Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Amsterdam Restaurants

Kantjil & de Tijger

  • Spuistraat 291–293 Map It
  • $$$
  • Indonesian

Updated 08/25/2012

Fodor's Review

Although you can order à la carte at this large and spacious Indonesian restaurant, the menu is based on four different rijsttafel (rice tables), with an abundance of meat, fish, and vegetable options, all varying in flavor from coconut-milk sweet to distressingly spicy (the light local witbier beer is an excellent antidote). You can also choose to hit their to-go counter around the corner (Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 352) for cheap noodles.

Restaurant Information

Address:

Spuistraat 291–293, Amsterdam, 1012VS, Netherlands

Map It

Phone:

020-620–0994

Website: www.kantjil.nl

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations essential

Updated 08/25/2012

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Amsterdam

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2009

Made me like Indonesian food!

Kanjil is a great restuarant especially for groups because you can eat order a few things a la carte. The rice tables are delicious but were a lot of food for me! I am a vegetarian and never tried Indonesian food before, and Kanjil is one of my favorite restaurants. I highly recommend getting out there and trying this great spot. It's also near a lot of fun bars to go afterwards!

By Iain

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 11, 2005

Rijstaffel Central!

This is renowned as one of Amsterdam's most authentic Indonesian restaurants, even if it's not the prettiest. The rijstaffel is what it's all about, and there are a choice of 3, the smallest only has 11 dishes! It gets very busy, and service can sometimes suffer because of that, but it's not usually so bad. Best to book ahead though.

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2003

an experience not to be missed

To be fair, the service and food at Kantjil are average at best, but for people not used to eating spicy asian food it's a great option. The atmosphere is excellent, but the service usually ranges on the low end of average - slow and robotic. There may be better rijsttaffel in Amsterdam, but I haven't found it in over 50 trips....

By Henry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 25, 2003

a good, down-to-earth Indonesian joint

We visited in late April, 2003 based on Frommer's review, ordered the l4-dish rijstafel (sp?) and enjoyed it. However, as it was too much for two, even big eaters, take an abbreviated, mini-rijstafel selection and you'll be better off, especially during the dollar's weakness. Plenty of places offer such. The place was on several, major tram lines from the Central Station and the Leidseplein (where we stayed at the Crowne Plaza American Hotel) and,

so, convenient. Interior was busy, crowded, but OK, as were the waitresses who were tough to catch. Crowd equally divided twixt locals and tourists. Pro-smoking policy good. Food was both tasty and generous and they rolled us out, but less would have been OK too. Wines generally poor there and throughout Holland if you like Chardonnays, but the beer was good. All, in all, recommended but choose smaller portions or share them. After all, the buck isn't worth as much these days.

Read More

By Daniel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 18, 2001

Great place...lousy food

Well let me be fair. This food is extremely westernized. That's why a lot of people call it bland. Rijsttafel is a dutch invention of serving indonesian cuisine. A lot of small portions of different dishes. But in Kantjil they have done this to the utmost extreme. What you are eating here is a fusion of dutch(Bland) and indonesian cooking in the worse way. For rijsttafel there are better restaurants. Raden Mas or Indonesia. But the place is very

lively and busy. Strange because it is not cheap, but that's the same for most of the indonesian restaurants.

Read More

By Alan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2001

Fun place; Good food

Good, interesting food and a fun people watching atmosphere. This was my first time at this cuisine, so I'm no expert, but I would definitely go back.

By Louise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 2, 2001

Great rice table!

We went here for our last meal in Amsterdam and were delighted with the generous rice table selection. At least 12 different dishes were presented, much more than the 3 of us could finish (know we only ordered the platter for 2). The food was very well prepared and although the service was slow at times (they got terribly busy), our server was friendly and seemed sincere about pleasing us. Would recommend it highly.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2001

Waitress had hair on fire, but did commendable job!

This is a very popular, very busy restaurant that was everything it was hyped up to be. My only complaint was that it was a little loud, but considering what they put on the table, it is understandable. We had the rastaffel, which is where they throw about 10 plates of food on your table and dare you to eat it all. We did.

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2000

Good party resturant

Some excellent Indonesian dishes, one does miss the options offered by the rijsttafel (basically a banquest menu).

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 5, 2000

Rijsttafel was delicious

Basically a cafe, with Dutch staff. (Not much Indonesian atmosphere is what I'm trying to say.) But good, plentiful, exotic food at a good price.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement