Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Turks and Caicos Islands Hotels

Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa

  • Courtesy of Beaches Resorts

  • Courtesy of Beaches Resorts

  • Courtesy of Beaches Resorts

  • Courtesy of Beaches Resorts

  • Courtesy of Beaches Resorts

  • Courtesy of Beaches Resorts

  • Courtesy of Beaches Resorts

  • Courtesy of Beaches Resorts

  • Courtesy of Beaches Resorts

  • Courtesy of Beaches Resorts

2014 Hotel
Award Winner 2014

Pros

  • Great place for families
  • Gorgeous pools

Cons

  • With an all-inclusive plan you miss out on the island's other great restaurants
  • Excursions such as catamaran trip can get crowded
  • Very expensive

Updated 03/04/2014

Fodor's Review

The largest resort in the Turks and Caicos Islands can satisfy families who might be just as eager to spend some time apart as together, and a recent major expansion and renovation has made it even better. For the kids and teens, there's a children's park, waterslides, a swim-up soda bar, and even a teen disco. Parents may prefer the extensive spa, pretty beach, and scuba diving. Rooms, suites, and cottage villas are decorated in standard tropical themes, but the resort's

major draw is found outside the rooms, where there are numerous activities and a choice of dining that includes a 1950s-style diner and a Japanese restaurant. This is one of the company's top resorts, with a generally helpful staff and excellent amenities, including a water park that is one of the largest in the Caribbean. Note that nonguests can buy day passes from 10 am to 6 pm and night passes from 6 pm to 2 am to get access to all facilities, restaurants, and the water park. The Key West Luxury Village (formerly the Veranda Resort), opened in May 2013.

Read More

Hotel Award Winner | 2012

Hotel Information

Address:

Lower Bight Rd., Grace Bay, Providenciales, Turks and Caicos Islands

Map It

Phone:

649-946–8000; 800-BEACHES

Website: www.beaches.com

Hotel Details:

  • 758 rooms and suites
  • All-inclusive

Updated 03/04/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Turks and Caicos Islands

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 16, 2014

Not great, especially for the money

This resort has a lot if absolute wonderful positives, but striking negatives. The Pros: Resort property: The property grounds are absolutely beautiful! The landscaping and buildings are beautiful and perfectly maintained (I am not talking about the rooms however). The landscaping, the restaurants, lobbies, and the beach are all perfectly maintained and you couldn't tell if this place was built last year or 20 years ago. The staff: Very

nice and pleasant. They truly want you to enjoy yourself, although we did have one bad apple (I'll go into that in the cons). The childcare/kids activities: My 4 year old daughter loved being in, what the call, camp sesame. They take them swimming, bring our characters from Sesame Street to do things like bake cookies with Cookie-monster. They have daily events like parades or shows with the characters as well once daily. The beach: great beach and weather. Turquoise waters, bathtub water with no surf. One of the nicest beaches I've been to! Catamaran sailing, water tricycles, and scuba is free (if certified, which I am). The cons: Cost: We paid $4500 for a 6 night stay in the French village, or $750 a night. This includes everything except tips for bellman, front desk, hotel transfer. You don't have to tip, but you can tell they are used to it and I don't mind. You don't tip the waiters/waitresses or childcare staff. That said, to get a beautiful resort like this, this just a little more than I would expect for a property of this quality, HOWEVER, the room is very subpar. Very small hotel rooms. The standard room includes a king and a trundle bed with no extra room and a tiny bathroom. The tile on the floor was crumbling and our 15 month old immediately tried to eat the crumbling tile. Rooms: not great at all if you get a standard room. (See last paragraph) The food: TERRIBLE! 19 restaurants that all serve basically the same food with very small differences. 90% of the food is EXACTLY the same at all the restaurants. None of the food is good at all! I didn't know you could screw up pizza and an Arnold Palmer! The staff: my son (16 months) broke a little plastic snow globe at the gift shop where it was placed on the first shelf and the said they would give us a discount, but WE BROKE IT, WE BUY IT! Property cons: like I said, it's beautiful, but all artificial. It's like Epcot at Disney. French village, Italian village, key west, Caribbean village....no local or cultural distinction. You could put this place in Cleveland in the summer (minus the beach) and you wouldn't know the difference. We moved to a villa in Key west half way through and that was much nicer. The 1 bedroom villa is much more spacious, but nowhere to put the clothes except hangers. No dressers, not a one. But very nice. However, this 1 bedroom villa starts at $1750 per night. Nice, but nowhere that nice. Same food I remind you. The resort is very secluded. We went into town one day and the people said they rarely see people leave. There's a bunch of cool island activities that would be fun. Our trip: We were switched to the key west villa after my son tried eating the crumbling tile, I was told to pay for an overpriced, plastic snow globe, and my son couldn't fall asleep because the stage for the nightly shows is in the French village and the music was pretty loud. We were upgraded for free to the fancy room, which I was not expecting or requesting. That was very nice and I'm not one to complain to expect an upgrade. I feel you should receive what you pay for, even if you don't agree with the prices. Overall, it was nice, but think it would be nicer to rent a villa at the Ritz in st Tomas and bring our sitter. The only way I would come back, is if I would stay on a villa at $1750 per night and still go out to dinner off resort.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 6, 2013

Horrible Helicopters

If you like being under constant attack by a photography helicopter and being pushed around by the staff who are trying to get you out of the way of their advertising film crew, you’ll love Beaches Turks & Caicos. We were unfortunate enough to book a reservation at this place in December 2012. Incredibly, what was to be our vacation happened to coincide with their advertising campaign. Every day of our stay was nothing but aggravation.

THE BEACH WAS COMPLETELY CLOSED on 3 occasions. They placed guards at all access points to the beach so the paying customers wouldn’t access the beach and interfere with filming their advertising. For several days, they removed all beach equipment; beach chairs, kayaks, water trikes, snorkeling equipment, excursion boats, etc. This was to allow complete access for the models and photo crew and to have an empty beach to photograph and film. Never mind that thousands of paying customers who each paid a small fortune to attend this ‘resort’ are being pushed around because we were considered a nuisance. Pools were intermittently closed, bars, restaurants, water park, etc., were closed off so they could be filmed for advertising purposes. A helicopter that had the Sandals logo and a photographer hanging out the side door, was constantly circling and hovering overhead, making high speed passes over the beach and the buildings at treetop levels. This went on for hours and hours over the course of several days. The noise and disruption was incredible. This would never be allowed in the U.S. because of the danger to those below. However, at Beaches Turks and Caicos, they are not at all concerned about YOU. When it suited the resorts interests, we (the paying guests) were treated as background objects for filming. Later when it suited the resorts interest for us to be gone, we were chased away. The staff will pretend it’s not happening. You cannot predict when they will use the facility for advertising purposes, but when it does you will have no recourse. We registered a complaint regarding their photo shoot, and received an undated form letter that they apparently keep on hand to give to people who are upset about their aggressive photographers. I even demanded the name of a supervisor I could contact directly. This person, was mysteriously never available. The manager I spoke to at the resort was clear that we should continue our stay and then proceed with a customer service complaint after we returned home. This we now realize, was to get rid of us, get us as far away as possible, giving us no recourse when customer service refuses to respond. We had a long conversation one evening with a young woman who has worked at the resort for several years. She told us that these photo shoots happen TWICE A YEAR! Of course they are planned in advance, but the guests are never informed. It is impossible for you, the paying guest, to know when it is going to happen. There will be no mention of it when you book your trip. When you arrive and find that it is happening, that’s just too bad for you. They don’t even thank you for funding their advertising materials for the next six months. Anybody planning a destination wedding at this place should reconsider. Spending thousands and thousands of dollars to have a beach wedding in which you have to shout your vows over the never ending drone of the helicopter would be a catastrophic event. We had communications with customer services who have now stopped responding. This organization is a bunch of thieves. No sane organization would push their paying customers around and expect them to put up with this kind of treatment. I found it hilarious to look at trip advisor after we had returned. There were many postings that accurately reflected the photography attack that occurred at that time. There were however, many more raving reviews posted which made no mention of the photography over that time period. This confirms to me that the resort is flooding trip advisor with fake reviews. There is no way a guest who was on the property at that time could have possibly avoided the horrible plague that was the photographers and helicopters. I can assure you that even though they say ‘contact customer service to resolve this issue’, that is also fake. Their customer service has only deflected our concerns. They are only there to delay and eventually stall any resolution. Meanwhile, they have successfully stolen our money. In summary, DO NOT spend thousands of dollars to stay at a resort that obviously doesn’t care about repeat customer visits. In my experience, they only use the existing customers to create advertising materials to bring in the next wave of new customers. For those who are on-site and have already fully paid for their stay, they have your money and will treat you however they damn well please.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 5, 2012

Great Family Spot, Long Review

We stayed for 10 days in the French Village. We had a fantastic time! Starting with arrival, nice short van ride from the airport. The room was great, our housekeeper Marsha was great. Very quickly she learned how we do things and adjusted her duties accordingly. I would say 90% of the staff was very friendly, the other 10% weren't rude by any means but I am guessing they didn't feel comfortable with the language so they were quiet. We

liked the French Village for several reasons. The second floor rooms were very nice, high ceiling. The pool was a great one with lots of activities during the day. Just great. Plus we felt like the walk to the beach helped work off some of the food. Food: Not all the meals were great, but I would say the majority were very good. The breakfast buffets are pretty much the same regardless of the restaurant with only a few differences. But they are big and have a lot of variety, so don't take one of everything on the first day, pace yourself. The restaurants that served breakfast from the menu were also very good. Having the cafe (French Village) open at 6am was nice so we could get coffee and a danish early. Our kids loved Bobby Dee's, not our cup of tea but the grilled chicken sandwich was okay. More often than not we sent the kids there and my wife and I went to a nicer restaurant. Kimonos was good, we got a reservation without a problem for the next day. The food was great but our chef was not into the show which was disappointing. Luckily we had been having cocktails for several hours and our table mates were boisterous, so we began singing our own songs! For the guests in the other tables I apologize, but we were trying to salvage our experience. Scuba: My sons and I took the resort course for scuba diving. You don't need the medical forms signed by a doctor which they had said you needed. The instructors were great, took there time with us. We went out the next day, saw nice schools of fish, 2 sharks, turtle. Good time, Scubas not my thing though. Beach: We loved the sail boats, I already knew how to sail. Unfortunately we couldn't go out for a few days because of Trop. Storm Isaac. The watersports guy asked if I wanted to go to Cuba because that was were the wind would take me. People do reserve chairs quickly but we never had a problem getting one. getting one with an umbrella is a little tougher. I do wish you could get the snorkels for the whole stay instead of having to resign them out every day (2 hours actually) but I understand why they do that. Bars: My wife and I had a debate about the strength of the booze. I thought it was okay, she thought it was weak. But didn't really matter, you can have as many as you want. I recommend Turtles, the adult bar. We never saw many people in there but the bartenders were great. We often would get our drinks then go outside and play pool with our kids. Cricketeers the pub is also worth going to. The food is good and they have the only selection of what I would call real beer, in the resort. But if you are Bud or Mich LIte fan then you are all set at any of the bars. Our kids loved the swim up bars and tried most of the kids selections (they have about 10 or so). Pictures: We signed up for the picture session. The session is free, the pictures are not. They came out very good and we wound up buying a package. I am not sure if the package is expensive or not, but since we hadn't had family portraits taken in a long time it seemed like a good idea. Entertainment: We missed the entertainment on our first few nights, probably because of the rain. But I would definitely recommend it, especially if you can forget your inhibitions and realize that none of these people will ever see you again. We got up on stage and danced, we high fived cookie monster, and generally had a great time. We also have a great picture of our boys hunting cookie monster. They wanted a picture with him but feel they are too old. So we turned it into a game. Laid out the bait (cookies of course) and they hid in the bushes waiting for him to come by. Great times! Pools: The waterpark was good. Our two sons (11 & 10) loved the park, my wife and I even went down the water slides several times, right into the lazy river. The surf simulator was also a great time for the boys (open to all ages). They both surf and boogie board. During the Wet Fete night they have a competition. The French Village pool has activities during the day which was fun, again if you can let yourself go. The other pools were good, the one near Arizonas was pretty cool but we didn't discover it till our last night there. DJ Class: Our boys loved the DJ academy. I think its overpriced for what they got, but it was one of the highlights of their trip so who am I to say. Shops: This was the one drawbacks in my opinion. Very overpriced, $70 sweatshirts etc. We went to the Cultural Market outside of the resort. You have to negotiate because they start high, but they have very nice things. We were negotiating then I thought about that extra $15, who needed it more, me or the girl selling things. She got it.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 17, 2011

Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort & Spa Review

We travel twice a year with our kids (4 and 5) and stay at 5 star hotels each time. We've been to T&C 4 times with out kids and seeing the reviews of Beaches we thought it was a great idea to bring the kids with the family. This place is not 5 or 4 stars. It is less than a 3 star accommodation. This time we were 7 people - 4 adults and 3 kids. Yes, the place looks great, the beach is amazing, but it's all surface and no service. They have done a

great job with advertisement. It's wonderful that they have a kids club but you just can't trust to leave the kids with the staff. I just didn't feel comfortable leaving our kids to do anything and I was on the dot! A family that dropped their kid off found out that the child fell in the pool and they just didn't know how long he was under the water for. They spent the first 2 days in the emergency room. If your idea of having a vacation with your kids is having them play x-box and sit on the grass under 90 degree heat all day, go ahead and pay the 10k+. Older kids ages 5-7 get to play in the pool by themselves and some 5-7 year olds don't know how to swim. Guess what? they are on their own because it is 15 kids to 1 staff member at camp. Good luck! At the departure lounge there was a couple going thru a hard time trying to find car seats for 2 little kids. They needed this on the way back because at the time of arrival the driver was going 60mph which is 20 mph over speed limit. This place is not organized at all. When there is managment around, employees work so diffrently, but once they step away it's back to lala land. Food: They have 16 restaurants that serve the same food in different settings. Buffet, you can eat as much as you want and at the more fancy looking one you only get small servings of the unlimited buffet food on a large plate. All the food that is served is low quality, if you are looking to feed your kids healthy stuff you will not find any. Pool: We saw a life guard sleeping on duty and another one watching the reggae band playing by the bar and entertaining himself. Also, the life guards' duty is to not only watch people swim, but also maintain towels and fix cabanas. When they are busy cleaning up, guess what? No one is watching your kids or anyone swimming. Bar: We are not drinkers but the alcohol is soooo watered down it's funny. These brand named bottles are lined on the bar shelf. They shouldn't be allowed to be displayed and brand named companies shouldn't allow them to serve it. Room: The AC is very noisy and the beds are rock hard and so uncomfortable. The room was a connecting room and you could hear everything, and I mean everything they spoke or did next door. When we came in to the room at 7:30pm we turned the TV on for the kids and they could barely see the picture because the quality of the picture was so poor. When we called the front desk, they said they will send someone to fix it. No one showed up and it just wasn't fixed. Also at 7:30pm when the tv was on of course they heard us from the next door and knocked on the door saying turn the TV off. There is only water in the fridge if you need any other drinks or food you have to go out to one of the bars. Kids Show: Starts @ 5:30pm and ends at 6:00pm, and then they just have loud music playing without any staff for another half an hour. This is called the kids dance party. Service: It's ok and they will not go out of their way to do much for you. When we asked for honey something soo simple at breakfast, the waitress pointed out the location and said, "It's there. You can get it." It was great that this was witnessed by the manager. He asked her to bring over it to the table. She did bring it but ohhh the attitude was as she was about to throw the dish on our face. If you need internet it's $14.99 per day and they don't offer you newspaper or magazines like most other hotels do. If you need to know what the weather is going to be like you have to go to the front desk because no other information is provided. Buggy rental is $10/day. There are many employees taking pictures and they will bother you at every location. They also push you away from the characters so you don't take any pictures yourself. They have a group picture day with the characters @ the beach and this is how they post them in the morning on bulletin boards. When you get there you are not allowed to take pictures because they claim it's a charity event and you can not use your camera. I am all for charites but please let me know so I don't waste my time on your picture time. There is a $230 picture taking charge if you want the pictures.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 31, 2010

Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort & Spa Review

I am only eleven yet I have been to many places to count. But I could honestly say Beaches Turks & Caicos was the best. All day, there were fun stuff going on and the waterpark was amazing. The clean beaches along with its ocean that you could see your toes in the water. If you're know me, you know that I can't sleep easily. I don't have a sleeping disorder or anything, but it takes me awhile to fall asleep. And this was good for me because if I

had trouble sleeping, I could go out on the balcony which was huge and watch a parade. I loved it. I can't say anymore because there is to much to be said.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 29, 2010

Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort & Spa Review

Beaches Turks and Caicos is great for families and folks w/out kids. I would go every year. My expectations were far exceeded and the resort is a great value. The beach is unlike anywhere I have ever seen and I have traveled all over the carib., to Hawaii, Mexico, Central America, and all over the US. Its an easy arrival and departure to and from the resort; you can't beat it! The pools are gorgeous and huge and the resort is well maintained everywhere.

The service and food were excellent. We were very impressed with the level of luxury in our suite in the Italian Village. Beaches seems to know how to mesh kid friendly fun with luxury that the moms and dads can appreciate. The kids will love all the activities, the water park, and the Sesame Characters, and the parents will enjoy the opportunity to have some alone time. You won't find a better place to visit!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 29, 2010

Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort & Spa Review

It looks like no one has reviewed Beaches Turks and Caicos on this site in quite sometime...time to give it an update! Beaches Turks and Caicos has got to be the best family vacation spot in the world! There is plenty to do for kids (and grown-ups) of all ages! The drive to the resort from the airport is super quick (10-15 minutes) and you are pampered in ultimate luxury from the time you step onto the resort! We stayed in the Italian Village in

a direct ocean front room that was absolutely AMAZING! No detail is spared! The kids had their own room complete w/ adorable bunk beds and their own flat panel TV w/ XBOX game system. The mini bar (included) was fully stocked and replenished daily. The room was cleaned twice daily and we never ran out of fresh linens. The service everywhere was amazing and everyone went the extra mile to make sure our trip was memorable. The concierges, Enock and Gwendolyn, were awesome! They sent special treats and hand written notes to our room and were so helpful with everything that we needed! The restaurants are fantastic! Many are beautifully themed w/ special little areas for kids. Kids can eat their favorites while mom and dad have steak and blackened tuna! There is something for everyone, even if you are vegetarian! The service was quick and the food was consistently delicious! My sweet tooth was indulged as well. As far as activities, the pools are amazing and pristine. The beach is to die far! There are plenty of chairs and space. The resort never felt crowded. The water sports are fantastic! You can get a list of activities (again something for everyone) or just kick back and relax. Whatever you desire! The kids camp looked wonderful, though we did not use it. We heard fantastic reviews! The water park is a blast. The kids pool has its own swim up bar that my kids got a real kick out of! The Sesame Street characters (breakfast, shows, and activities) add a magical touch. However, if Sesame is not your thing, it is very easy to avoid it and never actually see them. If you desire to do extras (though it is totally possible to not spend one dollar once you arrive) there are lots of great excursions, an amazing spa, and I recommend the family portrait session on the beach. The photos were reasonably priced and worth every penny! The photographer, Chris, was great! We will definitely return! We miss it already!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2007

Great trip - will definitely return!!

My family went to Beaches Turks & Caicos in May 2007 and had a great time. We've also been to Beaches Negril so we had something to which to compare this resort. I read the negative reviews and had big concerns about going. I had the exact opposite experience of those who had a bad time, poor service and bad food. The staff at Turks was very friendly and most accomodating - no one was rude or not willing to help. Eood was excellent - always fresh

and very tasty. We have three children (ages 6, 4 and 2) and no one had any trouble finding a food to eat at all meals. All of the restaurants were open and we never waited. The kids activities were very well planned. My children were in each of the younger three levels of camps and each child was known by name within a day or two of using the camps. The nannies kept the children busy and active. Definitely take a white t-shirt and do the family tye-dying. If you are a diver, you will have to pass a skills test or take a refresher course for $70/person. Be sure to sign up for either upon your arrival or you delay your first available dive. The sites were wonderful and the dive staff was great! We took advantage of the night time babysitters so we could have an adults only dinner. Kids had a great time & the sitter was good. Pirates Island was lots of fun for the kids with the waterslides. Snorkle Coral Gardens w/in walking distance from the resort - get gear from dive shop. If you've been to a Beaches or Sandals resort before - you'll enjoy Turks. We were very pleased with our trip and the quality of the Beaches resort and staff.

Read More

By carolea

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 26, 2006

excellent except for food

Fantastic for kids...kept busy every minute. We had 6 kids 3 through 15 ....best trip they ever took! food only so so and all the restaurants always seem to run out of some items. Always a wait to get into a restaunt. Seafood restaunt closed for renovation..not good on an island!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 2, 2006

Great Beaches; Interesting Food

July of 2005 we went to Turks. We thought the food was pretty good. We were not impressed with Arizona's-or our waiter who was busy flirting with the gal at the table next to us and forgot we were there! We enjoyed the Kimono's-it was a great entertaing evening. We were told that you were not allowed to make reservations for restaurants before you came-but later learned that was not true and many people had. We liked the buffet. We were impressed

with the staff. We met one employee the first night we came and later in the week he remembered us and where we were from. Pools were nice. Our room did have a "smell" to it. We stayed in the French Village. We weren't sure what the smell was-but it was a cross between musty and moldy. It was nice to not have to worry about tipping staff. The evening entertainment was fine, but we wished there was a movie place or something else to do. We never left the resort. We were told from friends that there is not much to do if you do leave. It would have been nice to have left to see other things or shop some. Overall, not a bad trip.

Read More

By Diana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 22, 2005

Low class with NO service

We stayed in 2 Presidential Suites which included special conceirge service. If special means you are treated poorly then that's what we got. People who paid for upgraded butler service were even more disappointed. There is virtually No service at this hotel. Long lines to be seated in restaurants, even buffets. Plenty of staff but they sit around doing nothing. Staff even eats at the same restaurants as the guests and at the same time. The beach

is not 12 miles, how about half a mile. No beach service, you have to cart around your own lounge chairs and sun shades. The lounge chairs are old and worn out. It was the holiday season and they closed the beach, pools and restaurants so they could take propoganda pictures. If you are a well seasoned traveler, you'll know this is the wrong place. Don't be fooled by their fancy website. The website is all that is up to date about this resort.

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 14, 2005

Save a dime, have a better time

Stay away! Fodors doesn't accept the long explaination I wrote of why, so here is the short one High points are the beech, pools, and staff friendliness. Lows are the rooms,food,service,bar,& constant hawking for you to buy stuff. If you think the mall is a great cultural and culinary experience, you might be happy here ... might ... I've stayed better for 1/2 the price, and far better for what this costs...

By jacks

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 23, 2003

Four Seasons Price for Hotel 6

If you like nice things...STAY AWAY Please believe the bad reviews. It is all true. Just returned EARLY! The food was so bad, we had to leave. If you are a hick who likes to blow $1000 a day at a holiday inn on steroids, than this is the place for you. Do not believe the website! The kids Pirate Area, was a small pool with (2) subpar waterslides. The food was vile. The people who gave this place good reviews and said the food was good, must

think Chili's is a five star. If you like lots of Oil, all the nacho cheese you can eat, and a salad bar consisting of lettuce and few canned beans you will love this place. If you like standing in line at the pasta bar for a choice of linguine with red, alfredo or meat sauce (don't even think about chicken or shrimp), you will be in heaven. The Japanese restaurant was a hibachi tables. They cooked you chicken, some type of steak, baby shrimp and digusting mahi mahi. The recipe? Drown it in Oil and soy sauce, add more salt. Digusting. The price is obscene. STAY AWAY.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 25, 2003

WONDERFUL TIME

We had a great time!! We stayed in the French village which I was told to stay in becasue it is nicer and newer then the Main Hotel rooms. The pools where amazing, I loved that there where 6 pools, not to many resorts offer this many pools and this many pools that are as large as these pools where. I enjoyed staying at the French Village Pool and my son loved playing w/ the foutain in the pool. My Husband like the Cascade Pool becasue of the water

Fall and swiming in the Cave. The food was Good, we where not expecting Gourmet Food. I thought the best place for lunch was Arizona's, they grilled Hamburgers, chicken and Mahi, Mahi every day and that was good. The babysitting was great, we have a 11mth old and use it every night so we could go to dinner. Everyone was friendly. I did not want to leave. As far as the bad reviews, it's easy to complain and point out the bad things. If you want 5 star service and gourmet meals this is not the place for you. But if you have kids and and want to relax enjoy the great beaches and the 6 pools this is the place to go. We went right before Thanksgiving, I am told that after Thanksgiving and during school holidays the place is packed and beach chairs and towels are a bit harder to get. But what resort is not packed during peak season. We met a lot of people who took there kids out of school for a week to avoid the Holiday crowds.

Read More

By Kathie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 12, 2003

Good for Kids!

Just returned with my husband and 2 kids. As far as a place to go with young children in the carribean, this was it. Definitely geared to families. Adults without kids, why would you ever come here? However, it is overpriced. Food was pretty good but milk is warm. Staff very nice. The place did need some cleaning and painting. We had a mix up with rooms but got straigtened out fairly quickly. Remember, this is the Carribean; they move a lot

slower down there. It's just a different experience then a first-class resort in the states (for which you'd probably pay the same money).

Read More

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 24, 2003

A VERY BEAUTIFUL RESORT FOR THE FAMILY

DO NOT BELIEVE ALL THE BAD REVIEWS THAT YOU READ. I went down there with my family and we have a terrific time. One must remember it caters mostly to kids and this is a place you go to knowing that there aren't alot of activities for adults. It is a very big resort and the landscaping is magnificient. A little touch up needs to be done to the building in certain areas but please be your own judge as to whether you would like to visit or not because

I read these reviews before I went down and still went and enjoyed it.

Read More

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 1, 2003

The place is as run down as kuwait after the Gulf war

This was the worst value for your dollar. The resort is very expensive for what they deliver. It is badly in need of a paint job, and room renovation. We could go on & on, needless to say we would never go back, not even for free!

By Nick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 21, 2003

Its all in the atitude

If you don't expect great food and you love outdoor activities this is the place. I dove 7 times during the week, which is included and my kids loved the kids pool, activities and food. My wife used the spa (extra$). We all had a great time. As for the food it ran from ok to pretty good, not great.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2002

Save yourself & your Money

I don't know what to say,but we spent a $1000.00 a day there trying to treat ourselves to a well needed vacation for everyone.So I spent 6mos of a college education.That's 15 yrs away for me so I'm lucky I have time to replenish. My biggest mistake was not going down the very next morning and getting my money back,getting on a plane to Florida and spending the money at a Ritz-Carlton or a Four Seasons where I know I would get my money's worth.My

next biggest mistake was not being totally honest with a couple who just got back 3 weeks ago and they yelled at us for not telling them the truth.We've now come forward and told 3 other couples that we're due to go in Nov.& Dec. and their cancelling.Too many bad stories to go into.Good Luck.

Read More

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2002

Needs attention to details!

Booked a room with an ocean view 12 months in advance (assured repeatedly of availability), only to find ourselves victims of the old "bait and switch". Staff unable to accomodate...offered us room upgrade in the farthest corner of the property. Staff attempted deception (whited out original room# on envelope and played dumb when confronted). Children's counselors varied from outstanding/dynamic to comatose and apathetic. Kids clubs did not follow

schedules at all; many activities never offered even though listed on the daily schedule. Our children (ages 7,9,12) voted with their feet and signed out of most activities after the first 2-3 days of a 7-day stay...they have never done this at a resort before! Food was awful...they should close Schooners. Italian buffet best of the litter. Go to Anacoana (over 12y/o only) and enjoy one of the finest meals/settings the Caribbean has to offer. The beach/water at Grace Bay is simply beautiful. The spa is the gem of the entire property after the beach. Fitness center is excellent. French village pool is best on property. Would visit TCI again, but never at this overpriced resort. Recommend Ocean Club West, Grace Bay Club, or Coral Gardens for adults sans children.

Read More

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2002

Confused by the whine list

My family and I recently returned from the Beaches Turks and Caicos. We were concerned before we left because of all the negative reviews we had read on this site. We were confused when we returned. We had a wonderful time and would recommend the resort to others. We reserved a two bedroom suite in the French Village and could not have been more please with the rooms. They were actually three connected rooms with a total of three beds, two fold

outs and three full bedrooms. We were concerned that the ban on tipping would lead to bad or surly service, but we were pleasantly surprised on that front, as well. Everyone we met was curteous and helpful. The beach was one of the best I have experienced. Soft, white sand that never gets hot. While the food was not gourmet, it ranged from good at the buffet restaurants to very good at the restaurants with menus. The price was high, but you know that going in so I cannot understand peoples' gripes about that either.

Read More

By Alan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2002

A 3 Star Hotel Charging 5 Star Prices

About a year ago, Peter Kann, the publisher of the Wall Street Journal, wrote a scathing review about his stay at Beaches T&C. His complaints echo every negative review I've read here: mediocre rooms, surly service, horrible food - but the kids love it. The basic problem is that Beaches charges top dollar during high season. When we were there in March, all the adults we met were in shock over what they were getting for the money, especially since

for a few dollars more, we could have been at a Ritz Carlton or 4 Seasons. The food is about the same quality as you'd find in a high school cafeteria. And it's not just that you are reading a bunch of picky eaters or food snobs: the food at Beaches is not local. The Sandals chain flies it all in from Miami. If you are 10 years old, you'll be in hog heaven, since you have access to all the greasy hamburgers and ice cream you want. But adults will be left wanting. Sure, you can find something to eat at every meal, but it's not good - we wound up going "off-campus" three nights to restaurants at other hotels (Anacoana and Terrace) just to get a decent meal. The rooms desperately need updates. The day care was disorganized, although the private babysitter we hired was very nice. And yes, the presence of lots of drunken, single conventioneers totally violated the "family" atmosphere. When we were there, there was a 4some who would be at the bar when it opened, get loud and rowdy, and then stumble back to their rooms mid-afternoon. In the off-season, Beaches charges prices that match what they deliver. If you can go then, and there are no conventions, your kids will love it. Adults, beware.

Read More

By Anthony

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 28, 2002

A deluxe resort this is not!

I've been going to sfc/deluxe hotels in the carribean for 25 years. Our room was standard, the grounds were beautifuland the food was good not great. The beach equipment was sparse and the snorkeling trips were non existant for us. You need to make dinner and snorkeling reservations 24 hours in advance. However, on Sunday, the restaurants were booked the rest of the week! In regards to the snorkeling, we went in person to sign up in the morning

only to find that they were already booked for that day and the next. There was clarly and atmosphere of deceit by some of the staff and management of this resort I could go on but I don't want to bore you with details. My advice is think twice about booking this resort.

Read More

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 24, 2001

Be Warned

This resort is represents the worst experience possible for a family in the Carribean. We stayed for one week over Spring break 2000 and our family of 5 spent almost $10,000 to wait on long lines for cafeteria quality food and mediocre drinks. The small beach was grossly overcrowded and we took turns getting up at 7AM to claim any beach chairs. The facilities and staff were inadequate to accommodate the large numbers of guests that overpopulate

this relatively small property. Service was abysmal; after waitng 90 minutes to get into one restaurant, we found our table given to other guests when we returned from the dessert buffet. Nightly entertainment was uninteresting and of poor quality. The children's program seemed acceptable until I found my five year old daughter completely unsupervised at the children's pool/waterslide....I could not even find a counselor in the area to register a complaint. Stay away.

Read More

By Sally

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 17, 2001

Can't Say Enough!!!

My husband and I just returned from this resort and we can't say enough about it. It was the most perfect vacation ever. I've read some of the negative reviews and I'm surprised. Food was plentyful, service was quick and accommodating, staff was very friendly, room (we were upgraded to the French Village) was clean and spacious, bars were available everywhere - with topshelf brands, beach was the best we've ever been to, property was beautifully

kept and constantly attented to by maintenance people. I know there's more to say. We will return to this resort again. I have the feeling that this is the nicest resort of the Sandal's and Beaches family.

Read More

By Neil

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 20, 2001

Kids loved it, but lacking quality

Beaches sits on one of the best beaches I have ever seen (and having been to the Maldives and Galley Bay - that's something). My children (4&2) loved the resort; they could hop from beach to pool, didn't get bored with the jungle Gym, met lots of other nice children and were smiled at (in the main) by the staff. Having said that, little children are pretty happy wherever they go as long as mum and dad are there and they can run around in the water.

We didn't use any of the kid's clubs but the programs seemed good, although the staff looked disinterested. The nannies, in particular seemed a surley bunch. The food was very average, although plentiful. The service was very indifferent in the family restaurants. The service was better in the adult restaurants, although there was very little difference in the food quality. Room service was efficient. The rooms themselves were spacious (we had a one bedroom suite) although a bit worn. We paid about $7,000 for the week, which I think was about $2000 too much when one considers the service and the food quality. We are looking to return to Turks & Caicos again this year but although we had a fabulous holiday, we will probably try somewhere else this time around.

Read More

By Gerald

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 28, 2001

Beware-You Can Be Cancelled Without Warning

My family of five is terribly upset. In April, we had booked two rooms the week of 12/24-31. We paid the $200 per room deposit as requested and then paid an additional deposit of $600 per room in August(Beaches called to ask for the additional money). Our contract clearly said "payment in full due November 9". I received a call from a friend (who also was going with his family) at the beginning of September, informing me the reservation was cancelled.

I called Beaches and they admitted cancelling the reservation, and admitted not calling me to advise they wanted payment earlier than 11/9, and then said the deposits of $1600.00 were nonrefundable. I quickly called my credit card company who is fighting on my behalf. After threatening legal action, Beaches said they would refund my money. However, I have now had to make alternate arrangements and flights at significantly higher costs to vacation in the Caribbean over the holidays. Beware to all!!!

Read More

By Terri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2001

Run Forrest - Runnnnn!!!

What a mistake!! This resort was by far the biggest disappointment I have ever experienced in my many travel journeys. If you consider stained bedspreads, filthy curtains and worn furniture luxurious, then this is the place for you. If macaroni and cheese and hot dogs are your idea of extravagent meals then you are in the right place. It only took our family 9 hours to decide we wanted to leave on the next flight out (which was the next morning).

The accomodations were horrible, the staff incredibly rude and the resort in general was poorly managed and unkempt. I had read some of the previous reviews before I booked our vacation and had dismissed the bad reviews as possibly being unreasonable -Wrong, wrong, wrong - all the poor reviews for this resort are right on the money. While on the shuttle back to the airport, we spoke to a family who had toughed it out and stayed the entire 7 days. Their comment - you are doing the right thing by leaving. Service, food and accommodations never get any better. The man we spoke to stated he was angry with himself and jealous that he had not taken control and also demanded a refund. He did make a point to say the diving was wonderful and the diving staff was professional and friendly but that the diving alone did not outweigh all the other bad aspects of the resort. This resort should absolutely not be a Fodors recommendation. Fodors needs to seriously take a second look and reaccess their description. Final comment - save your money! An all inclusive is not the way to go and most certainly not this resort.

Read More

By Debbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 14, 2001

I'd go again

My husband and I took our 1 year old and 4 year old and had a wonderful time! The grounds were beautiful, and our Jr. Suite was great. The food was so convenient for the kids appetite. We are used to the "Carribean Service", so were not too disappointed in the attitiude of the locals. We didn't use the daycare, but our 4 year old liked the Sega Center! I'd go again...

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 24, 2001

Great Family Vacation!!!!

We went to Beaches T&C in March. The grounds are just lovely. The French Village was very attractive, but the rooms were regular hotel rooms with nicer furniture. The best part was the fantastic time that my 2 children, ages 10 and 11, had. The resort is very safe, and the kids went everywhere. I don't know about the child care for younger kids - no one in our group would use it. The food was very good - lots of choices, fresh, and

attractive. The service was excellent. Not a whole lot to do at night, but we were so tired from the awesome snork- eling that we were too tired to do much anyway! We would definitely go back!

Read More

By Peggy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 23, 2001

Be Prepared....and Enjoy

I read all of your reviews before leaving on this trip. All of them were accurate in some way. We had a lovely vacation, but were frusturated that they could not do better in certain areas. The grounds, beaches and pools were outstanding. We learned (the hard way) that rooms came in all different shapes and sizes. Our room, the cheapest available, was equal to a Days Inn. For a family of four for seven nights it cost us 5 grand. The French

Village rooms are comparable in price range, but much nicer, yet far from the beach. The food quality was excellent, but because service was so lax, you were not sure how your meal would go. The adult only restaurants had excellent service...how come the others could not?. Regarding the childrens program I would recommend it for children 6 and over. The young ones didn't seem to enthralled. The bottom line is this is a beautiful place, with a few key shortfalls. If you have older kids this is your place, just know what you're getting. No matter what your travel agent says DON'T COME WITHOUT CHILDREN!!! This is a family place, period.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2001

We loved this resort

I had to add my comments after reading the other "rants and raves" My entire family(13 of us) went to Beaches last May and had a fabulous time. The property is very nice and the beach unbelievable. Grace Bay is magnificant with a very secluded feel. Make sure to try the snorkling - can walk right off the beach just down from the resort. We saw Sea Turtles, Barracuda, Rays, and tons of tropical fish. My 6 year old couldn't get enough of the kids program.

Most of the counselors were excellent! Many days we had to "force" my daughter to spend time with us. I for one can't wait to get back.

Read More

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 5, 2001

Billed as a family resort but dismal child care

My husband and I continue our quest for great family trips. You can't go wrong with the beaches at Turks and Caicos and the idea of a family resort was something we wanted to try. Our kids were 5 and 2 and they offer camps for both ages. I would love to have hidden cameras on their childcare to run on one of the evening news shows like Dateline. It was unbelieveable! Kids were crying and being let unattended everywhere. I met so many moms who

came to the resort for the same reason and were not using the child care. The food is average but it is convient. All moms know this is as important as taste. You can catch a boat to snorkle three times a day for an hour. This was a fun thing to do as the reefs are the best in the world. The kids had fun on the boat. They will be with you on the boat, if you want to insure their safety. There is no way I would ever advise anyone to leave a child near the ocean with that apathetic, untrained staff. You would have three woman watching a room of say, twenty kids. They were not asigned to any particular child. Who is watching who? It would be y very easy for a child to wonder off and go in the water. I was so angry about the childcare that I vowed the write the Sandals chairman. I did not do it. I am writing this quick note as my now three year old is trying to play on the same computer. My advice in short, go to Grace Bay as a couple and leave the kids at home.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement