Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Venice Hotels

Hotel American–Dinesen

  • Dorsoduro 628 Map It
  • $$$
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • High degree of personal service
  • On a bright, quiet, exceptionally picturesque canal
  • Free Wi-Fi

Cons

  • No elevator
  • Rooms with a canal view are more expensive
  • Some rooms could stand refurbishing

Updated 11/13/2013

Fodor's Review

The exceptional service here will help you feel at home in spacious guest rooms furnished in Venetian brocade fabrics with lacquered Venetian-style furniture; some front rooms have terraces with canal views. A yellow stucco facade typical of Venetian houses welcomes you, and a hall decorated with reproduction antiques and Oriental rugs leads to a breakfast room reminiscent of a theater foyer, with red velvet chairs and gilt wall lamps. Although the four-story building

has no elevator, you'll have assistance with your luggage, if needed. Three adjacent apartments are also available.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

San Vio, Dorsoduro 628, Venice, 30123, Italy

Map It

Phone:

041-5204733

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 28 rooms, 2 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 11/13/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Rafael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 17, 2006

The gem of Venice quietly hidden away ,best describes this great small (only in its size Hotel)

I agree with all those who have given this hotel rave reviews.It was recommended to me by the reservation staff of a nearby,highly recommended hotel, because they were full when called for reservations.I shall shall always been in their debt.I travelled with my family(three rooms) and we were all extemely pleased with the ambiance, the service, the comfort,the cleanliness,and the location away from the noise and rush of the central tourit areas.Highly

recommended.Came back from Italy a week ago so the memory is fresh.

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 27, 2005

Marco & Staff were Excellent

Only negative was construction by hotel (my room) beginning early morning on 6/21 and cut-off of water service in the hotel due to some utility work outside on 6/20.

By Brenda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 29, 2004

Great First Impression of Venice

This was our first hotel during a two week Italy tour, Sept. 2002. We stayed 3 nights in a room with a balcony and the price is worth the amazing photos we took from that balcony. The room was pretty small, but comfortable; the bathroom was recently remodeled. The hotel is on a nice quiet canal; the Dorsoduro is great area; accessible to every thing you want to see in Venice. Nice public balcony in the back of the hotel on the 3rd(?) floor -

good place to sip wine in the early evening.

Read More

By Megan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2003

Americans do it best

I stayed at this hotel in June of 2003, and I thought it was fantastic. The rooms were beautifully decorated in antique furniture, the bathroom was large and marbled, and we had a small balcony looking onto the canal. The air conditioning kept us quite cool at night. I would love to stay here again.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2002

Excellent hotel

Great hotel in an excellent location.

By Lois

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2002

The American is molte bene!

We stayed at the American in October, 2002, on a trip to Milan, Rome, and Venice, and this was by far our favorite as well as the best value! If you stay here, ask for a canal view with a terrace. You can sleep in perfect peace with your doors open since the American is located on a side canal, the Rio Vio, and you wake up to see the red flowers growing in a window box on your terrace and the Venezian houses across the canal. Breakfast is included

and is served in a cozy breakfast room off the lobby, where you get a basket of bread on your table, a cup of cappucino, cheese, ham, boiled eggs, fruit, and a variety of fruit juices. There is a computer in the lobby where you have free access to the internet so you can check your email. The lobby is also a fun gathering place where you can get to know other guests. The location is very close to the Accademia Bridge and vaporetto stop. The hotel staff is very helpful with directions and suggestions of ristoranti in the area. The American is a small hotel and a great place to call home while in Venezia!

Read More

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 30, 2002

Much more Italian than American- thankfully

This is a beautiful hotel very near the Accademia Bridge but located on a wonderfully quiet side canel in a more residential area. I've stayed there three times and have always found the rooms clean, well appointed, and as large as any European hotel room. The newly renovated bathrooms are much better than anything else I've found in Italy and the views from the rooms are absolutely charming. An ample breakfast is included and a FREE internet connection

is a fantastic asset. All in all one of my favorites places to stay in Europe.

Read More

By Louis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2002

Nothing American about the American.

This hotel is absolutely charming. Room had just been renovated. It was large and very comfortable. Bathroom was excellent. Generous breakfast buffet. Location is perfect. Steps from Accademia vaporetto stop and Zaterre. Ten minute walk to San Marco via Ponte dell'Accademia.

By hunter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2002

happily ever after

we did'nt want to leave. as hard as we tried we could not find any faults after 4 days here. i don't know what hotel the folks who trashed the american stayed in. i've traveled around the world and it does'nt get any better than this. a great value! and no, i was'nt paid to say this. i'm just a tourist like you who works hard for his money, just like you do.

By Deb

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 13, 2001

Cheap ugly carpet just one of many problems

What a disappointment! The worst hotel we stayed at in all of Italy. We left a day early because we were so displeased but the staff still charged us for that night. Lame breakfast, smelly room, cheap carpet, horrible bathroom, stained walls, extremely hard bed...sad to pay 350,000 lire a night for this.

By Alan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2001

A Stone's Throw From The Grand Canal

This is a good mid priced hotel and ideal for two or three days in Venice. The American is very well located on a quiet canal, just 1 minute from the Grand Canal and 2 minutes from the Accademia Bridge and the vaperetto. The rooms are well appointed and typically small with A.C.,fridge and TV. The bathroom was tiny but even had a bidet squeezed in. The staff were very helpful arranging water taxis and restaurants. In summary small, clean, well located

and good value for Venice.

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2001

Shabby but not chic

We stayed at the American a couple of years ago and found our room to be very small and dirty, with a bathroom not much bigger than one you'd find on any airplane. Although the location was fabulous, the staff was indifferent, the breakfast the worst we had in Italy, and we were very glad we only stayed there one night. The rest of our time in Italy was fabulous!

By Theresa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 30, 2001

Great hotel!

Location is away from heavy Venice tourist area, but convenient enough to vaporetto stop (Americana) to get to any place you want to go. Practically next to the Peggy Guggenheim and the Americana museums. Conveniently close to markets, shopping and restaurants. You'll feel like a local! Great breakfast, fabulous bathroom, clean well appointed rooms, and the best air conditioning of our entire 3 week trip to Italy! They even let us check our email.

A bit more expensive than we usually pay, but we feel worth the higher price.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement