The French Riviera Sights


Château-musée Grimaldi

Château-musée Grimaldi Review

Haut-de-Cagnes's steep-cobbled Vieille Ville is crowned by the fat, crenellated Château Grimaldi, built in 1310 by the Grimaldis (who now rule over Monaco) and reinforced over the centuries. You are welcomed inside the château by a grand Renaissance courtyard, off which are vaulted medieval chambers, adorned with, among other things, a vast Renaissance fireplace, a splendid 17th-century trompe-l'oeil fresco of the fall of Phaëthon from his sun-chariot, and three small specialized collections: the history of the olive, memorabilia of the cabaret star Suzy Solidor, and a collection of modern Mediterranean artists, including Cocteau and Dufy. Across the château's plaza, take some time to explore the grand Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-la-Protection, nearly hidden inside some medieval buildings—the Italianate bell-tower gives it away. The chapel is open to the public on weekends during the same hours as the Château-musée.

    Contact Information

  • Address: Pl. Grimaldi, Cagnes-sur-Mer, 06800
  • Phone: 04–92–02–47–30
  • Cost: €4; €6 joint ticket with Musée Renoir
  • Hours: Oct.–May, Wed.–Mon. 10–noon and 2–5; June–Sept., Wed.–Mon. 10–noon and 2–6.
  • Location: Haut-de-Cagnes
Updated: 03-06-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Be the first to review this property


View more trip reports

View more travel discussions

· News & Features

View more blog stories