Search

OBB Construction Work Question

Search this Thread

Old Jan 29th, 2024, 02:00 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
OBB Construction Work Question

Hey all,

Thank you for your time. It's my first time travelling to Europe (from Australia), and I am trying to book a train via OBB.

I am trying to book a train from Luzern to Salzburg, which is going via Schwarzach St. Veit Bahnhof. The train leaves Luzern - > Zurich - > Schwarzach St. Veit Bahnhof - > Salzburg.

I am doing this since someone reccomended that this is the most scenic route - instead of going via Kufstein Bahnhof. I understand that the route above is longer.

My concern is that the site says there is:

Construction work - changes to timetable

Bischofshofen Bahnhof <=> Villach Hbf/ Schwarzach-St.Veit Bahnhof <=> Salzburg Hbf

Due to construction work, some trains will be running at different times between Bischofshofen Bahnhof and Villach Hbf and between Schwarzach-St.Veit Bahnhof and Salzburg Hbf from 21/05/2024 (08:00am) through 05/06/2024 (04:30am). Connections cannot be guaranteed.
I don't mind waiting for a connection, as long as there is one. What is the likelyhood that we will be stuck in Schwarzach-St.Veit without a way to get to Salzburg if I book this train?

Thank you for your help. The date I am proposing to travel on is the the 27/05/2024.
Old Jan 29th, 2024, 02:58 AM

IMO the whole railway line from Zurich to Salzburg - either via Woergl - Rosenheim or via Woergl - Zell am See. - Schwarzach - isn't particularly scenic.

I suppose you booked train 163 (Transalpin, the only direct train between Zurich and Schwarzach - St. Veit. According to OeBB, this train will run according to the timetable up to Schwarzach.
The connecting train from Schwarzach to Salzburg (IC 793) may be late, however.