Paris Restaurants

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Mon Vieil Ami

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Mon Vieil Ami Review

"Modern Alsatian" might sound like an oxymoron, but once you've tasted the food here, you'll understand. The updated medieval dining room—stone walls and dark-wood tables—provides a stylish milieu for the inventive cooking orchestrated by star Alsatian chef Antoine Westermann, which showcases heirloom vegetables (such as yellow carrots and pink-and-white beets) from star producer Joël Thiébault. Pâté en croûte (wrapped in pastry) with a knob of foie gras is hard to resist among the starters. Among the mains, red mullet might come in a bouillabaisse sauce with sautéed baby artichokes, and the shoulder of lamb with white beans, preserved lemon, and cilantro has become a classic. This is not necessarily the place for a romantic dinner, since seating is a little tight, but the quality of the food never falters, and the portions are quite generous.

    Contact Information

  • Address: 69 rue St-Louis-en-l'Ile, 4e Ile St-Louis, Paris, 75004 | Map It
  • Phone: 01–40–46–01–35
  • Website:
  • Metro Pont Marie.
  • Location: Ile St-Louis

    Restaurant Details

  • Credit cards accepted.
  • Closed 3 wks in Aug., and 3 wks in Jan.
Updated: 02-19-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Mon Vieil Ami Review

    Stopped in for lunch and their lunch specials are moderately priced. Food was very good. Small and intimate. good service, great atmosphere.

    by Travelbound44, 1/14/11
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Mon Vieil Ami Review

    IMO, the food was very tasty, but very heavy. The service was difficult---our bottle of wine sat in a bucket far from the table and wasn't repoured until we were almost finished eating.

    by TPAYT, 11/20/09
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Excellent Restaurant

    We have been to this restuarant numerous times. The food is from Alsace. It is simple, freshly prepared comfort food. If you're on the hunt for steak and frites - forget it. This is a special experience and the food is lovingly prepared. Each time the staff has been terrific. The decor is elegant and simple. Close tables? Yes, but this restaurant in an old building in the exclusive Ile St. Louis, so space is at a premium - but no, you aren't sitting on other diner's laps ... On our last visit a fellow North American loved her meal so much she asked for a doggie bag, the staff very politley declined (this is indeed a no-no in Paris!!!)

    by Dtheresa, 10/13/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Big Disappointment

    Extremely poor service. Not rude, just plain poor service. Food matched the service with the chicken dry and fois gras lacking flavor. After waiting for 15 minutes once seated, we were finally asked if we wanted menus and something to drink. The entire experience took 3 hours and, even then, they forgot our desserts and just presented us with our bill. My recommendation: get gelati down on the corner and forget about going to Mon Vieil Ami.

    by jhosler, 9/18/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    If you are in a hurry

    Eat at the 7:30 seating of Mon Vieil Ami. Last fall we arrived at 7:25, had our menus and had ordered by 7:40. First course arrived at 7:50, second course 8:10, etc, so all done by 8:45. Felt more than a little rushed. Not so incidentally, in the spring a reservation made by a fluent French speaker two weeks in advance was lost.

    by henrytow, 2/7/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    good recommendation

    This restaurant came highly recommended and like many other things, maybe we weren't fair in expecting too much.

    by kckluth, 1/11/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Lively atmosphere-food not so much

    Great atmosphere-cramped space makes for lively vibe. Tables are close but no problem holding a conversation. Food is alright- simple entrees-nice size portions. Had beef marinated 72 hours in red wine- for 2 people-came with pots and carrots- sauce was very good but cut of meat was only OK-not tender. Other dishes were safe-breast of chicken,warm salad of root veggies with raisins and almonds,etc- pretty mild tasting dishes. Desserts are simple but good- Nice wine list.

    by lark00law, 12/17/06

Add your own review

Advertisement

Travel Deals in Paris

View all travel deals
* Some taxes, fees additional

View more trip reports

View more travel discussions

· News & Features

View more blog stories