Mt. Koya Temple Stay

Search

Mt. Koya Temple Stay

Search this Thread

Old Mar 22nd, 2024, 10:29 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mt. Koya Temple Stay

I just booked my Japan flight, so now that I have firm dates I can really get started making bookings!

I'm looking at doing a 1-night temple stay in Mt. Koya from November 26-27 (I can do this a few days earlier if needed). I've seen Eko-in and Shojoshin-in recommended on this forum. Eko-in has a website with booking available starting at 66,000 yen, which is much higher than the prices shown on japaneseguesthouses.com, although that site is not taking bookings, so maybe their prices are outdated. I'm not seeing any websites where I can currently book or see current prices for Shojoshin-in.

I'm just getting started researching this portion of the trip, so I have some work to do on my own, but my questions for this forum are:
- Personal experiences with (pros and cons) Eko-in and Shojoshin-in
- Are there other temples in Koyasan recommended for temple stays?
- What is a decent price for a simple-medium range room (shared bathroom is okay)? The prices I'm seeing at the places that allow bookings right now are much higher than the prices I saw in my initial research.
Old Mar 22nd, 2024, 01:55 PM
Original Poster

Follow-up question: does anyone have experience with https://eng-shukubo.net/? It says it's the official website of the Koyasan Subukubo Association. You put in your information with three choices of shukubo and type of room and your credit card details. The prices look much cheaper than anything I'm finding on booking.com or other websites. Do you get a chance to confirm the reservation before your card is charged?
Old Mar 23rd, 2024, 02:23 PM
kja