- 3/20 Serengeti: Serena Serengeti
- 3/21 Serengeti: Serena Serengeti
- 3/22 Crater: Serena Crater Lodge
- 3/23 Crater: Serena Crater Lodge
- 3/24 Lake Eyasi: Kisema Ngeda
- 3/25 Return Arusha – day room KIA Lodge

Here are the pics again:
http://www.kodakgallery.com/I.jsp?c=...&y=-novgdh

This board was extremely helpful to me in planning our journey, so I almost feel an “obligation” to do a report – even though it is not in my nature to do so. A little about me: I lived in Nairobi on three separate occasions (five years in all) as a child, and actually finished high school there. So, I have vivid memories of do-it-yourself safaris all over Kenya when I was tot going to Serengeti and Crater in the 70’s and then in the 80’s. Sadly, the border with Tanzania was closed in the 80’s when I last lived in Nairobi, so Masai Mara was as far as you could go. Fast forward to after graduate school in the 90’s and I worked in the Int’l Development field, spending about 3 months a year in Africa. This was all work, and no safari in places like Liberia, Sierra Leone, Ethiopia and Uganda. I did get back to Nairobi a few times, but it was always so sad to be around the crime and “bad vibes” after knowing a very different Nairobi before. I left the int’l development field in 2000, and have pined for Africa on many occasions.

So, our (with my wife Fiona) return to Africa was with purely as a tourist and to go on safari. I wanted to go to Zambia (Fiona’s father was actually born in N. Rhodesia –now Zambia) but the connections and price did not work out. We were thrilled that we wound up choosing Tanzania.