Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Los Cabos Hotels

Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

  • Hwy. 1, Km 22.5 Map It
  • $
  • Trusted Brand

Pros

  • Good children's center
  • Great gym with yoga and Pilates classes
  • Multiple pools including an adults-only option
  • Every room has an ocean view

Cons

  • It's a trek from the parking lot and lobby to the rooms and pools
  • Lots of groups
  • Daily Internet surcharge

Updated 08/14/2014

Fodor's Review

Built by prominent Mexican artist Javier Sordo Madaleno, the colorful design and architecture reflecting the famous Arco (arch) makes this Westin more memorable than some of the others in the Corridor. The rooms, some set high above the beach, are among the best in their price range and have ocean views and Westin's trademark Heavenly Beds with cushy pillows and comforters. Junior suites have balcony Jacuzzis, marble floors, extra pullout beds, and connecting rooms for

families or larger parties. For the best view, request a "Royal" room over the top of the arch, which includes a private beach club, cocktails, and breakfast. The dramatic setting of the hotel means you'll get plenty of exercise moving from one area to another, which is good for some and less appealing for others. The restaurants receive mixed reviews, with most leaning toward the expensive but mediocre in terms of satisfaction.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Hwy. 1, Km 22.5, The Corridor, Baja California Sur, 23400, Mexico

Map It

Phone:

624-142–9000; 888-625–5144-in U.S.

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 243 rooms, 12 suites
  • No meals

Updated 08/14/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Los Cabos

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 4, 2007

you can have cheaper but you get what you pay for

I have stayed numerous places and the Westin is tops. Yes it is in the middle of the two cities but that's the point. I have always had excellent service, loved the buffet here, and enjoying watching the whales migrating. I pay more but I have always gotten what I have paid for.

By Corky

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 29, 2005

Resort, not ready for a Real Resort

Poor service, birds flying in the buffet area, ants swarming aroung the fruit, just did not set well with us at $14.95 pp for a dried up breakfast buffet at 10 a.m. TVs were out and being repaired without any advance notice to guests. Captured guests with a $55 seafood buffet that really there was no way to eat $55 dollars worth of grilled lobsters. Noisy doors slamming during the night due to high winds, and we did get notice that no phone service

for a day or so. Beautiful views of the Sea of Cortez and the Pacific Ocean, however, you are captured in this place and unable to walk out. You could pay $24 a couple to go into the small, but new mall in San Lucas. Noted serveral repairs with the structure (cracks in cement walls and walks and ceilings that needed repair), rooms were nice and comfy, except needed more attention to cleaning sand (not ours), dead bugs in the bathroom and shower (hairpen not mine was there the entire 6 nights). Very expensive for the quality of food, room, and activities. Putt tuff golf area needed upgraded, and cracks around the pool areas. Waiters, maids, and employees were all very nice, friendly, and helpful. Take in the timeshares for better bargains on shuttles to town.

Read More

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 14, 2005

Nice, but isolated (which can be both good and bad)

Stayed in a beach club room a couple of years ago. Large room with nice ocean view. Several pools and restaurants. About 15 min ride into Cabo.

By Candace

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 23, 2005

Cabo's finest for Rest, Relaxation, and Ultimate Service

We have stayed at this resort in Cabo four times. After having visted other locations, none can top the privacy, the service, and the awesome views. From sunrise to sunset, a view of whales frolicking as they migrate is the norm, not the exception. The staff is always extremely professional, friendly, and courteous. This is not a "party" resort, but a first class vacation experience!! The rooms are immaculate and well-appointed. We hope they

don't change a thing!!

Read More

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2005

Nice but tired

Hotel is nice, but starting to get tired. Really fun to see the whales pay while sitting on the beach!

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 11, 2005

Best Stretch of Beach in the Corridor

I stayed with my family at the Westin in a double room which was more than sufficient for 3 people spending little time indoors, and every room has an ocean view, no need to rent that suite. The rooms were quite spacious, the bathrooms were downright luxurious with larger tub and glassed-in shower. The hotel is, by all accounts, spectacular in its architecture and location. Set far back from the highway, it sits on the best stretch of beach in the

Corridor (the road between San Jose Del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas, where all the resorts are). Be warned, the beach is absolutely off-limits to swimming due to the extreme currents that run right offshore - this rule is strictly enforced with a guard posted on the beach to keep bathers out of the water. You can lay out on the beach and one of the cabana attendants are happy to bring you a deck chair, umbrella and cold beverages all afternoon. The pools are spectacular and it was very hot there so we spent alot of time in them. There are tons of activities through the hotel, parasailing, jeep tours, kayaking, snorkeling and lots more. The food leaves something to be desired and is extremely expensive, try leaving the hotel and going into town to experience authentic Mexican cuisine. We were disappointed to find a solidly American menu when we were looking for a bit of local flavor. All in all it was a wonderful trip, the hotel is a large, chain hotel but did its very best to give guests a special and unique experience. I would definitely recommend this to anyone but next time I go, I think I'll opt for one of the smaller, boutique resorts to get a more authentic Mexican vacation.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement