Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Restaurants

Macéo

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

With a reasonably priced set menu at €39, this is an ideal spot for a relaxed meal after the Louvre. Natural light streams through the restaurant, and a broad, curved staircase leads to a spacious upstairs salon. It's also a hit with vegetarians: chef Gunther Janicot whips up a meatless prix-fixe menu with two starter and two main course options—perhaps summer vegetables with mimolette cheese, followed by minipasta with wild mushrooms, herbs, and artichoke (though

his efforts can be hit-or-miss). Meat lovers might sink their teeth into farmer's lamb with confit vegetables and mousseline potatoes. The wine list spotlights little-known producers alongside the big names—as befits this sister restaurant to Willi's Wine Bar.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

15 rue des Petits-Champs, 1er, Paris, 75001, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–42–97–53–85

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Sun. and 3 wks in Aug. No lunch Sat.

Updated 02/19/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By ls1970

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2008

Classic French cuisine with exotic touch

The vegetarian menu is perfect for a light lunch, fine and tasty. The other dishes mix the classic French cuisine with an exotic touch, but always in a balanced way.

By Sally

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 8, 2005

Couldn't have been better

Tremendous on every score. The best restaurant we visited during our three-day trip to Paris.

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 10, 2003

Tres Bien

This is my favorite restaurant in Paris. I love the interior, the wait staff was very attentive (I don't remember if they spoke English or not), and the food is outstanding. Not to mention it's moderately priced. Very cool location as well.

By Bruno

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 5, 2002

Mediocre at Best!!

Mediocre food and I-couldn't-care-less service. The only highlight was the winelist and the sommelier (Joel) who was excellent.

By Art

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2002

A nice meal

The food was outstanding. However, the atmosphere and neighborhood were a little run down and the waiters were overworked. (The head waiter processes all the checks on top of all his other responsibilities and it took forever forever for him to get to us. When he did, in his rush he couldn't get the Visa to process and overcharged us. But even then he took the time to show us the rear exit which takes you through a beautiful garden and is not deserted

like the rest of the neighborhood.) In spite of the negatives, I'd still recommend this restaurant. One amusing incident: we were about to use the wrong knife for our fish. The waiter literally ran over to keep us from making what (to him) was an unforgiveable mistake.

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 10, 2001

Maceo does not deliver

The restaurant has a feel of the overpriced diner. The wide-open floor makes for a noisy place. I ordered lamb, and my wife ordered a duck, and they were both undercooked, in addition to lamb having absolutely no taste to it. The two Frenchmen at the table next to us sent their food back. We should have done the same thing. 250 franc pre fixe menu is certainly not worth the price. Needless to say, I would never go back to this place, nor would I recommend

it to anyone.

Read More

By Sharon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2001

Should have gone a second night!

We loved Maceo. The entrees were fantastic. I am a meat lover but was tempted by their vegetarian entree and was so glad that I ordered it. It was out of this world. The wait staff spoke little English but were extremely patient with us. In fact, the server was asking us how to speak a little English. We had only two nights in Paris and ate here our first night. I still wish that we'd gone back for the second night! Can't wait to return!

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2001

A Vegetarian heaven

Although we did not have a reservation, (and I am not sure how glad they were to see us) we were able to get a lovely table for lunch. This a pretty restaurant with great food. A great pre fixe meal is available and there are several vegetarian options which is a rareity in Paris. No other Americans were there- but there was a fox terrier accompanying two parisians for lunch. A definate gem!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement