife and I had a great time!

By Jack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 27, 2005

Universal Studios-Dream Come True

Universal Studios is a dream come true. Honestly, I felt like I was ten years old again, running from ride to ride and screaming my head off all day long. Word of advice: get the front of the line pass. It is one of the most wonderful inventions ever and will make your trip that much more special. My girlfriend and I zipped to the front of every line and went on every ride at least five times. My favorites were the Mummy and Jurassic Park (they

were truly frightening), although I have to say the tram ride was pretty amazing. From Jaws to the Bates Motel to earthquakes, you really get a feel for what its like to be in the movies. Back to the Future also rocked my world; this ride is worth the ticket price alone. The Van Helsing maze wasn't what I was expectingit's a very detailed walk through, but not a ride. I was hoping for something else, more like the Jurassic Park ride. But then again nothing can compete with Jurassic Park and the feeling you get dropping nearly one hundred feet with fifteen other screaming people. There are also tons of great shows: Blues Brothers, Water World (this is a must!), and Animal Planet. For those of you who are planning to visit this summer, definitely check out Fear Factor Livethere was a coming soon sign for it when we there...we were sad we missed it. And dont forget your camera because this is an experience you will always want to remember!

Read More

By Amanda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 18, 2005

Highly Recommended!

Universal Studios Hollywood was great! My husband and I visited with out teens this spring (2005). On the studio tour we went on the set of the new Tom Cruise movie War of the Worlds. We also saw the sets of Pirates of the Caribbean, Jurassic Park, Austin Powers, Gladiator and Back to the Future. Universal also has many rides and shows. My kids loved the Back to the Future ride and the huge drop on Jurassic Park. My only complaint is that, like any

theme park, the food was expensive. Instead we just walked next door to Universal Citywalk where they have many restaurants and quick food at regular prices. All in all, my family really enjoyed Universal Studios and would definitely go back.

Read More

By Mallory

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 17, 2005

Fun for all Ages

All kids enjoy going behind the scenes on there favorite movies! It was a blast for all of us!

By Emily

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 11, 2003

Not for babies, but fun

I found Universal Studios to be very fun. There is a HUGE escalator that splits the park, however that makes the park more friendly to the able-bodied and young. I found there to be a lot of walking for the number of attractions at Universal. My favorite attraction was "backdraft" - where they lead a group of 70 or so people in to a room and basically surround you with fire. They give a little documentary presentation on the making of the movie

backdraft. It was neat, but not for kids or the faint of heart. The ET ride is a great place to go on a hot day because it's VERY air conditioned in there. It's neat and reminds me some of Peter Pan's Flight at Disneyland. The must see attraction for all, though, is the backlot tour. You will see The Bates Motel, city hall from Back to the Future, a flash flood, an earthquake, King King and Jaws. It's fun, but again, not for kids. This park is better for kids about 7 or 8 and up. Skip it if your kids are young - go to Disneyland or Legoland with the little ones.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Experience

Ease

Value

Don't Miss

Advertisement