Need advice for Australia/New Zealand Itinerary – Fall 2024

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 6th, 2023, 07:41 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello! I am new to the Australia/Pacific forum but I am frequently on the Europe and US forum, and sometimes on the Canadian forum. My husband I are planning a trip to Australia and New Zealand for sometime during the fall of 2024 – most likely September or October. This will most likely be a 5-week trip. We are currently thinking we will divide the trip this way: 3 weeks in Australia and 2 weeks in New Zealand. We know that is not a lot of time but we don’t think we can handle a longer trip given our ages. 😊 And have to be realistic about affordability.

First, some information about ourselves. I am 73 and my husband (Ed) is 76. I have never been to Australia, and neither one of us have been to New Zealand. My husband went to school in Melbourne from age 13 – 17. This was in the 1960’s and he hasn’t been back since. So this trip will be a trip down memory lane for him to visit his old school, neighborhoods, etc. He also has 3 relatives in Melbourne he wants to visit. And he wants to visit some places outside of Melbourne that he visited so many years ago. We both also want to visit Sydney.

I have been reading my Lonely Planet Australia guidebook and some blogs on the internet. I purchased my LP New Zealand guidebook today and only thumbed through it. So I don’t really have any thoughts yet on NZ.

Tonight we were looking up airline schedules and fares, and talking about what he/we want to do in Melbourne and surrounding area, and for a moment I thought maybe we should spend all 5 weeks in Australia, but we both really want to visit NZ, too. And at our ages this will be our only trip to this part of the world. So we have a lot to visit in a short timeframe.