Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Venice Hotels

Hotel Giorgione

  • Cannaregio 4587 Map It
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Family-run
  • Unique ambience
  • Elegant garden

Cons

  • No canal views

Updated 11/13/2013

Fodor's Review

Comfortably appointed rooms in a quiet corner of Cannaregio charm guests with their traditional Venetian fabric and furnishings, along with the original terrazzo flooring, gracious courtyard and marble fountain, fanciful Murano chandeliers, and billiard salon. Rooms vary considerably in size and have either rooftop or courtyard views, so book early and ask about the size and view. The staff is professional and helpful, and offer guests classic and unusual itineraries of

the city. The location is convenient for exploring in any direction. Seasonal refreshments are offered each afternoon.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Off Campo Santi Apostoli, Cannaregio 4587, Venice, 30121, Italy

Map It

Phone:

041-5225810

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 76 rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 11/13/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Venice

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Lexma90

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 18, 2009

Hotel Giorgione Review

We love this location on the edge of the Cannaregio. About a 15-minute walk to Piazza San Marco, but out of the tourist fray. There's a nice little pasticceria down the street, and the cafe in the nearby campo seems to have more locals than tourists, which is nice. The rooms are nicely decorated and well-kept. We stayed in a deluxe double on one trip, and it was spacious. The bathrooms are all modern and luxurious. The breakfast area is

especially nice, having both an interior space and an outdoor space around a fountain in the courtyard. The quality and variety of food is extensive.

Read More

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 5, 2003

good value for Venice

We last stayed there in March 2002 and found it as good as in past two years when we visited. We have booked to stay again this March and find the prices are somewhat higher. We like the mini suites, but are always a little dissapointed that the two best suites never seem to be available. Helpful staff and good brakfasts in pleasant surroundings. A good hotel if you do not want to spend silly money in Venice! Cant think what happened to the person

who only gave it one's, we have stayed in some of the best 5+ star hotels in Europe and although it is not super luxury, it is clean and good value. Although it is located away from San Marco area it is close by other interesting areas which are in the true 'Venician'style. Some good restaurants nearbye, but not the one next to the hotel as this is very basic.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2002

romance, style, and service!

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights of our Italian Honeymoon and loved it! We were greeted with complimentary champagne the night of our arrival and wonderful service overall. The front desk staff even went above and beyond to help us find contact information for a friend of ours stationed nearby in the military. The free internet access and pool table were great, the breakfast hearty, and location off the grand canal excellent. We often

grabbed a snack from the front desk fruit bowl and I have to put a plug in the wonderful restaraunt, flower shop, and sinful pastry shop all within 50 feet of the front door of the Giogione! My husband's parents even emailed us a welcome to Italy message and congrats on our wedding and the staff delivered it to us upon check in!

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 23, 2002

Just got back (9/02) !

Had a great stay (9/02). Staff was helpful, bathroom was great (best one in our Rome - Florence - Venice) trip. Free internet access in game room was great. Free breakfast was good and location close to most all Venice attractions/water taxis'. Was a great stay to end our Italy vacation with. Loved it.

By Claudia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 29, 2002

Run away as fast as you can

If you are used to staying at four star hotels don't believe the stars associated with this establishment. We couldn't belive how small the family room was, how tiny and smelly the bathroom was and how dusty and run down the entire hotel was. Nothing like it looks on the internet. We stayed for fifteen minutes, paid for the night, and ran to another hotel. When I contacted the hotel later they were of little help and lied about what happened. Don't

get stuck at this hotel!!!!

Read More

By Denise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 24, 2002

Great Value & Charm in Venezia

Our stay at the Giorgione was absolutely delightful. Our room was spacious and charming, and the location can't be beat. The hotel has a beautiful, picturesque courtyard where you can have breakfast (a large brunch-type buffet) and drinks in the evening. The staff were friendly and arranged a reasonably priced boat to pick us up and take us back to the train station, and a tour of the glass factory. Best of all, they have free internet access from

the gameroom. The room rates are very reasonable for Venice and having stayed at some other disappointing places for much more, we were very pleased with the Giorgione, and will return next time we're in Venezia.

Read More

By Melissa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 2, 2002

Excellent service, great location

The positive reviews posted on this site encouraged me to book this hotel for our Easter holidays and am I ever glad I took the advice! After a 7 hour drive during the night, we arrived with our 8-month old baby at 9am and the hotel staff kindly allowed us to check into our room immediately. The room was clean and spacious and the location of the hotel can't be beat: in a quiet local neighborhood where restaurant/bar prices are reasonable. I highly

recommend a stay at the Giorgione.

Read More

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 24, 2001

Satisfied Patron

My partner and I stayed at the Giorgione the Third week of November 2001. We paid a little extra for our superior room. It was still only about $140 a night. The hotel was a little hard to find, but once there, it proved to be a wonderful location. I had trouble regulating the heat in my room, and a bathroom light bulb went a day without being fixed. Despite these minor irritations, I would highly recommend the Giorgione at this price.

By Lily

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 29, 2001

Fabulous Giorgione

I stayed at the Giorgione in October 2000 and had a fabulous lofted room. When I arrived, there was a handwritten note and a large box of biscuits from the Management welcoming me to the hotel. The service was beyond excellent. The bellstaff, the front desk staff and the restaurant staff always went out of their way to meet my needs. They were also very friendly-- even at 5 a.m. when I had to catch a water taxi to catch an early flight. The buffet

breakfast is a huge feast. The location is ideal-- near the Ponte Rialto and a brief walk to St. Mark's.

Read More

By Jen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 17, 2001

Very unfriendly

Based on the recommendations I read on the Rants and Raves and the message boards, I cancelled an existing reservation at another hotel and re-booked at the Giorgione. What a mistake! I believe this hotel was recently bought out by Steigenberger and perhaps they have re-staffed, because the staff was very unfriendly and rude. The room was larger than some European hotels but in great need of dusting and airing out and was not "homey" at all. We

went out to dinner and left the Do Not Disturb sign on the door for security. When we returned the sign had been removed and placed on the bed by the night maids. The experience was so bad we left Venice the next day, earlier than our originally scheduled departure.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement