Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

St. John Restaurants

Skinny Legs Bar and Restaurant

Updated 03/04/2014

Fodor's Review

Sailors who live aboard boats anchored offshore and an eclectic coterie of residents gather for lunch and dinner at this funky spot in the middle of a boatyard and shopping complex. If owner Moe Chabuz is around, take a gander at his gams; you'll see where the restaurant got its name. It's a great place for burgers, fish sandwiches, and whatever sports are on the satellite TV.

Restaurant Information

Address:

Rte. 10, Coral Bay, St. John, 00831, U.S. Virgin Islands

Map It

Phone:

340-779–4982

Updated 03/04/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in St. John

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 1, 2008

BeerDude'sJustThat

This is the best bar/grill in the Caribbean. (I'd hasten to say the world, but it really is a tropical-type place.) It's all about the ambiance...and the best burger around. none of the BVI places hold a candle to Skinny's. I even chose the place to celebrate making it to the half century mark. You gotta try it.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 27, 2008

Best Burger in St. John

We were driving through Coral Bay and happened along Skinny Legs and decided to give it a try. We were so glad we did, the burgers were fantastic and the service was outstanding. Very friendly and right there when you needed something. I can't say that for over half of the restaurants we visited, even the very expensive ones. Morgan's Mango is very over rated and very over priced and the service was awful.

By jojocat

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 21, 2008

Love Skinny Legs

The place is a dive, but if you want local people & good casual food, this is great! The best chilli dog I've ever had - it has to be eaten with a fork, its so big & messy!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 20, 2007

Great! Great! Great!

We ate here several times during our stay at the Concordia Eco-Tents Complex just down the road. Absolutely loved it! Even was able to take my young daughter there without any worry of being in a bar! Wish we had one in Oklahoma City--but it just wouldn't be the same, now, would it? Without all the characters...

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 12, 2007

Avoid this place

Fodor's really got it wrong here. Skinny Legs serves poor food; standard US fast food fare is better I hate to say. We rented a house in Coral Bay for a week after cooking most of the time we wanted a burger for lunch one day. We went, the burgers tasted completely plain and made us sick. It is recommended that you avoid this place - if you have been to BVI, Pussers, Soper's Hole, Road Town, Cruz Bay, and enjoyed yourself, you will detest Skinny

Legs. Stay away.

Read More

By joebird

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 4, 2007

A great big burger!

Casual atmosphere, great burgers and fish sandwiches, and a great selection of beers. And the Boston sports theme gives it a little feel of home.

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 6, 2006

what a ride!!

We rented a house really close to Cruz Bay & rented a car.(I would suggest 4 wheel drive to anyone contemplating renting a vehicle!) We decided to hit Coral Bay one day, so we headed out. WHAT A RIDE. We saw cows, a HUGE pig, a very small boy with a machete, & the hills!! I was 3 months pregnant at the time & boy did that ride make me sick!! Skinny Legs was a much needed stop which ended up being a very pleasant experience. The food was great-the

service was fast and friendly & the shops outside the restaurant were hip & fun. Don't miss out on the east side of the island-Cruz Bay is an awesome place, don't get me wrong, but if you want a real island experience, check out SKINNY LEGS!!

Read More

By Daphne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 17, 2006

WHAT FUN!

A fun place to have lunch on the way back to Cruz Bay from the beaches around Coral Bay. The fish and chicken sandwiches were delicious and the service was quick and friendly. Great for the cost conscious.

By Connie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 31, 2004

Waitress with an Edge

Burgers are terrific-and this is an island lunch spot, not Maxim's for heaven's sake. Our waitress was so over the top, if you did't have your order on the tip of your tongue, she runs off. But boy is she fast! If we'd been staying a bit closer, we'd have been there more than once.

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 6, 2003

Great burgers; fun, casual atmosphere

Skinny Legs was one of my favorites on the island... Zozo's and Asolare for fine dining with a view, and Skinny Legs for a casual hangout. I would've enjoyed eating lunch at Skinny Legs every day; and having dinner there every (casual) night. Everytime we had a bad, mediocre, or overpriced meal(Morgan's Mango, for example), I wished we'd just gone to Skinny Legs. The burgers were delicious and juicy. The salads were good and fresh, and the chili

was tasty. We were there on a Monday night, which is "movie night" for all the boaters who don't have TV, etc. They were playing "Minority Report" with Tom Cruise. We were also there one night to watch football. Great, fun atmosphere with friendly service and delicious, cheap food.

Read More

By Roger

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2002

View aint to good, but the food shore is

Granted this place might not be for everyone, but if you want a great burger, cold drink, and a friendly atmosphere, and don't mind sharing your table with a bird or two, definetly check it out.

By janet

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 20, 2000

house specialty - Flies

Certainly not worth a special trip; the burgers are not spectacular; and no view worth looking at. The only restaurant where the flies dramatically outnumbered the patrons.

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2000

Don't think the Burgers were worth the mosquito bites

Visited this place based on other's recommendations for best burgers. It's on the east side of St Johns and stop there along the drive. The burgers are good, no doubt; but hardly found the stop worth it based on the drive, the poor view - broken down shacks, marshy fields, and those damn mosquitoes.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement