Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Hotels

Hôtel Jeanne-d'Arc

Pros

  • Charming street close to major attractions
  • Good value for the Marais
  • Lots of drinking and dining options nearby

Cons

  • Noisy garbage trucks and late-night revelers on the square after midnight
  • Dreary decor
  • No air-conditioning

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

This hotel is prized for its unbeatable location off the tranquil Place du Marché Ste-Catherine, one of the city's lesser-known pedestrian squares. The 17th-century building has been a simple hotel for more than a century, with well-maintained rooms, tiled bathrooms, and cheery, if somewhat mismatched, colors (some rooms facing the back are more muted). Expect basic accommodations and simple breakfasts. For more quiet, request an upper floor. The welcoming staff is informal

and happy to recount the history of this former market quartier.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

3 rue de Jarente, 4e, Paris, 75004, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–48–87–62–11

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 35 rooms

Updated 02/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Paris

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 22, 2009

Good value and location.

This hotel was a great value and in a nice location. It's nothing fancy, but certainly good for the price! The room and bathroom were clean and average size for Paris. We had no problems with noise, esp. on the 6th (top) floor. There is a lift, but it's tiny and slow. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location in the Marais and close to the Metro. I was quite happy to find this hotel for a short weekend in Paris!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 2, 2008

Great location, cheerful room

Bright colours and clean as a whistle. Funky elevator and funkier stairs. The location is great. We had a streetside room on the fourth so did not see the 'dimmer' side, but the single pane windows and 8:00 garbage pickup ensured we did not oversleep. I would recommend it to a friend.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 14, 2008

Great price, great staff, great location

I have stayed at this hotel five times in five years. The location, near the Picasso Museum, is ideal: lots of restaurants, good shopping, and convenient access to the Metro. The staff is very friendly. Stay here for the value, not the beauty of the accommodations.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 17, 2006

Great Value and Great Location

My family visited Paris last May. The staff at the Grand Hotel Jeanne d'Arc was very helpful and kind throughout our stay. The location is great, with the sights and shops of the Marais district within easy walking distance and good restaurants (not always haute cuisine, but good) just around the corner. The rooms are not small by European standards. Though the decoration is spare, there is enough furniture to make one's stay comfortable. The

bathrooms are small but clean.

Read More

By Thomas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 1, 2006

Quiet and charming

I found the hotel, situated just off a picturesque marketplace, to be charming and cute. Our room was not overly spacious, but it was extremely well-kept, quiet, and well-decorated. Simple and pleasant, in a "grandma" kind of way.

By Rachel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 23, 2006

Fantastic value in a great location

My boyfriend and I stayed there in November 05. The room was clean, bright and cosy. The location was fantastic - the little restaurants on the Place Staine Catherine were gorgeous - we didn't have to go very far for a fantastic meal. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, there are loads of cafes and bakeries in the Marais to visit. They were replacing the hallway carpets when we were there so the hammering and smoking workman outside our room at

8.30am on our last morning didn't go down well but hey, for 82 euros a night who's complaining?

Read More

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 16, 2005

Surly Staff Snuff Marais Charmer

I fell in love with the hotel in a great neighborhood of Le Marais when I arrived, but the staff put me in a room on the ground floor that was extremely noisy and filled with the cigarette smoke of the staff who smoked in a back room next to it. I settled in for the night and they promised to find me a room up stairs in the next day. But after two days, they never fulfilled their promise, giving newly arriving people the new rooms and leaving me with

the tractor outside. I was so disappointed! Pick another hotel in Le Marais!

Read More

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2004

Don't let this happen to you!

There are two hotel Jeanne d'Arcs in Paris. The Grand Hotel Jeanne d'Arc is on blvd. Marcel near Place d'Italie next to the statue of Jeanne d'Arc. The Hotel Jeanne d'Arc is the one in the Marais. The other one is not nearly as nice and in the 13th, not as convenient. They told us that about 3 groups each week mistakenly book the hotel in the 13th when they think they're getting the Marais. The one in the Marais does not have "Grand" in it's name.

They told us this generally happens to internet bookers.

Read More

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 6, 2003

Super Location, Great Value

May '03 was our third visit to Paris and we love the Marais, so we really wanted to stay here this trip. After a mix-up with our confirmed reservation a week before departure, they came through for us and all ended happily. The desk staff is wonderful. Rooms are basic and clean, what they lack in romance is more than made up for by the location. The 1001 Dalmation shower curtain did give our bathroom a wacky kind of charm. Don't bother with the

standard breakfast fare here, however as there are too many wonderful patisseries near by where you'll spend the same for something magic.

Read More

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 9, 2003

Attention Bargain Hunters!

My wife and I recently stayed at the Jeanne d'Arc, along with 4 of our children. Our double was very nice - I've paid much more for less in Paris. The kids' quad was roomy. Great location, too.

By Lou

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 27, 2003

Great Location!!

Great area on the corner of Marche St Catherine and very near to Place Des Vosges. Lovely little shops and restaurants of the Marais right on the doorstep. Hotel very clean and bright, room on the fisrt floor looking into lightwell a bit dark and gloomy but excellent price and spotlessly clean. Booked to go back in September.

By Gary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 23, 2002

Charming hotel; dedicated staff

Stayed at Jeanne d'Arc Aug/Sep '01. Were in the air on 9/11 when the attack on USA took place. Staff was warm, friendly and inviting before our return to Paris, and extremely accommodating after the attack. They made room for us and allowed us to stay until our flight back to States. The rooms range in size - we wound up staying in 3 different rooms - and all are clean and well maintained. Marais is just a wonderful place to stay. Hotel is a brief

walk to the St. Paul Metro station. The nearby courtyard had several restaurants, two of which we ate in several times during our stay. And we sere within walking distance to a very special restaurant, Benoit, where we celebrated my wife's birthday. And, of course, this hotel is a great value at less than $100 a night. We'll definitely return to Paris and the Jeanne d'Arc.

Read More

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 24, 2002

A fine place to stay in the Marais

Sure the rooms were on the small side - but the location is great, and the staff were all very gracious and helpful. Room heating and bedding coped well with the freezing winter nights. There are plenty of interesting and reasonably priced restaurants in the surrounds, and a few good bakeries and cafes nearby make a better breakfast option. Just a couple of minutes walk from the Marais Metro stop. Very interesting area, the Marais - highly recommended

base for exploring Paris.

Read More

By Josh

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 24, 2000

WHERE YOU WANT TO BE GUEST YOU WANT TO SEE

Love this hotel if you can get a booking great location, inexpensive, neat Lobby with helpful staff and filled with other hip 20 somethings in the heart of the Marias LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!!!!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement