Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Florence Hotels

Hotel Silla

  • Via de' Renai 5 Map It
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • A Fodor's reader raves, "It's in the middle of everything except the crowds."

Cons

  • Some readers complain of street noise and too-small rooms

Updated 12/04/2013

Fodor's Review

Rooms in this 15th-century palazzo, entered through a courtyard lined with potted plants and sculpture-filled niches, are simply furnished and walls are papered; some have views of the Arno. Breakfast may be taken in a room that preserves an Empire feel (including two chandeliers from the early 19th century); when it's warm, a large, sunny terrace is the perfect place to read or to write that postcard.

Hotel Information

Address:

Via de' Renai 5, Florence, 50125, Italy

Map It

Phone:

055-2342888

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 35 rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 12/04/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Florence

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 2, 2010

Hotel Silla Review

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Silla for 5 days while visiting Florence. Its location was great - just across the Arno river in a quiet area, but within easy walking distance to all Florence sites of interest. The Hotel was spotless, our room very comfortable and an excellent breakfast on a comfortable and scenic terrace was included. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome to their

Hotel and city. We will definitely stay at Hotel Silla during our future visits to this wonderful city

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 18, 2010

Hotel Silla Review

We were driving into Florence so the fact that Hotel Silla was on the south side of the Arno and had a parking garage was the initial draw, however in our short stay we came to appreciate the location, the wonderful and helpful staff, and the great terrace where a very good breakfast buffet is served and which overlooks the Arno and a little park. A very good price, often internet specials, free internet and a loaner computer if you need one and

larger rooms than is typical for hotel in the historic area are all pluses. Our only complaint was that the pillows were too flat but that is often a personal preference. If you book and are driving be sure to print out the helpful directions at their website, something we forgot to do! Hotel Silla also is situated next store to a small grocery store so if you want to bring in provisions it couldn't be more convenient. Quiet for sleeping.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 17, 2010

Hotel Silla Review

We have stayed in five different hotels in Florence over the past 10 years, and our favorite by far is the Silla. This past New Years (2010) was our fourth stay at the Silla, which has become like a second home to us. The staff is very personable and helpful, the breakfast buffet suits us very well, and the support staff are quite gracious. We have only stayed in rooms 31, 32, & 33, which vary in size (31 is the largest), where the river views are

wonderful. Even if it’s raining you can gaze out the window at the panorama across the river. The public areas are small, but our goal in travelling is not to sit in hotel lobbies. While the location is not in the city core, you are still within walking distance, and the nearest bus stop is not far. But for us the location is virtually ideal because of what you find close by in the San Nicolo area: • Food: two of our favorite restaurants: I Tarocchi (pizza!) and Osteria Antica Mescita • Museums: the newly re-opened Bardini Museum and Casa Siviero • Churches: tiny San Nicolo is just around the corner, but straight across the Arno is Santa Croce • And if you need essentials, on the same block are a drug store, a grocery store, and a tabaccheria (for bus tickets). The location is ideal for early morning walks, up to San Miniato al Monte, or to Fort Belvedere, or across to the other side of the river. If you are into nightclubbing (we are not), there are a couple down the street. If you like to engage in people watching, Piazza Demidoff (with park benches) is directly in front of the hotel. Suggestion when booking: ask about available specials. But it’s the location and the people that keep us going back.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 15, 2007

Travelbound44

Very charming hotel away from all the tourists yet close to the action. The staff was extremely helpful. The continental breakfast was beyond expectations

By CarlDC

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 22, 2007

Florentine Value

A large room, excellent breakfast, exceptionally helpful reception, WiFi with loaner laptop if needed, walking to all Renaissance sights. All for 148 Euros May 07.

By chris

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 3, 2006

great location

great location. walk to all major sites and restaurants. there are some very large rooms that are very nice.

By Doris

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 29, 2006

Close but not crazy

We appreciated the fact that the Hotel Silla was in the middle of everything, except the crowds. . . close enough to walk to the museums, churches, Ponte Vecchio, adjacent to a park and on the bus line. We loved the breakfast garden patio where we also enjoyed a glass of wine at the end of the day. The staff couldn't have been more cordial and helpful.

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 22, 2006

Well located, Good value, Could Improve Delivery

Rooms are large, staff is quite friendly & helpful. two improvements would help: 1) Breakfast is "OK" and always the same. Diversity in offerings would help. 2) Their internet (wireless?) doesn't work!

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2006

Great Service excellent staff

this was our second time we stayed at this hotel, we stayed for 10 days, the staff was very helpful and the hotel is great.

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2006

Will return but lets keep it a secret

Excellent hotel, well run, very clean, and helpful staff. Little removed from downtown which made it quieter. Further to walk but good bus transportation close by. Spent two weeks in Italy, rate it best breakfest and best pricing.

By Michel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2006

I wish I stayed longer

We were looking for an hotel close to the Center and the Arno, we expected we would have to pay 200e or more. But we found Silla right on the river, close to the center. Grand entrance in this very old building, a warm welcome, English and French spoken. This is what we needed after a long fight. Rooms are quite small, very clean, overlooking the garden and quiet. Buffet breakfast is good and coffee excellent, the best part of the breakfast

is that you have it on a very nice terrace with a view on the river. For diner asked recommendations to the staff, again we were pleased. For those willing to pay a bit more, but who do not want to pay the prices in the Center, this is the perfect place. I would return anytime.

Read More

By marcy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 8, 2006

A lovely, quaint hotel in Florence

The Hotel Silla was excellent value. It was quaint and in a great location. The terrace was beautiful for breakfast and the breakfast was great. The room was clean however very basic. The room was a bit depressing since it was so somber. However, the staff was friendly and quite helpful. I would recomend the hotel to others.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2006

Great experience at Hotel Silla

My wife and I very much enjoyed our 4 night stay at Hotel Silla. The hotel is extremely well located just across the Arno and less than 10 minute walk from the Uffizzi. The area was quiet and the park in front of the hotel was very convenient. The property was very clean throughout and well maintained while we were there. The air conditioning was quite effective as well. The front desk staff in particular were very helpful. They were quick and

sincerely accomodating when asked to recommend and make bookings at the local museums and restaurant. All of their recommendations were excellent. One touch which my wife really enjoyed is that our room (#31) had a rocking chair. The rooftop terrace for breakfast was very pleasant, but the buffet could be improved. At 120 euro per night, we felt that it was a good value compared to the other hotels we stayed at during our two week trip to Italy.

Read More

By Dan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 27, 2006

Fabulous!

Absolutely Wonderful! Hotel Silla and its staff are the most caring group of individuals that I have ever experienced! They made my first visit to the beautiful city of Florence most memorable! The staff was more than willing to help out in anyway whether it be with directions or the best venues to dine at.....and those selections were great! They were extremely helpful prior to my arrival too, doing what ever it took to have things in order! The

hotel itself is darling.....well cared for as well. What a treat as well to find Mrs. Avellino Silla, the owner there as well....see is very sweet! The breakfast buffet was lovely as well along with the waitstaff. There is a lovely terrace to enjoy once after you have visited the sites and are looking to relax....it's planted with blooming flowers, which adds to the experience! What more could I say....I adored my stay here and look forward to my return trip to Florence and Hotel Silla. Ciao' Dan K.

Read More

By Don

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 7, 2006

Hotel Silla still WONDERFUL after 20 years

Hotel Silla was recommended to us by friends 20 years ago. We loved it then. I just returned from 30 days in Italy staying in 3 to 5 Star hotels. Hotel Silla is underrated. It's still owned by the same family. My spacious room was lovingly maintained and enjoyed a view of the river and Duomo in Florence. Service and decor are excellent. Located an easy walk or inexpensive taxi ride from major Florentine attractions. You can book the Hotel Silla with

confidence

Read More

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 8, 2002

hip, friendly neighborhood

I just spent five days at the Hotel Silla, and loved it; I’ll be retruning several times next year. My room was nothing special (note: renovations scheduled 12/02); but I had a nice view to the Duomo. The hotel's patio garden overlooking the Arno was where I read poetry, and it was heavenly. The neighborhood is quiet, out-of-the-way, and merely a ten-minute walk from the Uffizi. It's right inside the Porta S. Miniato, and it's hip. My Italian

is not good, but everyone I met, in every shop, was very friendly. The restaurant suggested by the hotel, La Beppa, had fresh, exquisite Tuscan food -- wonderfully prepared and presented, with astonishing flavors. It was a wonder. I tried other restaurants, but always returned there. Even their house wine was surprising -- not refined, but bursting with intense unusual flavor. Very good European jazz background. I can't say enough.... Down the Via Bardi, towards Ponte Vechio, there are artists, jewelers, paper-makers, a cloth shop, a book shop. I passed a club with no sign on the door that looked like a set from La Dolce Vita...I'm saving that for next time. Further down towards the Ponte Vecchio, I passed Osteria Vasari, where the young owners called me in for a glass of Myrto. I stayed for several glasses, talking with the locals with an Italian/English dictionary that was there on the counter. The 14-th century vaulted brick ceilings were a topic of conversation, along with a print showing in very fine print every canto of Dante's Devine Comedy. The food I can't wait to try on my next trip, if I can tear myself away from La Beppa.

Read More

By Rosa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2002

Perfect Location!

Just got back on Monday and we really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Silla. We spend 5 nights there and slept like a couple of logs. Found an awesome restaurant "I-Tarocchi" right up the street on the right hand side. The best pizza and the creamiest Panna Cotta! The staff was very helpful....Massimo was a sweetheart. Great location, within walking distance from many attractions and away from the big crowds. We would definately stay here again.

By William

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 22, 2002

Best hotel deal in town

At our first stay on the south side of the Arno, we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the location. Even better was the service at the Hotel Silla. The staff was the best we've encountered in Italy, and actually saved us from a potential disaster when they secured Eurorail tickets for us when none would have been available if we had tried to get them on our own. Our room was huge, the terrace (overlooking a great little park) was excelllent,

and the area was first class. What a deal at 160 Euros per night.

Read More

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 8, 2002

I got lost in our room.............

I guess we got lucky - our room was bigger than my SF apt. We booked a triple but could easily have fit a dozen. Granted, we had no view to speak of, but we spent little time in the room. Massimo at the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly. Nearby restaurant had the best gnocchi with gorgonzola sauce and pizza we had in Italy. Great value, although we paid considerably more for a triple (USD242) than what Fodor's quotes.

By Elise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 16, 2002

Perfect location!

We were a little hesitant at first about staying in the Oltrarno (other side of the river - Arno), but were pleasantly surprised. It was the perfect place to stay. Definitely less noisy and an easy and quick walk to all the main attractions. Our room was pretty small and the bathroom the size of a closet, but it didn’t matter much since we really didn't spend too much time in our room. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Bonus - roof top terrace

to enjoy breakfast or to just sit outside and relax.

Read More

By Judith

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 14, 2002

A TRUE GEM

Don't be fooled by the maps. This location is great and not far from the sites at all. You are directly across the river from Santa Croce (10 minutes) and just up and across the river from the Uffizi Gallery (7 minutes). I just left the Hotel Silla after a 5 night stay - July 8, 2002 through July 13, 2002. The staff was extremely helpful. They could call a cab on 4 minutes notice. They recommended some extraordinary restaurants that had fairly

reasonably prices. The rooms were nice, not great, but very nice and excellent value for the money. Our room was Number 37. It was a very large double with plain painted walls on the back of the hotel. It had both interior and exterior shutters so the room at night was pitch black and quiet. The matresses were new and good. There was a writing table, an armoire, two nightstands, a tv and refrigerator. The only English channel was CNN. The bath room was simple and clean. It had both shower and tub. I believe that we had one of the largest doubles in the hotel. I saw other rooms as they were being cleaned. They were prettier, with wallpaper and comforters, but ours was probably 30 percent larger. The tiled floors are glorious in the summer. The biggest boon was the the air conditioner was individually controlled and worked amazing well. The room stayed a cool 75 degrees F even on the hottest days. It was over 95 degrees F each day we were there. The breakfast buffet is adequate...eggs, hot dogs (yes, I said hot dogs), fruit, cereal, croissant. There is a lovely terrace that they serve breakfast on when the weather is nice. THis is not the Ritz, but it is clean and comfortable and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone for a stay in the future. I enjoyed it myself and would stay there again. It is excellent value for the money. Our double room was E140 per night.

Read More

By Heidi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 13, 2002

Quiet, convenient and friendly

Hotel Silla was great!! Clean, comfortable, charming room. The staff was multi-lingual, friendly and very helpful. We LOVED the location - convient enough to walk to every part of Florence, but in a relatively quiet spot on the S side of the Arno. Good breakfast (great coffee) and a lovely terrace overlooking a small park where you can enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. It was a lovely place to retreat after a long day of sightseeing. Two

small drawbacks - our room was near reception (and the breakfast room) and tended to be noisy early in the morning. Also, our bathroom was very small with a handheld, open shower which is typical in Europe, but still tough to get used to! The neighborhood restaurant a couple of doors down (Tarocci I believe) was a fun place to get a pizza - we sat at communal tables with neighborhood locals and drank very good vino rosso della casa.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement