Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Anguilla Restaurants

Updated 03/03/2014

Fodor's Review

This absolutely delightful restaurant is one of the best in the Caribbean. Proprietors Bob and Melinda Blanchard moved to Anguilla from Vermont in 1994 to fulfill their culinary dreams. A festive atmosphere pervades the handsome, airy white room, which is accented with floor-to-ceiling teal-blue shutters to let in the breezes, and colorful artwork by the Blanchards' son Jesse on the walls. A masterful combination of creative cuisine, an upscale atmosphere, attentive service,

and an excellent wine cellar (including a selection of aged spirits) pleases the star-studded crowd. The nuanced contemporary menu is ever changing but always good; house classics like corn chowder, lobster and shrimp cakes, and a Caribbean sampler are crowd-pleasers, and vegetarians will find ample choices. For dessert, you'll remember concoctions like the key lime "pie-in-a-glass" or the justly famous "cracked coconut" long after your suntan has faded.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Meads Bay, AI2640, Anguilla

Phone:

264-497–6100

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed Sun. No lunch. Closed Mon. from May–mid-Dec. Closed Sept 1- Oct. 17
  • Reservations essential

Updated 03/03/2014

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Anguilla

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By austinr

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 4, 2010

Blanchard's Review

We are staying at the Viceroy in Anguilla and we have had dinner at Blanchards, Pimms and Coba. Blanchards had great service, wonderful food from start to end and a very warm atmosphere.

By iltt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 8, 2007

Don't go here if you have children

Apparently children aren't welcome at this establishment. We sat down and were presented with the menu and waited and waited for a wine list, which we never recieved. So I set up my son's DVD player up, which we've used in the best resturants around the world, and were told that we were not permited to use it. He said that there was a sign posted but no one ever saw a sign posted that such devices were not permited, I think he made it. We did not

feel welcomed there and refused to pay $500+ for dinner wine when we were treated as outcasts. When we made these reservations through Cap Juluca we specically had them ask if they accepted children and Blanchards said they did but apparently they don't welcome everyone.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2006

Slightly Disappointing

After reading their book, I was disappointd by all the hyoe, mediocre food and lukewarm service. I don;t mind paying $300 for a meal for two but Blanchards let me down. Melinda and Bill - get off that book tour and straighten out the place!

By melvin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 30, 2006

Great food, laughable service and wine pricing

Ultimately, it just doesn't live up to the hype. The place is charming, probably the most beautiful on the island. The food was fantastic, we had the 3 fish special, jerked shrimp and the lobster roll appetizer. All mouthwatering delicious. So what was wrong? Two things, the service was horrible to laughable, and the wine list was insulting. As for the service, suffice to say we weren't sure who was our actual waiter, we ordered a before drink

cocktail after 30 minutes of waiting and being asked if we wanted to order dinner 3 times by 2 different people (no, drinks first, please)then 15 minutes later we reminded the person we think was our waiter that we still hadn't gotten our drinks. We finally order our dinner, then the food comes out immediately. In the meantime, the waiter removes our bread basket and takes it away ?!?? We ask him for it back, continue to eat dinner with no bread, then flag down the manager to get bread. He nods, doesn't go get it. We have our bread as dessert. I said "I swear, I think our waiter is high!" to my dining companion. We did see some really good waitstaff at other tables, just not ours. Now for the wine.. The old world wine is expensive (about 3x retail) but fair. We chose a delicious, fair priced sancerre. The US wines, however, were inexplicable, unless there is some trade embargo between our countries that we don't know about! For some reason they have a couple grocery store swill wines ($6.95 US retail) on their menu for $50 - 79. (Castlerock Cab, Snoqualamie sauvignon blanc)Come on, you have to be kidding. Because of the weirdness, we did not stay for dessert (except the bread!) So all this for the highest price we paid on the island $270. If you are going to set those high of prices, everything, not just the food, has to be perfect. And don't insult people with a rip off wine list.

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 22, 2006

Ready to go back NOW!

This was one of the highlights to a magical vacation in Anguilla. My grilled tuna was done to perfection, but I had entree envy for my wife's reggae beef stew. So yummy. The service was very attentive, with the owners checking in several times throughout the course of the evening to check on us.

By Tracey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 21, 2006

Island Hospitality

This was one of our best dinners on the island. The food was delicious. The Lobster cake app was to die for. The personalized service was also wonderful. The owner and owner/chef several times stopped by the table to check on us. This one is a must!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 24, 2006

Not all that!

My husband and I were in Anguilla last April and made reservations at Blanchard's our first night on the island. I choose this restaurant because it came so highly recommended not only by this website but also by several other travel sites. I was disappointed with the food and service for the money. My husband and I ordered drinks, appetizers, dinner and desert and our bill was $250.00. Nothing was exceptional at all - instead save ALOT of money

and visit other great restaurants on the island such as Koal Keel, Mango's, Hibernia, Smokey's, Tasty's, and Smitty's for great grilled lobster!!

Read More

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 8, 2005

Good not Great

Blanchards is a good retaurant but there are others on the island we found to be much better. If you like being seen or watching people who like being watched (the Blanchards fall in the former category) you will love it. The food was good. We found the seasonings to be cautious, confused, somewhat out of balance. Portions were small. Ingredient quality was first rate. We would go back on a longer stay (more than 10 days) but would choose other

places for a more upscale experience on a shorter one.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2005

The best!

Everything about this restaurant was wonderful. Loved the food, ambience, staff was gracious - have even emailed Mel about a recipe before and she helped tailor it to the ingredients available to me. Jamaican Jerk shrimp was unbelievable. World-class. P.S. The art is all their son's and we even purchased a piece!

By Miles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2005

Great after "A Trip to the Beach"

Dined 3/11/2005. We arrived with great interest and expectations having read "A Trip to the Beach". Atmosphere is fairly perfect, restaurant is welcoming and comfortable. Bob is a great host - obviously not at all caught up in his "celebrity". The food - tuna entree and the house sampler were great. Lobster cake appetizers missed though - a little on the greasy side and a little charred. Wine list is great and Bob is knowledgeable. We'll go back to

Anguilla and we'll go back to Blachard's.

Read More

By nancy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 20, 2004

a little too big for their britches

Loved this place the first time we dined here - prior to the book's coming out. Pre-book and post book were two different experiexces. One was fairy-tale one expensive and mixed results.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 9, 2004

Vermont It Ain't

Having read numerous written comments from BALI HAI's (our vacation residence) guest book, there were repetitive accolades for Banchard's. What a letdown, as we noted (in our Anguillin critique). If I have such a desire for Vermont ambiance, I'll simply go to my vacation home in NW Vermont. My wife and I are natives of SE CT., now residing on Cape Cod. We exude New England ambiance.

By Miranda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 24, 2004

One of the Best

The Veal and Tuna were to die for, the service was good and Bob was a great host. We ate there twice in two weeks. Yes pricey but the atmosphere and food were among the best on the Island and the place played host to visiting celebrities which was fun to watch.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 10, 2002

Go when the Blanchards are there.

Exceptional food with poor service. Blancards not there.

By Rich

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 9, 2002

Great breeze, OK food.

We all loved the ambiance, but fond the food to only be decent (instead of great.) There shrimp and carribean spiced dished seemed best.

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 23, 2002

One of the Very Best on Anguilla

Great food, great atmosphere. The host and hostess make you feel like you are eating at their home. Service was excellent.

By chris

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2001

Great Trip to the Beach

Fabulous. Recommend you read the book, "A Trip To the Beach" before you dine there. Written by the Blanchards, it details their experience opening and running the restaurant on the Island. Can find the book locally. We loved the restaurant.

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2001

Good food, great view, grandly priced

Very good food, astmosphere and service but the most expensive on the island.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement