Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Restaurants

L'As du Fallafel

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

Look no further than the fantastic falafel stands on the pedestrian Rue de Rosiers for some of the cheapest and tastiest meals in Paris. L'As (the Ace) is widely considered the best of the bunch, which accounts for the lunchtime line that extends down the street. A falafel sandwich costs €5 to go, €7.50 in the dining room, and comes heaped with grilled eggplant, cabbage, hummus, tahini, and hot sauce. The shawarma (grilled, skewered meat) sandwich, made with chicken or lamb, is also one of the finest in town. Though takeout is popular, it can be more fun (and not as messy) to eat off a plastic plate in one of the two frenzied dining rooms. Fresh lemonade is the falafel's best match.

Restaurant Information

Address:

34 rue des Rosiers, 4e, Paris, 75004, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–48–87–63–60

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Sat. No dinner Fri.

Updated 02/19/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Paris

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By seafox

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 14, 2010

L'As du Fallafel Review

It is what it is - a fallafel stand..... but it just may be the best in Paris if not all of Europe. As stated - not to be missed for a yummy not so ordinary lunch in Paris! I'll be back again and again. So my "5s" are not cnsistant in that this is not gourmet food nor a high end dining experiance, but it as I said the best fallafel stand to be found!

By opaldog

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 4, 2009

L'As du Fallafel Review

Love it. It wouldn't be a trip to Paris without a visit here.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2008

I dream about this falafel

3rd time to Paris and 3rd time getting this falafel. Almost too much for one person but I wouldn't share it because it's too good to share:-) I wouldn't dream of going to paris without getting one of these sandwiches!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 26, 2007

Unbelievably good.

Huge falafels, low prices, and a ginormous burst of goodness with every bite. Do not wear a white shirt to this joint (ha ha, speaking from experience. It was Nuit Blanche, OK? I was being thematic). I gave it a 5 for atmosphere because this is a food made for wandering the Marais, not sitting in the dinky little dining room (plus it's cheaper to take away). Get the lemonade too and you're ready to go.

By Jessica

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 6, 2006

The most memorable meal in Paris

I lived in Paris ten years ago, where i became addicted to L'As Du Fallafel, and every time I go back, the first place I return to is this fallafel stand.

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 13, 2005

Awesome Awesome Awesome

My first falafel ever was eaten here and I have yet to find another as good- but I have been trying. Worth a try if you are in the Marais area- its cheap, fast, and good- a very unpretentious yet unforgettable dining experience.

By Ryan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 8, 2002

Good quick food, don't use the bathroom

Great Israeli menu-- salads, falafel, schwarma, etc. Fast and convenient. Inexpensive, and good service. Easy to find in an interesting part of town. Except I got stuck in the bathroom for 15 minutes when the door handle broke, and the guy had to break the door in to rescue me.

By elle

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 13, 2002

best fallafel in paris!

this is a great place to come when you are truly hungry at lunch. not much on atmosphere, but nice waiters and fab middle eastern dishes.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement