Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Bermuda Hotels

The Reefs

  • A place to be with friends - simply put!

  • View of hotel from Kayak

  • BEACH!!!

  • BEACH!

  • Good Morning Sunshine!

Pros

  • Intimate resort that caters to couples
  • Small but satisfying beach
  • Many rooms are newly renovated

Cons

  • Too serious for families seeking fun
  • New additions are very upscale and formal

Updated 11/04/2013

Fodor's Review

This is an upscale cliff-side property that remains a popular wedding, honeymoon, and luxurious vacation getaway, as it's so private and serene. The once small resort has changed dramatically over the years and now offers 19 time-share condos in addition to poolside and cliffside rooms and suites. The Reefs has pulled off an incredible transformation with a top-notch reputation and accomodations to match the resort's level of luxury. All rooms have ocean views and balconies or patios, but not all are created equal: the suites near the beach and overlooking the ocean have Jacuzzi tubs, large walk-in showers for two, and iHome docking stations. For seclusion and tranquillity, the Point suites perched above wave-washed boulders at the far end of the resort are second to none. The spa is also a must-try, having earned awards for being the best in the Caribbean.

Hotel Information

Address:

56 South Shore Rd., Southampton Parish, SN 02, Bermuda

Map It

Phone:

441-238–0222; 800-742–2008-in U.S. and Canada

Website: www.thereefs.com

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 45 rooms, 4 suites, 8 junior suites, 8 cottage suites, 19 time-share units
  • Breakfast

Updated 11/04/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Bermuda

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 22, 2014

The Reefs-Consistantly wonderful

The Reefs is an awesome property.After reading some of the reviews I was compelled to offer a rebuttal. After having visited the property over 30+ times I can offer a balanced view.The Reefs has been consistant in every regard. The staff is indeed friendly and most are long standing employees there. From the moment your organized taxi arrives the welcome has been sincere.If you are expecting to be received as if in Dubai or as a personal guest of

Steve Wynn in LasVegas,the Reefs offers a casual warm welcome every time! If you are fortunate enough to visit between 25 June and October you will be more than pleased with the stellar beach that too is consistantly well kept and the water quality and warmth is magnificent.The clarity of the water is amazing. For those more accustomed to the Cape or the beaches in the Hamptons you will be astonished by The Reefs beach. Even Maui does not surpass what you will experience at the Reefs'lovely beach ambiance! And the beachfront restaurant,Coconuts is great for lunch or dinner...... In the event of inclement weather the staff will be pleased to point you to a range of attractions including a lovely zoo,a charming aquarium and a range of historic sites as well. And do visit Hamilton while there. A wide range of good shopping as well. Our favorites are Calypso for the ladies and the English Sports Shop for men.. And do have lunch at the Hogpenny Pub in Hamilton.. In closing Bermuda is a great destination and The Reefs is exactly as advertised.Consistant in every regard.. You will not be dissapointed by this family run,family friendly resort.. And do visit the adjoining Reefs Club which offers ownership opportunities with oceanfront views that beat out the Colony in Malibu by miles! Enjoy a great vacation at The Reefs.. My family looks forward to returning the moment we leave....

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 26, 2009

The Reefs Review

My wife and I just returned from five days at The Reefs, where we have stayed in each of the last four years. I just read your review and the two submitted by guests, and I would not have recognized the hotel from either. Our room, which was poolside, was clean and in excellent condition. The Reefs has three restaurants, and we enjoyed all three. The meal choices were such that we each had different entrees each night, and the food was consistently

outstanding. As was mentioned by one guest, the staff was very friendly and helpful. More over, the entire experience was something that will keep bringing us back to Bermuda and The Reefs.

Read More

By Lily622

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2008

Disappointing return to The Reefs

I have to agree with the last post - we were very disappointed on our last visit to The Reefs. We had been years ago and enjoyed it but it has changed. Definitely more families and kids, and it seems to be catering to a different clientele with a DJ playing club music on the weekend. This time around, we found the front desk to be unhelpful when we had a problem. Yes, the complimentary rum swizzles are great and the staff is generally really friendly,

But that does not make up for poor management, rooms that need renovating, loud music at night, and a management team that ignores guests' concerns. We were really disappointed with our stay, especially because we had a great time during our previous visit. We had similar issues with our room. Toilet barely worked, shower curtain was dirty and ripped, entertainment at night was very loud. The front desk could not switch us to a different room and made no apology or effort to remedy the situation. We also had to make several requests to the front desk for missing keys, etc, before the issue was resolved. Also, dinner is included with the meal plan, but we had trouble getting reservations for dinner!! The menus are all quite similar, too, so meals get repetitive. Bermuda is a beautiful island, but The Reefs needs to sort out its management issues and start taking care of its customers - especially repeat guests!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 12, 2007

Avoid the Reefs!

My wife,2 year old daughter and I recently booked a six night stay at the Reefs. Our expectations based on Fodor's rankings were high (as was the nightly rate of 500+ dollars). Having stayed in many of the worlds finest properties, I was surprised buy the lack of service at our arrival. No one approached us to help with our bags and the counter was initially un-staffed. After checking in we ate a short lunch and were then shown our room. We had

reserved a poolside room with only one redeeming characterisitic, an excellent view. The room was: Dirty (my daughters feet were black after a few minutes running around on the tile floor) The toilet only marginally functional,the phone did not work at all. I informed the manager that I felt the room was unacceptable and was told that no other rooms would be available for upgrade. No appology was offered. The phone was removed and later reappeared still not in working order. We ended up staying 2 nights and left after we found a room at Elbow Beach. Other people at the reefs expressed similar sentiments one family had already changed rooms twice and were still unhappy. A second couple was moving to the princess because of similar complaints. All in all I would avoid Bermuda as a destination as the general lack of hotel rooms has created an atmosphere of poor service and high prices. Do your self a big favor and spend your money elsewhere.

Read More

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 16, 2002

GO THE REEFS AND GO OFTEN

ROMANTIC ATMOSPHERE AND DELICIOUS FOOD ABOUND! My husband and I spent a week during May 2002 at The Reefs. This was our first trip to Bermuda. I painstakingly researched via the Internet before booking at The Reefs. Was a little skeptical because of all the derisive reviews of the food available at the resorts since our food expense was INLCUDED in the price of accommodations. WHAT A WONDERFUL VACATION! Do NOT pay any attention to the food critic

reviews - or at least take them with a grain of salt. My husband and I are originally from NY and accustomed to incredibly good food. The Main House Restaurant was our favorite - changing the menu every day, always including a seafood, chicken, beef and vegetarian dish. They are more than willing to accommodate any special needs. Imagine, lobster tails for appetizer and filet mignon for dinner! You may want to count calories for a few weeks before coming so you can let yourself go while on vacation! Enough about the food. The resort is charming - and I mean this in the most complimentary way. The rooms are not luxurious but are well appointed, clean and comfortable and include all that you need including a marvelous view. Our room was above the pool and looked directly out to the ocean (and this was in the least expensive room category, by the way). Breathtaking views! The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. The grounds are well maintained and the beaches are gorgeous. The hotel is on the bus line and there is a scooter rental place directly across the street. This makes transportation a breeze. Overall, this resort is fabulous.

Read More

By Joanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 21, 2002

The most relaxing vacation ever!

We just returned 5/19/02 from The Reefs.Outstanding! Room with a georgous view, and the MOST comfortable king size bed! Beautiful beach, three terrific restaurants and very friendly staff. We went next door to the Sonesta to check it out, and were glad we weren't staying there. Too big and noisy! The Reefs is first class...small and intimate...we are definately going back!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 26, 2001

A Fabulous Get Away

My fiance and I stayed at The Reefs for four wonderful days. The resturants were great, although as a vegetarian my options wer limited. At Coconuts you can arrange to have a table set up on the beach, just a few feet from the water. It was incredibly romantic. And while I may be a bit partial since we got engaged there, it was an amazing vacation. The personal service was incredible. From the time we got off of the plane, I did not pick up

my bags once. We stayed in a villa across the street from the hotel proper, up on a little hill. It had a private patio and jacuzzi, and a breathtaking view of the ocean. The beach was private and wonderful. In fact, we liked it so much, we are seriously considering staying at their sister hotel (Nisbet Plantation) on Nevis for our honeymoon.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 8, 2000

Personal Service, Personal Service, Personal Service

We went recently for our honeymoon. We found it absolutely delightful. While the rooms are small, it's the oldest hotel on the island, and the cozier the better. Hopefully, you aren't in the room the entire time! Personal service is awesome! They new who we were, our names, and couldn't have been more accommadating. I love that the hotel is not commercialized, I believe that is what Bermuda is all about. It's small and quaint, and perfect for

the couple who really wants to get away! I believe The Reefs deserves at least a four star "rave".

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement