Turks and Caicos Islands Hotels

Advertisement

Guidebooks
Fodor's 2012 Hotel Award Winner

Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa

At a Glance

    Pros

  • great place for families
  • all-inclusive, gorgeous pools, kids love this place

    Cons

  • with an all-inclusive plan you miss out on the island's other great restaurants
  • excursions such as catamaran trip can get crowded
  • very expensive

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa Review

The largest resort in the Turks and Caicos Islands can satisfy families who might be just as eager to spend some time apart as together, and a major renovation and expansion in Fall 2013 has made it even better. For the kids and teens, there's a children's park, waterslides, a swim-up soda bar, and even a teen disco. Parents may prefer the extensive spa, pretty beach, and scuba diving. Rooms, suites, and cottage villas are decorated in standard tropical themes, but the resort's major draw is found outside the rooms, where there are numerous activities and a choice of dining that includes a 1950s-style diner and a Japanese restaurant. This is one of the company's top resorts, with a generally helpful staff and excellent amenities, including a water park that is one of the largest in the Caribbean. Note that nonguests can buy day passes from 10 am to 6 pm and night passes from 6 pm to 2 am to get access to all facilities, restaurants, and the water park. A more luxurious village, Key West (formerly the Veranda Resort), opened in May 2013.

    Hotel Details

  • 359 rooms, 103 suites.
  • Rate includes all-inclusive.
Updated: 03-04-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Not great, especially for the money

    This resort has a lot if absolute wonderful positives, but striking negatives.

    The Pros:
    Resort property: The property grounds are absolutely beautiful! The landscaping and buildings are beautiful and perfectly maintained (I am not talking about the rooms however). The landscaping, the restaurants, lobbies, and the beach are all perfectly maintained and you couldn't tell if this place was built last year or 20 years ago.

    The staff: Very nice and pleasant. They truly want you to enjoy yourself, although we did have one bad apple (I'll go into that in the cons).

    The childcare/kids activities: My 4 year old daughter loved being in, what the call, camp sesame. They take them swimming, bring our characters from Sesame Street to do things like bake cookies with Cookie-monster. They have daily events like parades or shows with the characters as well once daily.

    The beach: great beach and weather. Turquoise waters, bathtub water with no surf. One of the nicest beaches I've been to! Catamaran sailing, water tricycles, and scuba is free (if certified, which I am).
    The cons:
    Cost: We paid $4500 for a 6 night stay in the French village, or $750 a night. This includes everything except tips for bellman, front desk, hotel transfer. You don't have to tip, but you can tell they are used to it and I don't mind. You don't tip the waiters/waitresses or childcare staff. That said, to get a beautiful resort like this, this just a little more than I would expect for a property of this quality, HOWEVER, the room is very subpar. Very small hotel rooms. The standard room includes a king and a trundle bed with no extra room and a tiny bathroom. The tile on the floor was crumbling and our 15 month old immediately tried to eat the crumbling tile.

    Rooms: not great at all if you get a standard room. (See last paragraph)

    The food: TERRIBLE! 19 restaurants that all serve basically the same food with very small differences. 90% of the food is EXACTLY the same at all the restaurants. None of the food is good at all! I didn't know you could screw up pizza and an Arnold Palmer!

    The staff: my son (16 months) broke a little plastic snow globe at the gift shop where it was placed on the first shelf and the said they would give us a discount, but WE BROKE IT, WE BUY IT!

    Property cons: like I said, it's beautiful, but all artificial. It's like Epcot at Disney. French village, Italian village, key west, Caribbean village....no local or cultural distinction. You could put this place in Cleveland in the summer (minus the beach) and you wouldn't know the difference.

    We moved to a villa in Key west half way through and that was much nicer. The 1 bedroom villa is much more spacious, but nowhere to put the clothes except hangers. No dressers, not a one. But very nice. However, this 1 bedroom villa starts at $1750 per night. Nice, but nowhere that nice. Same food I remind you.

    The resort is very secluded. We went into town one day and the people said they rarely see people leave. There's a bunch of cool island activities that would be fun.

    Our trip:
    We were switched to the key west villa after my son tried eating the crumbling tile, I was told to pay for an overpriced, plastic snow globe, and my son couldn't fall asleep because the stage for the nightly shows is in the French village and the music was pretty loud. We were upgraded for free to the fancy room, which I was not expecting or requesting. That was very nice and I'm not one to complain to expect an upgrade. I feel you should receive what you pay for, even if you don't agree with the prices.

    Overall, it was nice, but think it would be nicer to rent a villa at the Ritz in st Tomas and bring our sitter. The only way I would come back, is if I would stay on a villa at $1750 per night and still go out to dinner off resort.

    by brenthazen555, 1/16/14
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Horrible Helicopters

    If you like being under constant attack by a photography helicopter and being pushed around by the staff who are trying to get you out of the way of their advertising film crew, you’ll love Beaches Turks & Caicos.

    We were unfortunate enough to book a reservation at this place in December 2012. Incredibly, what was to be our vacation happened to coincide with their advertising campaign. Every day of our stay was nothing but aggravation.

    THE BEACH WAS COMPLETELY CLOSED on 3 occasions. They placed guards at all access points to the beach so the paying customers wouldn’t access the beach and interfere with filming their advertising.

    For several days, they removed all beach equipment; beach chairs, kayaks, water trikes, snorkeling equipment, excursion boats, etc. This was to allow complete access for the models and photo crew and to have an empty beach to photograph and film. Never mind that thousands of paying customers who each paid a small fortune to attend this ‘resort’ are being pushed around because we were considered a nuisance.

    Pools were intermittently closed, bars, restaurants, water park, etc., were closed off so they could be filmed for advertising purposes.

    A helicopter that had the Sandals logo and a photographer hanging out the side door, was constantly circling and hovering overhead, making high speed passes over the beach and the buildings at treetop levels. This went on for hours and hours over the course of several days. The noise and disruption was incredible. This would never be allowed in the U.S. because of the danger to those below. However, at Beaches Turks and Caicos, they are not at all concerned about YOU. When it suited the resorts interests, we (the paying guests) were treated as background objects for filming. Later when it suited the resorts interest for us to be gone, we were chased away.

    The staff will pretend it’s not happening.

    You cannot predict when they will use the facility for advertising purposes, but when it does you will have no recourse. We registered a complaint regarding their photo shoot, and received an undated form letter that they apparently keep on hand to give to people who are upset about their aggressive photographers. I even demanded the name of a supervisor I could contact directly. This person, was mysteriously never available.

    The manager I spoke to at the resort was clear that we should continue our stay and then proceed with a customer service complaint after we returned home. This we now realize, was to get rid of us, get us as far away as possible, giving us no recourse when customer service refuses to respond.

    We had a long conversation one evening with a young woman who has worked at the resort for several years. She told us that these photo shoots happen TWICE A YEAR! Of course they are planned in advance, but the guests are never informed. It is impossible for you, the paying guest, to know when it is going to happen. There will be no mention of it when you book your trip. When you arrive and find that it is happening, that’s just too bad for you. They don’t even thank you for funding their advertising materials for the next six months.

    Anybody planning a destination wedding at this place should reconsider. Spending thousands and thousands of dollars to have a beach wedding in which you have to shout your vows over the never ending drone of the helicopter would be a catastrophic event.

    We had communications with customer services who have now stopped responding. This organization is a bunch of thieves. No sane organization would push their paying customers around and expect them to put up with this kind of treatment.

    I found it hilarious to look at trip advisor after we had returned. There were many postings that accurately reflected the photography attack that occurred at that time. There were however, many more raving reviews posted which made no mention of the photography over that time period. This confirms to me that the resort is flooding trip advisor with fake reviews. There is no way a guest who was on the property at that time could have possibly avoided the horrible plague that was the photographers and helicopters.

    I can assure you that even though they say ‘contact customer service to resolve this issue’, that is also fake. Their customer service has only deflected our concerns. They are only there to delay and eventually stall any resolution. Meanwhile, they have successfully stolen our money.

    In summary, DO NOT spend thousands of dollars to stay at a resort that obviously doesn’t care about repeat customer visits. In my experience, they only use the existing customers to create advertising materials to bring in the next wave of new customers. For those who are on-site and have already fully paid for their stay, they have your money and will treat you however they damn well please.

    by gernblanston, 3/6/13
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Great Family Spot, Long Review

    We stayed for 10 days in the French Village. We had a fantastic time! Starting with arrival, nice short van ride from the airport.

    The room was great, our housekeeper Marsha was great. Very quickly she learned how we do things and adjusted her duties accordingly. I would say 90% of the staff was very friendly, the other 10% weren't rude by any means but I am guessing they didn't feel comfortable with the language so they were quiet.

    We liked the French Village for several reasons. The second floor rooms were very nice, high ceiling. The pool was a great one with lots of activities during the day. Just great. Plus we felt like the walk to the beach helped work off some of the food.

    Food: Not all the meals were great, but I would say the majority were very good. The breakfast buffets are pretty much the same regardless of the restaurant with only a few differences. But they are big and have a lot of variety, so don't take one of everything on the first day, pace yourself. The restaurants that served breakfast from the menu were also very good. Having the cafe (French Village) open at 6am was nice so we could get coffee and a danish early. Our kids loved Bobby Dee's, not our cup of tea but the grilled chicken sandwich was okay. More often than not we sent the kids there and my wife and I went to a nicer restaurant. Kimonos was good, we got a reservation without a problem for the next day. The food was great but our chef was not into the show which was disappointing. Luckily we had been having cocktails for several hours and our table mates were boisterous, so we began singing our own songs! For the guests in the other tables I apologize, but we were trying to salvage our experience.

    Scuba: My sons and I took the resort course for scuba diving. You don't need the medical forms signed by a doctor which they had said you needed. The instructors were great, took there time with us. We went out the next day, saw nice schools of fish, 2 sharks, turtle. Good time, Scubas not my thing though.

    Beach: We loved the sail boats, I already knew how to sail. Unfortunately we couldn't go out for a few days because of Trop. Storm Isaac. The watersports guy asked if I wanted to go to Cuba because that was were the wind would take me. People do reserve chairs quickly but we never had a problem getting one. getting one with an umbrella is a little tougher. I do wish you could get the snorkels for the whole stay instead of having to resign them out every day (2 hours actually) but I understand why they do that.

    Bars: My wife and I had a debate about the strength of the booze. I thought it was okay, she thought it was weak. But didn't really matter, you can have as many as you want. I recommend Turtles, the adult bar. We never saw many people in there but the bartenders were great. We often would get our drinks then go outside and play pool with our kids. Cricketeers the pub is also worth going to. The food is good and they have the only selection of what I would call real beer, in the resort. But if you are Bud or Mich LIte fan then you are all set at any of the bars. Our kids loved the swim up bars and tried most of the kids selections (they have about 10 or so).

    Pictures: We signed up for the picture session. The session is free, the pictures are not. They came out very good and we wound up buying a package. I am not sure if the package is expensive or not, but since we hadn't had family portraits taken in a long time it seemed like a good idea.

    Entertainment: We missed the entertainment on our first few nights, probably because of the rain. But I would definitely recommend it, especially if you can forget your inhibitions and realize that none of these people will ever see you again. We got up on stage and danced, we high fived cookie monster, and generally had a great time. We also have a great picture of our boys hunting cookie monster. They wanted a picture with him but feel they are too old. So we turned it into a game. Laid out the bait (cookies of course) and they hid in the bushes waiting for him to come by. Great times!

    Pools: The waterpark was good. Our two sons (11 & 10) loved the park, my wife and I even went down the water slides several times, right into the lazy river. The surf simulator was also a great time for the boys (open to all ages). They both surf and boogie board. During the Wet Fete night they have a competition. The French Village pool has activities during the day which was fun, again if you can let yourself go. The other pools were good, the one near Arizonas was pretty cool but we didn't discover it till our last night there.

    DJ Class: Our boys loved the DJ academy. I think its overpriced for what they got, but it was one of the highlights of their trip so who am I to say.

    Shops: This was the one drawbacks in my opinion. Very overpriced, $70 sweatshirts etc. We went to the Cultural Market outside of the resort. You have to negotiate because they start high, but they have very nice things. We were negotiating then I thought about that extra $15, who needed it more, me or the girl selling things. She got it.

    by David_Crabiel, 9/5/12
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort & Spa Review

    We travel twice a year with our kids (4 and 5) and stay at 5 star hotels each time. We've been to T&C 4 times with out kids and seeing the reviews of Beaches we thought it was a great idea to bring the kids with the family. This place is not 5 or 4 stars. It is less than a 3 star accommodation. This time we were 7 people - 4 adults and 3 kids. Yes, the place looks great, the beach is amazing, but it's all surface and no service. They have done a great job with advertisement. It's wonderful that they have a kids club but you just can't trust to leave the kids with the staff. I just didn't feel comfortable leaving our kids to do anything and I was on the dot! A family that dropped their kid off found out that the child fell in the pool and they just didn't know how long he was under the water for. They spent the first 2 days in the emergency room. If your idea of having a vacation with your kids is having them play x-box and sit on the grass under 90 degree heat all day, go ahead and pay the 10k+. Older kids ages 5-7 get to play in the pool by themselves and some 5-7 year olds don't know how to swim. Guess what? they are on their own because it is 15 kids to 1 staff member at camp. Good luck! At the departure lounge there was a couple going thru a hard time trying to find car seats for 2 little kids. They needed this on the way back because at the time of arrival the driver was going 60mph which is 20 mph over speed limit. This place is not organized at all. When there is managment around, employees work so diffrently, but once they step away it's back to lala land.

    Food: They have 16 restaurants that serve the same food in different settings. Buffet, you can eat as much as you want and at the more fancy looking one you only get small servings of the unlimited buffet food on a large plate. All the food that is served is low quality, if you are looking to feed your kids healthy stuff you will not find any.

    Pool: We saw a life guard sleeping on duty and another one watching the reggae band playing by the bar and entertaining himself. Also, the life guards' duty is to not only watch people swim, but also maintain towels and fix cabanas. When they are busy cleaning up, guess what? No one is watching your kids or anyone swimming.

    Bar: We are not drinkers but the alcohol is soooo watered down it's funny. These brand named bottles are lined on the bar shelf. They shouldn't be allowed to be displayed and brand named companies shouldn't allow them to serve it.

    Room: The AC is very noisy and the beds are rock hard and so uncomfortable. The room was a connecting room and you could hear everything, and I mean everything they spoke or did next door. When we came in to the room at 7:30pm we turned the TV on for the kids and they could barely see the picture because the quality of the picture was so poor. When we called the front desk, they said they will send someone to fix it. No one showed up and it just wasn't fixed. Also at 7:30pm when the tv was on of course they heard us from the next door and knocked on the door saying turn the TV off.
    There is only water in the fridge if you need any other drinks or food you have to go out to one of the bars.

    Kids Show: Starts @ 5:30pm and ends at 6:00pm, and then they just have loud music playing without any staff for another half an hour. This is called the kids dance party.

    Service: It's ok and they will not go out of their way to do much for you. When we asked for honey something soo simple at breakfast, the waitress pointed out the location and said, "It's there. You can get it." It was great that this was witnessed by the manager. He asked her to bring over it to the table. She did bring it but ohhh the attitude was as she was about to throw the dish on our face. If you need internet it's $14.99 per day and they don't offer you newspaper or magazines like most other hotels do. If you need to know what the weather is going to be like you have to go to the front desk because no other information is provided. Buggy rental is $10/day. There are many employees taking pictures and they will bother you at every location. They also push you away from the characters so you don't take any pictures yourself. They have a group picture day with the characters @ the beach and this is how they post them in the morning on bulletin boards. When you get there you are not allowed to take pictures because they claim it's a charity event and you can not use your camera. I am all for charites but please let me know so I don't waste my time on your picture time. There is a $230 picture taking charge if you want the pictures.

    by Ani_Ozgun, 1/17/11
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort & Spa Review

    I am only eleven yet I have been to many places to count. But I could honestly say Beaches Turks & Caicos was the best. All day, there were fun stuff going on and the waterpark was amazing. The clean beaches along with its ocean that you could see your toes in the water. If you're know me, you know that I can't sleep easily. I don't have a sleeping disorder or anything, but it takes me awhile to fall asleep. And this was good for me because if I had trouble sleeping, I could go out on the balcony which was huge and watch a parade. I loved it. I can't say anymore because there is to much to be said.

    by usaforever, 10/31/10
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort & Spa Review

    Beaches Turks and Caicos is great for families and folks w/out kids. I would go every year. My expectations were far exceeded and the resort is a great value. The beach is unlike anywhere I have ever seen and I have traveled all over the carib., to Hawaii, Mexico, Central America, and all over the US. Its an easy arrival and departure to and from the resort; you can't beat it! The pools are gorgeous and huge and the resort is well maintained everywhere. The service and food were excellent. We were very impressed with the level of luxury in our suite in the Italian Village. Beaches seems to know how to mesh kid friendly fun with luxury that the moms and dads can appreciate. The kids will love all the activities, the water park, and the Sesame Characters, and the parents will enjoy the opportunity to have some alone time. You won't find a better place to visit!

    by PilotDad, 5/29/10
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort & Spa Review

    It looks like no one has reviewed Beaches Turks and Caicos on this site in quite sometime...time to give it an update! Beaches Turks and Caicos has got to be the best family vacation spot in the world! There is plenty to do for kids (and grown-ups) of all ages! The drive to the resort from the airport is super quick (10-15 minutes) and you are pampered in ultimate luxury from the time you step onto the resort!

    We stayed in the Italian Village in a direct ocean front room that was absolutely AMAZING! No detail is spared! The kids had their own room complete w/ adorable bunk beds and their own flat panel TV w/ XBOX game system. The mini bar (included) was fully stocked and replenished daily. The room was cleaned twice daily and we never ran out of fresh linens. The service everywhere was amazing and everyone went the extra mile to make sure our trip was memorable. The concierges, Enock and Gwendolyn, were awesome! They sent special treats and hand written notes to our room and were so helpful with everything that we needed!

    The restaurants are fantastic! Many are beautifully themed w/ special little areas for kids. Kids can eat their favorites while mom and dad have steak and blackened tuna! There is something for everyone, even if you are vegetarian! The service was quick and the food was consistently delicious! My sweet tooth was indulged as well.

    As far as activities, the pools are amazing and pristine. The beach is to die far! There are plenty of chairs and space. The resort never felt crowded. The water sports are fantastic! You can get a list of activities (again something for everyone) or just kick back and relax. Whatever you desire! The kids camp looked wonderful, though we did not use it. We heard fantastic reviews! The water park is a blast. The kids pool has its own swim up bar that my kids got a real kick out of! The Sesame Street characters (breakfast, shows, and activities) add a magical touch. However, if Sesame is not your thing, it is very easy to avoid it and never actually see them.

    If you desire to do extras (though it is totally possible to not spend one dollar once you arrive) there are lots of great excursions, an amazing spa, and I recommend the family portrait session on the beach. The photos were reasonably priced and worth every penny! The photographer, Chris, was great!

    We will definitely return! We miss it already!

    by lactamom, 5/29/10
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Great trip - will definitely return!!

    My family went to Beaches Turks & Caicos in May 2007 and had a great time. We've also been to Beaches Negril so we had something to which to compare this resort. I read the negative reviews and had big concerns about going. I had the exact opposite experience of those who had a bad time, poor service and bad food. The staff at Turks was very friendly and most accomodating - no one was rude or not willing to help. Eood was excellent - always fresh and very tasty. We have three children (ages 6, 4 and 2) and no one had any trouble finding a food to eat at all meals. All of the restaurants were open and we never waited. The kids activities were very well planned. My children were in each of the younger three levels of camps and each child was known by name within a day or two of using the camps. The nannies kept the children busy and active. Definitely take a white t-shirt and do the family tye-dying. If you are a diver, you will have to pass a skills test or take a refresher course for $70/person. Be sure to sign up for either upon your arrival or you delay your first available dive. The sites were wonderful and the dive staff was great! We took advantage of the night time babysitters so we could have an adults only dinner. Kids had a great time & the sitter was good. Pirates Island was lots of fun for the kids with the waterslides. Snorkle Coral Gardens w/in walking distance from the resort - get gear from dive shop. If you've been to a Beaches or Sandals resort before - you'll enjoy Turks. We were very pleased with our trip and the quality of the Beaches resort and staff.

    by Kallie_L, 5/30/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    excellent except for food

    Fantastic for kids...kept busy every minute. We had 6 kids 3 through 15 ....best trip they ever took!
    food only so so and all the restaurants always seem to run out of some items. Always a wait to get into a restaunt. Seafood restaunt closed for renovation..not good on an island!

    by carolea, 11/26/06

Add your own review

Advertisement

View more trip reports

· News & Features

View more blog stories